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Summary of changes since May 2019 

Statute Changes 
 
None 
 
Rule Changes 
 
4755-3-01 Applications for initial licensure. 

• Changes will require an applicant for an occupational therapist or occupational therapy 
assistant license to be at least eighteen prior to receipt of a license. Changes are also 
proposed to update rules to reflect the new eLicense Ohio system. 

 
4755-3-02 Certificate of license; display; copies. 

• Allows a license holder to use the copy of their wall certificate that can be downloaded 
from eLicense Ohio to be used as official license display, in recognition of the mobility of 
the profession. 

 
4755-7-01 Occupational therapy practice defined. 

• Student occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants must be at least 
eighteen to participate in learning opportunities outside the classroom, effective 
January 1, 2021. 
 

4755-7-02 Roles and responsibilities. 

• Provides more clarity by referring to the "occupational therapy process" for which the 
occupational therapist must have responsibility instead of "activities" in (A). 

• Replacement of words such a "must" instead of "shall" to conform with current rule 
drafting standards and provide consistency throughout all rules. 
 

4755-7-03 Delegation. 

• The changes to this rule make clear that unlicensed personnel cannot act independently. 
 
4755-7-04 Supervision. 

• A student must be eighteen in order to be supervised by a OT or OTA for both Level I 
and Level II fieldwork, effective January 1, 2021. 

 
4755-7-08 Code of ethical conduct. 

• Specifies that eLicense records may not be forged. 

• Adds intervention in lieu of a felony as a circumstance that a license holder must report 
to the board within 30 days. 
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• Adds the termination, revocation, suspension, or sanctioning of a professional license in 
the state of Ohio or another state as a circumstance that a license holder must report to 
the board within 30 days. 
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Ohio Revised Code Chapter 4755: OCCUPATIONAL THERAPISTS; 
PHYSICAL THERAPISTS; ATHLETIC TRAINERS – Occupational 

Therapy Practice Act 

4755.04 Occupational therapist definitions. 

As used in sections 4755.04 to 4755.13 and section 4755.99 of the Revised Code: 

(A) "Occupational therapy" means the therapeutic use of everyday life activities or occupations 

with individuals or groups for the purpose of participation in roles and situations in the home, 

school, workplace, community, and other settings. The practice of occupational therapy includes 

all of the following: 

(1) Methods or strategies selected to direct the process of interventions, including, but not limited 

to, establishment, remediation, or restoration of a skill or ability that has not yet developed or is 

impaired and compensation, modification, or adaptation of activity or environment to enhance 

performance; 

(2) Evaluation of factors affecting activities of daily living, instrumental activities of daily living, 

education, work, play, leisure, and social participation, including, but not limited to, sensory motor 

abilities, vision, perception, cognition, psychosocial, and communication and interaction skills; 

(3) Interventions and procedures to promote or enhance safety and performance in activities of 

daily living, education, work, play, leisure, and social participation, including, but not limited to, 

application of physical agent modalities, use of a range of specific therapeutic procedures to 

enhance performance skills, rehabilitation of driving skills to facilitate community mobility, and 

management of feeding, eating, and swallowing to enable eating and feeding performance; 

(4) Consultative services, case management, and education of patients, clients, or other individuals 

to promote self-management, home management, and community and work reintegration; 

(5) Designing, fabricating, applying, recommending, and instructing in the use of selected orthotic 

or prosthetic devices and other equipment which assists the individual to adapt to the individual's 

potential or actual impairment; 

(6) Administration of topical drugs that have been prescribed by a licensed health professional 

authorized to prescribe drugs, as defined in section 4729.01 of the Revised Code. 

(B) "Occupational therapist" means a person who is licensed or holds a limited permit to practice 

occupational therapy and who offers such services to the public under any title incorporating the 

words "occupational therapy," "occupational therapist," or any similar title or description of 

services. 

(C) "Occupational therapy assistant" means a person who holds a license or limited permit to 

provide occupational therapy techniques under the general supervision of an occupational 

therapist. 

Effective Date: 03-22-2001; 04-06-2007 . 

http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.04v1
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.13
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.99
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4729.01
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4755.05 Requirement of license or permit. 

No person who does not hold a current license or limited permit under 

sections 4755.04 to 4755.13 of the Revised Code shall practice or offer to practice occupational 

therapy, or use in connection with the person's name, or otherwise assume, use, or advertise, any 

title, initials, or description tending to convey the impression that the person is an occupational 

therapist or an occupational therapy assistant. No partnership, association, or corporation shall 

advertise or otherwise offer to provide or convey the impression that it is providing occupational 

therapy unless an individual holding a current license or limited permit under 

sections 4755.04 to 4755.13 of the Revised Code is or will at the appropriate time be rendering 

the occupational therapy services to which reference is made. 

Effective Date: 04-16-1993; 04-06-2007 . 

4755.06 Administrative rules. 

The occupational therapy section of the Ohio occupational therapy, physical therapy, and athletic 

trainers board may make reasonable rules in accordance with Chapter 119. of the Revised Code 

relating to, but not limited to, the following: 

(A) The form and manner for filing applications for licensure under sections 4755.04 to 4755.13 of 

the Revised Code; 

(B) The issuance, suspension, and revocation of the licenses and the conducting of investigations 

and hearings; 

(C) Standards for approval of courses of study relative to the practice of occupational therapy; 

(D) The time and form of examination for the licensure; 

(E) Standards of ethical conduct in the practice of occupational therapy; 

(F) The form and manner for filing applications for renewal and a schedule of deadlines for renewal; 

(G) The conditions under which a license of a licensee who files a late application for renewal will 

be reinstated; 

(H) Placing an existing license in escrow; 

(I) The amount, scope, and nature of continuing education activities required for license renewal, 

including waivers of the continuing education requirements; 

(J) Guidelines for limited permits; 

(K) Requirements for criminal records checks of applicants under section 4776.03 of the Revised 

Code; 

(L) Subject to section 4755.061 of the Revised Code, the amount for each fee specified in 

section 4755.12 of the Revised Code that the section charges; 

http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.05v1
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.04
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.13
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.04
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.13
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.06v1
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.04
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.13
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4776.03
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.061
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.12
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(M) The amount and content of corrective action courses required by the board under 

section 4755.11 of the Revised Code. 

The section may hear testimony in matters relating to the duties imposed upon it, and the 

chairperson and secretary of the section may administer oaths. The section may require proof, 

beyond the evidence found in the application, of the honesty, truthfulness, and good reputation of 

any person named in an application for licensure, before admitting the applicant to an examination 

or issuing a license. 

Amended by 129th General AssemblyFile No.169, HB 247, §1, eff. 3/22/2013. 

Amended by 128th General AssemblyFile No.9, HB 1, §101.01, eff. 10/16/2009. 

Effective Date: 04-16-1993; 04-06-2007; 2007 HB104 03-24-2008 . 

4755.061 Limitation on fee amounts. 

If the occupational therapy section of the Ohio occupational therapy, physical therapy, and athletic 

trainers board adopts rules pursuant to section 4755.06 of the Revised Code relating to the 

amounts of the fees that the section may charge for the late renewal of licenses and the review of 

continuing education activities, as provided in divisions (A)(5) and (A)(6) of section 4755.12 of the 

Revised Code, the section shall not establish fee amounts for those services that exceed the actual 

costs the section incurs in providing the services to a licensee. 

Added by 128th General AssemblyFile No.9, HB 1, §101.01, eff. 10/16/2009. . 

4755.07 License qualifications. 

No person shall qualify for licensure as an occupational therapist or as an occupational therapy 

assistant unless the person has shown to the satisfaction of the occupational therapy section of 

the Ohio occupational therapy, physical therapy, and athletic trainers board that the person: 

(A) Is of good moral character; 

(B) Has successfully completed the academic requirements of an educational program recognized 

by the section, including a concentration of instruction in basic human sciences, the human 

development process, occupational tasks and activities, the health-illness-health continuum, and 

occupational therapy theory and practice; 

(C) Has successfully completed a period of supervised field work experience at a recognized 

educational institution or a training program approved by the educational institution where the 

person met the academic requirements. For an occupational therapist, a minimum of six months 

of supervised field work experience is required. For an occupational therapy assistant, a minimum 

of two months of supervised field work experience is required. 

(D) Has successfully passed a written examination testing the person's knowledge of the basic and 

clinical sciences relating to occupational therapy, and occupational therapy theory and practice, 

including the applicant's professional skills and judgment in the utilization of occupational therapy 

techniques and methods, and such other subjects as the section may consider useful to determine 

the applicant's fitness to practice. The section may require separate examinations of applicants for 

licensure as occupational therapy assistants and applicants for licensure as occupational therapists. 

http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.11
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.061v1
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.06
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.12
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.07v1
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Applicants for licensure shall be examined at a time and place and under such supervision as the 

section determines. 

Effective Date: 04-16-1993; 04-06-2007 . 

4755.08 License - limited permit. 

The occupational therapy section of the Ohio occupational therapy, physical therapy, and athletic 

trainers board shall issue a license to every applicant who has passed the appropriate examination 

designated by the section and who otherwise complies with the licensure requirements of 

sections 4755.04 to 4755.13 of the Revised Code. The license entitles the holder to practice 

occupational therapy or to assist in the practice of occupational therapy. The licensee shall display 

the license in a conspicuous place at the licensee's principal place of business. The section may 

issue a limited permit to persons who have satisfied the requirements of divisions (A) to (C) of 

section 4755.07 of the Revised Code. This permit allows the person to practice as an occupational 

therapist or occupational therapy assistant under the supervision of a licensed occupational 

therapist and is valid until the date on which the results of the examination are made public. This 

limited permit shall not be renewed if the applicant has failed the examination. 

Effective Date: 04-16-1993; 04-06-2007 . 

4755.09 Waiver of examination. 

The occupational therapy section of the Ohio occupational therapy, physical therapy, and athletic 

trainers board may waive the examination requirement under section 4755.07 of the Revised Code 

for any applicant for licensure as an occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant who 

either has met educational, training, and job experience requirements established by the section, 

or presents proof of current certification or licensure in another state that requires standards for 

licensure at least equal to those for licensure in this state. The section may waive the educational 

requirements under section 4755.07 of the Revised Code for any applicant who has met job 

experience requirements established by the section. 

Effective Date: 03-22-2001; 04-06-2007 . 

4755.10 Renewals. 

Each license issued under section 4755.08 of the Revised Code is valid without further 

recommendation or examination until revoked or suspended or until the license expires for failure 

to file an application for renewal as provided for in this section. Licenses shall be renewed biennially 

in accordance with the schedule established in rules adopted by the occupational therapy section 

of the Ohio occupational therapy, physical therapy, and athletic trainers board under 

section 4755.06 of the Revised Code. Applicants for renewal shall file the fee for renewal as 

provided in section 4755.12 of the Revised Code, an application for renewal on a form prescribed 

by the occupational therapy section,and proof of completion of continuing education requirements 

as provided in rules adopted by the section under section 4755.06 of the Revised Code. An 

application for renewal shall be mailed by the section to the licensee in accordance with the 

schedule established in rules adopted by the section under section 4755.06 of the Revised Code. 

In all other respects the renewal process is as provided in section 4745.02 of the Revised Code. 

The license of any licensee who fails to file an application for renewal on or before the deadline 

established in rules adopted by the section under section 4755.06 of the Revised Code shall expire 
automatically, unless the section, for good cause shown, determines that the application for 

renewal could not have been filed by such day. Except as provided in 

sections 3123.41 to 3123.50 of the Revised Code and any applicable rules adopted under 

http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.08v1
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.04
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.13
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.07
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.09v1
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.07
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.07
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.10v1
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.08
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.06
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.12
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.06
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.06
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4745.02
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.06
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/3123.41
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/3123.50
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section 3123.63 of the Revised Code, the section may renew a license while the license is 

suspended, but the renewal shall not affect the suspension. The section shall not renew a license 

that has been revoked. If a revoked license is reinstated under section 4755.11 of the Revised 

Code after it has expired, the licensee, as a condition of reinstatement, shall pay a reinstatement 

fee equal to the renewal fee in effect on the last preceding regular renewal date before the 

reinstatement date, plus any delinquent fees accrued from the time of the revocation, if such fees 

are prescribed by the section by rule. 

Effective Date: 06-30-1997; 04-06-2007 . 

4755.11 Disciplinary actions. 

(A) In accordance with Chapter 119. of the Revised Code, the occupational therapy section of the 

Ohio occupational therapy, physical therapy, and athletic trainers board may suspend, revoke, or 

refuse to issue or renew an occupational therapist license, occupational therapy assistant license, 

occupational therapist limited permit, occupational therapy assistant limited permit, or reprimand, 

fine, place a license or limited permit holder on probation, or require the license or limited permit 

holder to take corrective action courses, for any of the following: 

(1) Conviction of an offense involving moral turpitude or a felony, regardless of the state or country 

in which the conviction occurred; 

(2) Violation of any provision of sections 4755.04 to 4755.13 of the Revised Code; 

(3) Violation of any lawful order or rule of the occupational therapy section; 

(4) Obtaining or attempting to obtain a license or limited permit issued by the occupational therapy 

section by fraud or deception, including the making of a false, fraudulent, deceptive, or misleading 

statements in relation to these activities; 

(5) Negligence, unprofessional conduct, or gross misconduct in the practice of the profession of 

occupational therapy; 

(6) Accepting commissions or rebates or other forms of remuneration for referring persons to other 

professionals; 

(7) Communicating, without authorization, information received in professional confidence; 

(8) Using controlled substances, habit forming drugs, or alcohol to an extent that it impairs the 

ability to perform the work of an occupational therapist, occupational therapy assistant, 

occupational therapist limited permit holder, or occupational therapy assistant limited permit 

holder; 

(9) Practicing in an area of occupational therapy for which the individual is untrained or 

incompetent; 

(10) Failing the licensing or Ohio jurisprudence examination; 

(11) Aiding, abetting, directing, or supervising the unlicensed practice of occupational therapy; 

http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/3123.63
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.11
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.11v1
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(12) Denial, revocation, suspension, or restriction of authority to practice a health care occupation, 

including occupational therapy, for any reason other than a failure to renew, in Ohio or another 

state or jurisdiction; 

(13) Except as provided in division (B) of this section: 

(a) Waiving the payment of all or any part of a deductible or copayment that a patient, pursuant 

to a health insurance or health care policy, contract, or plan that covers occupational therapy, 

would otherwise be required to pay if the waiver is used as an enticement to a patient or group of 

patients to receive health care services from that provider; 

(b) Advertising that the individual will waive the payment of all or any part of a deductible or 

copayment that a patient, pursuant to a health insurance or health care policy, contract, or plan 

that covers occupational therapy, would otherwise be required to pay. 

(14) Working or representing oneself as an occupational therapist, occupational therapy assistant, 

occupational therapist limited permit holder, or occupational therapy assistant limited permit 

holder without a current and valid license or limited permit issued by the occupational therapy 

section; 

(15) Engaging in a deceptive trade practice, as defined in section 4165.02 of the Revised Code; 

(16) Violation of the standards of ethical conduct in the practice of occupational therapy as 

identified by the occupational therapy section; 

(17) A departure from, or the failure to conform to, minimal standards of care required of licensees 

or limited permit holders, whether or not actual injury to a patient is established; 

(18) An adjudication by a court that the applicant, licensee, or limited permit holder is incompetent 

for the purpose of holding a license or limited permit and has not thereafter been restored to legal 

capacity for that purpose; 

(19) 

(a) Except as provided in division (A)(19)(b) of this section, failure to cooperate with an 

investigation conducted by the occupational therapy section, including failure to comply with a 

subpoena or orders issued by the section or failure to answer truthfully a question presented by 

the section at a deposition or in written interrogatories. 

(b) Failure to cooperate with an investigation does not constitute grounds for discipline under this 

section if a court of competent jurisdiction issues an order that either quashes a subpoena or 

permits the individual to withhold the testimony or evidence at issue. 

(20) Conviction of a misdemeanor reasonably related to the practice of occupational therapy, 

regardless of the state or country in which the conviction occurred; 

(21) Inability to practice according to acceptable and prevailing standards of care because of 

mental or physical illness, including physical deterioration that adversely affects cognitive, motor, 

or perception skills; 

(22) Violation of conditions, limitations, or agreements placed by the occupational therapy section 

on a license or limited permit to practice; 
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(23) Making a false, fraudulent, deceptive, or misleading statement in the solicitation of or 

advertising for patients in relation to the practice of occupational therapy; 

(24) Failure to complete continuing education requirements as prescribed in rules adopted by the 

occupational therapy section under section 4755.06 of the Revised Code. 

(B) Sanctions shall not be imposed under division (A)(13) of this section against any individual 

who waives deductibles and copayments as follows: 

(1) In compliance with the health benefit plan that expressly allows such a practice. Waiver of the 

deductibles or copayments shall be made only with the full knowledge and consent of the plan 

purchaser, payer, and third-party administrator. Documentation of the consent shall be made 

available to the section upon request. 

(2) For professional services rendered to any other person licensed pursuant to sections 4755.04 

to 4755.13 of the Revised Code to the extent allowed by those sections and the rules of the 

occupational therapy section. 

(C) Except as provided in division (D) of this section, the suspension or revocation of a license or 

limited permit under this section is not effective until either the order for suspension or revocation 

has been affirmed following an adjudication hearing, or the time for requesting a hearing has 

elapsed. 

When a license or limited permit is revoked under this section, application for reinstatement may 

not be made sooner than one year after the date of revocation. The occupational therapy section 

may accept or refuse an application for reinstatement and may require that the applicant pass an 

examination as a condition of reinstatement. 

When a license or limited permit holder is placed on probation under this section, the occupational 

therapy section's probation order shall be accompanied by a statement of the conditions under 

which the individual may be removed from probation and restored to unrestricted practice. 

(D) On receipt of a complaint that a person who holds a license or limited permit issued by the 

occupational therapy section has committed any of the prohibited actions listed in division (A) of 

this section, the section may immediately suspend the license or limited permit prior to holding a 

hearing in accordance with Chapter 119. of the Revised Code if it determines, based on the 

complaint, that the licensee or limited permit holder poses an immediate threat to the public. The 

section may review the allegations and vote on the suspension by telephone conference call. If the 

section votes to suspend a license or limited permit under this division, the section shall issue a 

written order of summary suspension to the licensee or limited permit holder in accordance with 

section 119.07 of the Revised Code. If the individual whose license or limited permit is suspended 

fails to make a timely request for an adjudication under Chapter 119. of the Revised Code, the 

section shall enter a final order permanently revoking the individual's license or limited permit. 

Notwithstanding section 119.12 of the Revised Code, a court of common pleas shall not grant a 

suspension of the section's order of summary suspension pending the determination of an appeal 

filed under that section. Any order of summary suspension issued under this division shall remain 

in effect, unless reversed on appeal, until a final adjudication order issued by the section pursuant 

to division (A) of this section becomes effective. The section shall issue its final adjudication order 

regarding an order of summary suspension issued under this division not later than ninety days 

after completion of its hearing. Failure to issue the order within ninety days shall result in 

immediate dissolution of the suspension order, but shall not invalidate any subsequent, final 

adjudication order. 
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(E) If any person other than a person who holds a license or limited permit issued under section 

4755.08 of the Revised Code has engaged in any practice that is prohibited under sections 4755.04 

to 4755.13 of the Revised Code or the rules of the occupational therapy section, the section may 

apply to the court of common pleas of the county in which the violation occurred, for an injunction 

or other appropriate order restraining this conduct, and the court shall issue this order. 

Amended by 130th General Assembly File No. 25, HB 59, §101.01, eff. 9/29/2013. 

Amended by 129th General AssemblyFile No.169, HB 247, §1, eff. 3/22/2013. 

Effective Date: 04-16-1993; 04-06-2007 

4755.111 Rendering of therapy services through business entity. 

(A) An individual whom the occupational therapy section of the Ohio occupational therapy, physical 

therapy, and athletic trainers board licenses, certificates, or otherwise legally authorizes to engage 

in the practice of occupational therapy may render the professional services of an occupational 

therapist within this state through a corporation formed under division (B) of section 1701.03 of 

the Revised Code, a limited liability company formed under Chapter 1705. of the Revised Code, a 

partnership, or a professional association formed under Chapter 1785. of the Revised Code. This 

division does not preclude an individual of that nature from rendering professional services as an 

occupational therapist through another form of business entity, including, but not limited to, a 

nonprofit corporation or foundation, or in another manner that is authorized by or in accordance 

with sections 4755.04 to 4755.13 of the Revised Code, another chapter of the Revised Code, or 

rules of the Ohio occupational therapy, physical therapy, and athletic trainers board adopted 

pursuant to sections 4755.04 to 4755.13 of the Revised Code. 

(B) A corporation, limited liability company, partnership, or professional association described in 

division (A) of this section may be formed for the purpose of providing a combination of the 

professional services of the following individuals who are licensed, certificated, or otherwise legally 

authorized to practice their respective professions: 

(1) Optometrists who are authorized to practice optometry under Chapter 4725. of the Revised 

Code; 

(2) Chiropractors who are authorized to practice chiropractic or acupuncture under Chapter 4734. 

of the Revised Code; 

(3) Psychologists who are authorized to practice psychology under Chapter 4732. of the Revised 

Code; 

(4) Registered or licensed practical nurses who are authorized to practice nursing as registered 

nurses or as licensed practical nurses under Chapter 4723. of the Revised Code; 

(5) Pharmacists who are authorized to practice pharmacy under Chapter 4729. of the Revised 

Code; 

(6) Physical therapists who are authorized to practice physical therapy under sections 4755.40 to 

4755.56 of the Revised Code; 

(7) Occupational therapists who are authorized to practice occupational therapy under sections 

4755.04 to 4755.13 of the Revised Code; 

http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.111v1
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(8) Mechanotherapists who are authorized to practice mechanotherapy under section 4731.151 of 

the Revised Code; 

(9) Doctors of medicine and surgery, osteopathic medicine and surgery, or podiatric medicine and 

surgery who are authorized for their respective practices under Chapter 4731. of the Revised Code; 

(10) Licensed professional clinical counselors, licensed professional counselors, independent social 

workers, social workers, independent marriage and family therapists, or marriage and family 

therapists who are authorized for their respective practices under Chapter 4757. of the Revised 

Code. 

This division shall apply notwithstanding a provision of a code of ethics applicable to an 

occupational therapist that prohibits an occupational therapist from engaging in the practice of 

occupational therapy in combination with a person who is licensed, certificated, or otherwise legally 

authorized to practice optometry, chiropractic, acupuncture through the state chiropractic board, 

psychology, nursing, pharmacy, physical therapy, mechanotherapy, medicine and surgery, 

osteopathic medicine and surgery, podiatric medicine and surgery, professional counseling, social 

work, or marriage and family therapy but who is not also licensed, certificated, or otherwise legally 

authorized to engage in the practice of occupational therapy. 

Added by 130th General Assembly File No. TBD, HB 232, §1, eff. 7/10/2014. 

4755.12 Fees. 

(A) The occupational therapy section of the Ohio occupational therapy, physical therapy, and 

athletic trainers board may charge any or all of the following fees: 

(1) A nonrefundable examination fee, which is to be paid at the time of application for licensure; 

(2) An application fee for an initial license; 

(3) An initial licensure fee; 

(4) A fee for biennial renewal of a license; 

(5) A fee for late renewal of a license; 

(6) A fee for the review of continuing education activities; 

(7) A fee for a limited permit; 

(8) A fee for verification of a license. 

(B) Any person who is qualified to practice occupational therapy as certified by the section, but 

who is not in the active practice, as defined by section rule, may register with the section as a 

nonactive licensee at a biennial fee. 

(C) The section may, by rule, provide for the waiver of all or part of a fee when the license is issued 

less than one hundred days before the date on which it will expire. 

http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.12v1
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(D) Except when all or part of a fee is waived under division (C) of this section, the amount charged 

by the occupational therapy section for each of its fees shall be the applicable amount established 

in rules adopted under section 4755.06 of the Revised Code. 

Amended by 128th General AssemblyFile No.9, HB 1, §101.01, eff. 10/16/2009. 

Effective Date: 06-30-1997; 04-06-2007 

4755.13 Exemptions. 

Nothing in sections 4755.04 to 4755.13 of the Revised Code shall be construed to prevent or 

restrict the practice, services, or activities of the following: 

(A) Any person who does not claim to the public by any title, initials, or description of services as 

being engaged in the practice of occupational therapy, who is: 

(1) A physician licensed under Chapter 4731. of the Revised Code, or anyone employed or 

supervised by a licensed physician in the delivery of treatment or services; 

(2) A person licensed, certified, or registered under sections 4755.40 to 4755.56 of the Revised 

Code or under any other chapter of the Revised Code who is practicing within the standards and 

ethics of practice that represent appropriate extensions of the person's profession; 

(3) A qualified member of any other profession who is practicing within the standards and ethics 

of the member's profession. 

(B) Any person employed as an occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant by the 

government of the United States, if the person provides occupational therapy solely under the 

direction or control of the organization by which the person is employed; 

(C) Any person pursuing a course of study leading to a degree or certificate in occupational therapy 

in an accredited or approved educational program if the activities and services constitute a part of 

a supervised course of study, if the person is designated by a title that clearly indicates the person's 

status as a student or trainee; 

(D) Any person fulfilling the supervised field work experience requirements of section 4755.07 of 

the Revised Code, if the activities and services constitute a part of the experience necessary to 

meet those requirements. 

Amended by 130th General Assembly File No. 51, HB 83, §1, eff. 3/20/2014. 

Effective Date: 07-01-1993; 04-06-2007 
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Ohio Revised Code Chapter 4755: OCCUPATIONAL THERAPISTS; 
PHYSICAL THERAPISTS; ATHLETIC TRAINERS – General Board 

Sections 

4755.01 Ohio occupational therapy, physical therapy, and athletic 

trainers board. 

(A) There is hereby created the Ohio occupational therapy, physical therapy, and athletic trainers 

board consisting of sixteen residents of this state, who shall be appointed by the governor with 

the advice and consent of the senate. The board shall be composed of a physical therapy section, 

an occupational therapy section, and an athletic trainers section. 

(1) Five members of the board shall be physical therapists who are licensed to practice physical 

therapy and who have been engaged in or actively associated with the practice of physical 

therapy in this state for at least five years immediately preceding appointment. Such members 

of the board shall sit on the physical therapy section. The physical therapy section also shall 

consist of four additional members, appointed by the governor with the advice and consent of 

the senate, who satisfy the same qualifications as the members of the board sitting on the 

physical therapy section, but who are not members of the board. Of the additional physical 

therapy section members whose terms commence on August 28, 2007, one shall be for a term of 

one year, one for a term of two years, one for a term of three years, and one for a term of four 

years. Such additional members of the physical therapy section are vested with only such powers 

and shall perform only such duties as relate to the affairs of that section. 

(2) Four members of the board shall be occupational therapists and one member shall be a 

licensed occupational therapy assistant, all of whom have been engaged in or actively associated 

with the practice of occupational therapy or practice as an occupational therapy assistant in this 

state for at least five years immediately preceding appointment. Such members of the board 

shall sit on the occupational therapy section. 

(3) Four members of the board shall be athletic trainers who have been engaged in the practice 

of athletic training in Ohio for at least five years immediately preceding appointment. One 

member of the board shall be a physician licensed to practice medicine and surgery in this state. 

Such members of the board shall sit on the athletic trainers section. 

(4) One member of the board shall represent the public . This member shall sit on the board and 

shall attend each year at least three meetings of the physical therapy section, three meetings of 

the occupational therapy section, and three meetings of the athletic trainers section. 

(B) Except for the terms of office specified in division (A)(1) of this section for the additional 

members of the physical therapy section commencing on August 28, 2007, terms for the 

members of the board and the additional members of the physical therapy section are for three 

years. Each member's term shall commence on the twenty-eighth day of August and end on the 

twenty-seventh day of August. Each member shall serve subsequent to the expiration of the 

member's term until the member's successor is appointed and qualifies, or until a period of sixty 

days has elapsed, whichever occurs first. A member shall not serve for more than three 

consecutive terms. All vacancies shall be filled in the manner prescribed for the regular 

appointments and are limited to the unexpired terms. 

(C) Each member of the board and each additional member of the physical therapy section, 

before entering upon the official duties of office, shall do both of the following: 

http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.01v1
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(1) Subscribe to and file with the secretary of state the constitutional oath of office; 

(2) Sign and file with the executive director of the board a notarized statement that the member 

has read and understands sections 121.22 and 149.43 of the Revised Code and the provisions of 

Chapter 119. of the Revised Code that are applicable to the duties of the board. 

(D) Annually, upon the qualification of the member or members appointed in that year, the 

board shall organize by selecting from its members a president and secretary. Each section of 

the board shall independently organize by selecting from its members a chairperson and 

secretary. 

(E) A majority of the members of the board constitutes a quorum to transact and vote on the 

business of the board. A majority of the members of each section constitutes a quorum to 

transact and vote on the affairs of that section. 

(F) Each member of the board and each additional member of the physical therapy section shall 

receive an amount fixed pursuant to division (J) of section 124.15 of the Revised Code for each 

day employed in the discharge of official duties. In addition, each member of the board and each 

additional member of the physical therapy section shall receive the member's actual and 

necessary expenses incurred in the performance of official duties. 

(G) The board of trustees of the Ohio occupational therapy association may recommend, after 

any term expires or vacancy occurs in an occupational therapy position, at least three persons to 

fill each such position or vacancy on the board, and the governor may make the appointment 

from the persons so recommended. The executive board of the Ohio chapter of the American 

physical therapy association may recommend, after any term expires or vacancy occurs in a 

physical therapy position, at least three persons to fill each such vacancy on the board, and the 

governor may make appointments from the persons so recommended. The Ohio athletic trainers 

association shall recommend to the governor at least three persons when any term expires or 

any vacancy occurs in an athletic trainer position. The governor may select one of the 

association's recommendations in making such an appointment. 

(H) The board shall meet as a whole to determine all administrative, personnel, and budgetary 

matters. The executive director of the board appointed by the board shall not be a physical 

therapist, an occupational therapist, or an athletic trainer who has been licensed to practice 

physical therapy, occupational therapy, or as an athletic trainer in this state within three years 

immediately preceding appointment. The executive director shall execute, under the direction of 

the board, the policies, orders, directives, and administrative functions of the board and shall 

direct, under rules adopted by the board, the work of all persons employed by the board. Upon 

the request of the board, the executive director shall report to the board on any matter. The 

executive director shall serve at the pleasure of the board. 

(I) The occupational therapy section of the board shall have the authority to act on behalf of the 

board on matters concerning the practice of occupational therapy and, in particular, the 

examination of applicants, the issuance of licenses and limited permits, and the suspension or 

revocation of licenses and limited permits to practice as an occupational therapist or occupational 

therapy assistant. The physical therapy section of the board shall have the authority to act on 

behalf of the board on matters concerning the practice of physical therapy and, in particular, the 

examination, licensure, and suspension or revocation of licensure of applicants, physical 

therapists, and physical therapist assistants. The athletic trainers section of the board shall have 

the authority to act on behalf of the board on matters concerning the practice of athletic training 

and, in particular, the examination, licensure, and suspension or revocation of licensure of 
applicants and athletic trainers. All actions taken by any section of the board under this division 

shall be in accordance with Chapter 119. of the Revised Code. 

http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/121.22
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Effective Date: 09-05-2001; 04-06-2007 . 

4755.02 Powers and duties of board. 

(A) The appropriate section of the Ohio occupational therapy, physical therapy, and athletic 

trainers board shall investigate compliance with this chapter or any rule or order issued under 

this chapter and shall investigate alleged grounds for the suspension, revocation, or refusal to 

issue or renew licenses or limited permits under section 3123.47, 4755.11, 4755.47, 

or 4755.64 of the Revised Code. The appropriate section may subpoena witnesses and 

documents in connection with its investigations. 

(B) Through the attorney general or an appropriate prosecuting attorney, the appropriate section 

may apply to an appropriate court for an order enjoining the violation of this chapter. On the 

filing of a verified petition, the court shall conduct a hearing on the petition and give the same 

preference to the proceeding as is given to all proceedings under Chapter 119. of the Revised 

Code, irrespective of the position of the proceeding on the court's calendar. On a showing that a 

person has violated or is about to violate this chapter, the court shall grant an injunction, 

restraining order, or other order as appropriate. The injunction proceedings provided by this 

division are in addition to all penalties and other remedies provided in this chapter. 

(C) When requested by the appropriate section, the prosecuting attorney of a county, or the 

village solicitor or city director of law of a municipal corporation, where a violation of this chapter 

allegedly occurs, shall take charge of and conduct the prosecution. 

(D) The appropriate section may employ investigators who shall investigate complaints,conduct 

inspections, and make inquiries as in the judgment of the section are appropriate to enforce 

sections 3123.41 to 3123.50 of the Revised Code or this chapter. These investigators have the 

right to review, obtain copies, and audit the patient records and personnel files of licensees and 

limited permit holders at the place of business of the licensees or limited permit holders or any 

other place where such documents may be and shall be given access to such documents during 

normal business hours. 

(E) 

(1) Subject to division (E)(2) of this section, information and records received or generated by 

the board pursuant to an investigation are confidential, are not public records as defined in 

section 149.43 of the Revised Code, and are not subject to discovery in any civil or 

administrative action. 

(2) For good cause, the board may disclose information gathered pursuant to an investigation to 

any federal, state, or local law enforcement, prosecutorial, or regulatory agency or its officers or 

agents engaging in an investigation the board believes is within the agency's jurisdiction. An 

agency that receives confidential information shall comply with the same requirements regarding 

confidentiality as those with which the board must comply, notwithstanding any conflicting 

provision of the Revised Code or procedure of the agency that applies when the agency is dealing 

with other information in its possession. The information may be admitted into evidence in a 

criminal trial in accordance with the Rules of Evidence, or in an administrative hearing conducted 

by an agency, but the court or agency shall require that appropriate measures be taken to 

ensure that confidentiality is maintained with respect to any part of the information that contains 

names or other identifying information about patients, complainants, or others whose 

confidentiality was protected by the board when the information was in the board's possession. 
Measures to ensure confidentiality that may be taken by the court or agency include sealing its 

records or redacting specific information from its records. 
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(F) The appropriate section shall conduct hearings, keep records and minutes, and enforce the 

relevant sections of this chapter. 

(G) Each section of the board shall publish and make available, upon request and for a fee not to 

exceed the actual cost of printing and mailing, the licensure standards prescribed by the relevant 

sections of this chapter and the Administrative Code. 

(H) The board shall submit to the governor and to the general assembly each year a report of all 

its official actions during the preceding year, together with any recommendations and findings 

with regard to the status of the professions of physical therapy,occupational therapy, and athletic 

training. 

Effective Date: 11-21-1977; 04-06-2007 . 

4755.03 Fees credited to occupational licensing and regulatory fund. 

Except as provided in section 4755.99 of the Revised Code, all fees and fines collected and 

assessed under this chapter by the appropriate section of the Ohio occupational therapy, physical 

therapy, and athletic trainers board, shall be deposited into the state treasury to the credit of the 

occupational licensing and regulatory fund. 

Effective Date: 07-22-1994; 09-29-2005; 04-06-2007; 2007 HB119 09-29-2007 . 

4755.031 Fee for costs of sanction proceedings. 

A person sanctioned under section 4755.11, 4755.47, 4755.482, or 4755.64 of the Revised Code 

shall pay a fee in the amount of the actual cost of the administrative hearing, including the cost 

of the court reporter, the hearing officer, transcripts, and any witness fees for lodging and travel, 

as determined by the appropriate section of the board. The fee shall be collected by the 

appropriate section. 

Effective Date: 04-06-2007 . 

4755.66 Effect of child support default on license. 

On receipt of a notice pursuant to section 3123.43 of the Revised Code, the appropriate section 

of the Ohio occupational therapy, physical therapy, and athletic trainers board shall comply with 

sections 3123.41 to 3123.50 of the Revised Code and any applicable rules adopted under 

section 3123.63 of the Revised Code with respect to a license issued pursuant to this chapter. 

Effective Date: 03-22-2001; 04-06-2007 . 

4755.70 License applicant to comply with RC Chapter 4776. 

(A) As used in this section, "license" and "applicant for an initial license" have the same 

meanings as in section 4776.01 of the Revised Code, except that "license" as used in both of 

those terms refers to the types of authorizations otherwise issued or conferred under this 

chapter. 

(B) In addition to any other eligibility requirement set forth in this chapter, each applicant for an 

initial license shall comply with sections 4776.01 to 4776.04 of the Revised Code. The 
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http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.99
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.031v1
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.11
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.47
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.482
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.64
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.66v1
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/3123.43
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/3123.41
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/3123.50
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/3123.63
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.70v1
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4776.01
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4776.01
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4776.04


Page 21 of 70 
 

occupational therapy section, the physical therapy section, and the athletic trainers section of the 

Ohio occupational therapy, physical therapy, and athletic trainers board shall not grant a license 

to an applicant for an initial license unless the applicant complies with 

sections 4776.01 to 4776.04 of the Revised Code and the board, in its discretion, decides that 

the results of the criminal records check do not make the applicant ineligible for a license issued 

pursuant to section 4755.07, 4755.09, 4755.44, 4755.441, 4755.45, 4755.451, or 4755.62 of 

the Revised Code. 

Effective Date: 2007 HB104 03-24-2008 . 

4755.71 Compliance with law regarding sanctions for human 
trafficking. 

The Ohio occupational therapy, physical therapy, and athletic trainers board shall comply with 

section 4776.20 of the Revised Code. 

Added by 129th General AssemblyFile No.169, HB 247, §1, eff. 3/22/2013. 

4755.99 Penalty. 

(A) Whoever violates sections 4755.05 or 4755.62 or divisions (A), (B), (C), (D), or (H) of 

section 4755.48 of the Revised Code is guilty of a minor misdemeanor. If the offender has 

previously been convicted of an offense under that section, the offender is guilty of a 

misdemeanor of the third degree on a first offense and a misdemeanor of the first degree on 

each subsequent offense. 

(B) 

(1) One-half of all fines collected for violation of section 4755.05 of the Revised Code shall be 

distributed to the occupational therapy section of the Ohio occupational therapy, physical 

therapy, and athletic trainers board and then paid into the state treasury to the credit of the 

occupational licensing and regulatory fund, and one-half to the treasury of the municipal 

corporation in which the offense was committed, or if the offense was committed outside the 

limits of a municipal corporation, to the treasury of the county. 

(2) One-half of all fines collected for violation of section 4755.48 of the Revised Code shall be 

distributed to the physical therapy section of the Ohio occupational therapy, physical therapy, 

and athletic trainers board and then paid into the state treasury to the credit of the occupational 

licensing and regulatory fund, and one-half to the treasury of the municipal corporation in which 

the offense was committed, or if the offense was committed outside the limits of a municipal 

corporation, to the treasury of the county. 

(3) One-half of all fines collected for violation of section 4755.62 of the Revised Code shall be 

distributed to the athletic trainers section of the Ohio occupational therapy, physical therapy, and 

athletic trainers board and then paid into the state treasury to the credit of the occupational 

licensing and regulatory fund, and one-half to the treasury of the municipal corporation in which 

the offense was committed, or if the offense was committed outside the limits of a municipal 

corporation, to the treasury of the county. 

Amended by 129th General AssemblyFile No.196, SB 141, §1, eff. 3/27/2013. 

Effective Date: 09-29-1997; 04-06-2007 
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Ohio Administrative Code Chapter 4755 Ohio Occupational 

Therapy, Physical Therapy Board, and Athletic Trainers Board – 

OT Section rules 

Chapter 4755-1 Notice 

4755-1-01 Notice of meetings. 

(A) The board shall comply with the public meeting requirements outlined in section 121.22 of 

the Revised Code. 

(B) Any person may obtain the time, place, and purpose of all meetings by: 

(1) Visiting the board's website at http://otptat.ohio.gov; 

(2) E-mailing the board at board@otptat.ohio.gov; 

(3) Writing the board at: "Ohio Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Athletic Trainers 

Board, 77 South High Street, Sixteenth Floor, Columbus, Ohio 43215-6108;" 

(4) Calling the board at 614-466-3774 during normal business hours; or 

(5) Appearing in person at the board office during normal business hours. 

(C) Any person may obtain advance notice of all meetings at which any specific type of public 

business is to be discussed by identifying the type of public business for which the person desires 

to be notified and by contacting the Ohio occupational therapy, physical therapy, and athletic 

trainers board. The board will mail or email to such person a notice of the time and place of the 

meeting, and the type of business to be discussed, at least four calendar days before the 

meeting is scheduled unless the meeting is an emergency meeting. 

(D) The board will maintain a list of representatives of the news media who requested notice of 

special or emergency meetings. The board shall mail or email to such representatives notice at 

least four days before special meetings or shall telephone or email notice at least twenty-four 

hours before special meetings. In the event of an emergency meeting, the representatives of the 

news media who requested notification shall be notified immediately of the time, place, and 

purpose of the meeting. News media requesting meeting notification shall supply the board with 

the name, mailing address, email address, and telephone number of the representative to be 

contacted. 

Effective: 7/22/2018 

Five Year Review (FYR) Dates: 4/30/2018 and 07/22/2023 

Promulgated Under: 119.03  

Statutory Authority: 4755.06  

Rule Amplifies: 121.22  

Prior Effective Dates: 03/07/1977, 08/23/1982, 05/15/1991, 04/25/2003, 05/01/2005, 

05/01/2011 
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4755-1-02 Method of public notice in adopting, amending or rescinding 
rules. 

(A) The occupational therapy section of the Ohio occupational therapy, physical therapy, and 

athletic trainers board shall comply with the provisions of section 119.03 of the Revised Code for 

the purposes of adoption, amendment, or recission of rules. Compliance shall include giving 

proper and reasonable public notice of rule changes. 

(B) The occupational therapy section of the Ohio occupational therapy, physical therapy, and 

athletic trainers board shall comply with the provisions of section 106.03 of the Revised Code 

when reviewing existing rules. 

(C) Pursuant to section 119.0311 of the Revised Code, the Ohio occupational therapy, physical 

therapy, and athletic trainers board shall publish a guide to public participation in rule-making. 

(D) Any person may receive notice of a proposed rule, amendment, or rescission by visiting the 

board website or by contacting the board to receive notice via e-mail or mail. 

Effective: 7/22/2018 

Five Year Review (FYR) Dates: 4/30/2018 and 07/22/2023 

Promulgated Under: 119.03  

Statutory Authority: 4755.06  

Rule Amplifies: 4755.06  

Prior Effective Dates: 03/07/1977, 08/23/1982, 05/15/1991, 04/11/2002 

4755-1-03 On-site investigations/inspections. 

On-site inspections/investigations: 

(A) Board investigators may conduct routine inspections at the work site of licensees to 

determine compliance with the laws and rules governing the practice of occupational therapy. 

Investigators will carry proper identification to be shown upon request. 

(B) Routine inspections include, but are not limited to, checking the display of wall certificates, 

verifying proper delegation of tasks performed by unlicensed personnel supervised by 

occupational therapy staff, occupational therapy documentation, and/or medical records relating 

to an occupational therapy service. 

(C) Investigations of complaints shall include search for specific evidence regarding the case. In 

accordance with division (A) of section 4755.02 of the Revised Code, the section may issue 

subpoenas to obtain copies of patient records and personnel files of licensees. 

(D) All investigations/inspections shall be conducted pursuant to the laws and rules of the state 

of Ohio. 

Five Year Review (FYR) Dates: 4/27/2018 and 04/27/2023 

Promulgated Under: 119.03  

Statutory Authority: 4755.06  

Rule Amplifies: 4755.02  

Prior Effective Dates: 01/12/1996, 03/20/1998, 05/01/2008, 05/01/2011 
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Chapter 4755-3 Licensing, Examination, Education, and 

Training 

4755-3-01 Applications for initial licensure. 

(A) To receive a license to practice as an occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant, 

an applicant must be at least eighteen years of age. 

(B) All applications for initial licensure as an occupational therapist or occupational therapy 

assistant must be submitted to the occupational therapy section on the forms provided by the 

section. All applications, statements, and other documents so submitted are retained by the 

section. 

(C) Applications must be: 

(1) Submitted electronically via the Ohio elicense system or its successor electronic licensing 

system; 

(2) Electronically signed via the elicense system; 

(3) Accompanied by the fee prescribed by paragraph (A) of rule 4755-5-01 of the Administrative 

Code; and 

(4) Accompanied by such evidence, statements, or documents as specified on the application. 

(D) An applicant for initial licensure by examination must: 

(1) Have completed an occupational therapy program accredited by the accreditation council for 

occupational therapy education (ACOTE) of the American occupational therapy association (AOTA) 

or submit evidence satisfactory to the section that the applicant completed an educational program 

substantially equivalent to the requirements established in rule 4755-3-03 of the Administrative 

Code; 

(2) Have passed the certification examination administered by the national board for certification 

in occupational therapy, inc. (NBCOT); and 

(3) Not be licensed or ever been licensed in any state or territory of the United States as an: 

(a) Occupational therapist to apply for initial licensure by examination as an occupational therapist; 

or 

(b) Occupational therapy assistant to apply for initial licensure by examination as an occupational 

therapy assistant. 

(E) In addition to the requirements contained in paragraph ( D) of this rule, applicants for an initial 

license by examination who graduated from their entry-level occupational therapy program five or 

more years prior to the date they apply to the section for licensure by examination may be subject 

to additional requirements including, but not limited to: 

(1) Submission of proof of completion of twenty hours of continuing education within the two year 

period immediately preceding the date the application is submitted; 

http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4755-3-01v2
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4755-5-01
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4755-3-03
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(2) Competency-based performance appraisals; 

(3) Mentorship; 

(4) Professional development plan; 

(5) Extended coursework; and 

(6) Retaking and passing the NBCOT certification examination. 

(F) An applicant for initial licensure by endorsement must: 

(1) Meet the requirements established in paragraphs ( D)(1) and ( D)(2) of this rule; 

and 

(2) Hold a current, valid license to practice as an occupational therapist or occupational therapy 

assistant in another state or United States territory or possess current, valid certification from 

NBCOT. 

(G) In addition to the requirements contained in paragraph ( F) of this rule, applicants for an initial 

license by endorsement who have not engaged in the practice of occupational therapy for more 

than five years prior to the date they apply to the section for licensure by endorsement may be 

subject to additional requirements including, but not limited to: 

(1) Submission of proof of completion of twenty hours of continuing education within the two year 

period immediately preceding the date the application is submitted; 

(2) Professional development plan; 

(3) Extended coursework; 

(4) Retaking and passing the NBCOT certification examination; 

(5) Mentorship; and 

(6) Competency-based performance appraisals. 

(H) In addition to the other requirements of this rule, a foreign educated applicant must: 

(1) Complete an education credentials review from an entity approved by the section to be used 

by the section to determine if the applicant's foreign education was substantially equivalent to an 

accredited occupational therapy program in the United States, Puerto Rico, territory of the United 

States, or the District of Columbia. People whose initial certification by NBCOT is on or after January 

1, 2004 are not required to meet this provision; 

(2) Demonstrate that the person met the requirements to practice occupational therapy in the 

country of education and evidence of eligible licensure and/or certification credentialing in that 

country; and 

(3) Demonstrate a working knowledge of English by obtaining: 
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(a) Scores of at least: 

(i) 4.5 on the test of written English (TWE); 

(ii) Fifty on the test of spoken English (TSE); and 

(iii) Two hundred twenty on the computer based test of English as a foreign language (TOEFL) or 

five hundred sixty on the paper based TOEFL; or 

(b) Scores on the TOEFL iBT of at least: 

(i) Twenty-four on the writing section; 

(ii) Twenty -six on the speaking section; 

(iii) Twenty-one on the reading section; 

(iv) Eighteen on the listening comprehension section; and 

(v) Eighty-nine on the overall examination. 

(I) For the purposes of filing an electronic application via the elicense system, the applicant will 

create a "UserID" and password. The use of the "UserID" and password is solely the responsibility 

of the person who created it. The "UserID" and password will constitute the legally recognized 

signature for the purposes of this rule and may not be transferred, distributed, or shared with any 

other person. 

(J) Any application received in accordance with this rule that remains incomplete one year after 

the initial application filing must be considered to be abandoned and no further processing will be 

undertaken with respect to that application. 

(1) If the application process extends for a period longer than one year, the board may require 

updated information as it deems necessary. 

(2) No application for licensure may be withdrawn without approval of the board. 

(3) Submitted fees are neither refundable nor transferable. 

Effective: 8/15/2020 

Five Year Review (FYR) Dates: 10/19/2023 

Promulgated Under: 119.03 

Statutory Authority: 4755.06 

Rule Amplifies: 4755.07, 4755.08 

Prior Effective Dates: 10/17/1977, 08/23/1982, 05/15/1991, 01/12/1996, 03/20/1998, 

05/01/2004, 05/01/2005, 05/01/2007, 05/01/2008, 05/01/2011, 05/01/2012, 10/19/2018 

4755-3-02 Certificate of license; display; copies. 

(A) Each applicant who is approved for licensure shall electronically receive a certificate of licensure 
for office display upon initial approval. Additional copies of the certificate shall be made available 

to license holders as prescribed in the rules of the occupational therapy section. 

http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/119.03
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.06
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.07
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.08
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4755-3-02v1
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(B) The occupational therapist and the occupational therapy assistant shall display the original 

license certificate at their principal place of business and all locations of service delivery. Display 

of the original license certificate includes the ability to show the copy that is available through Ohio 

eLicense.(http://elicense.ohio.gov) . 

(C) Verification of current licensure can be obtained from the Ohio eLicense verification 

page(http://elicense.ohio.gov) . 

Effective: 8/19/2019 

Five Year Review (FYR) Dates: 12/21/2018 and 08/02/2023 

Promulgated Under: 119.03 

Statutory Authority: 4755.06 

Rule Amplifies: 4755.08 

Prior Effective Dates: 10/17/1977, 08/23/1982, 05/15/1991, 05/01/2010 

4755-3-03 Educational requirements. 

(A) The education requirements described in divisions (B) and (C) of section 4755.07 of the 

Revised Code, shall be satisfied by completion of an entry-level education program accredited by 

the accreditation council for occupational therapy education (ACOTE) of the American 

occupational therapy association. Occupational therapy programs which have not been 

accredited by (ACOTE) will be accepted provided program equivalency has been established by a 

recognized educational credentialing body approved by the section. 

(B) In accordance with the provision of the second paragraph of section 4755.09 of the Revised 

Code, the section may waive the educational requirements specified in paragraph (A) of this rule 

on the basis of job experience if all of the following conditions are met: 

(1) The applicant has passed the NBCOT certification examination. 

(2) The applicant for licensure engaged in the active practice of occupational therapy as a 

licensed occupational therapist in another state, or if the experience occurred in a state not 

requiring licensure, as an occupational therapist certified by NBCOT, for a period of no less than 

five years immediately proceeding the date the application is submitted. 

(3) The applicant's licensure and/or certification are active and without restriction. 

(4) The applicant is foreign educated and meets the requirements of paragraph (E) of rule 4755-

3-01 of the Administrative Code in addition to all other applicable paragraphs of rule 4755-3-

01 of the Administrative Code. 

Five Year Review (FYR) Dates: 8/2/2018 and 08/02/2023 

Promulgated Under: 119.03  

Statutory Authority: 4755.06  

Rule Amplifies: 4755.07, 4755.09  

Prior Effective Dates: 10/17/1977, 08/23/1982, 05/15/1991, 03/20/1998, 05/01/2008 

4755-3-04 Examination requirements. 

(A) An applicant shall have satisfied the examination requirements of the occupational therapy 
section if he/she passed the certification examination of the national board for certification in 

occupational therapy for occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant. 

http://elicense.ohio.gov/
http://elicense.ohio.gov/
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/119.03
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.06
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.08
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4755-3-03v1
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.07
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.09
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4755-3-01
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4755-3-01
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4755-3-01
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4755-3-01
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/119.03
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.06
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.07
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.09
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4755-3-04v1
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(B) Examination may be waived for any person who was certified as an occupational therapy 

assistant by the "American Occupational Therapy Association" prior to August 27, 1976. 

Five Year Review (FYR) Dates: 8/2/2018 and 08/02/2023 

Promulgated Under: 119.03  

Statutory Authority: 4755.06  

Rule Amplifies: 4755.07  

Prior Effective Dates: 10/17/1977, 03/20/1998 

4755-3-05 Restoration of license in escrow. 

(A) A person whose license is in escrow may renew a license in escrow for no more than two 

consecutive renewal periods after putting a license in escrow. At the time of the third consecutive 

renewal period, the person shall either restore the license in accordance with the provisions of 

this rule or let the license expire. If the license expires, the individual shall submit a 

reinstatement application in accordance with rule 4755-3-12 of the Administrative Code to return 

to active practice in the state of Ohio. 

(B) A person whose license is in escrow may request a return to active status at any time by 

submitting a restoration application to the section. Applications shall be: 

(1) Submitted electronically via the Ohio e-license system; 

(2) Electronically signed via the Ohio e-license system; 

(3) Accompanied by the fee prescribed by rule 4755-5-09 of the Administrative Code; 

(4) Accompanied by such evidence, statements, or documents as specified on the application ; 

and 

(5) Contain proof that the applicant completed at least twenty contact hours of continuing 

education in accordance with rule 4755-9-01 of the Administrative Code within the two year 

period immediately preceding the application for restoration. Contact hours used to meet the 

requirements of this paragraph shall not be used to renew the restored license. 

(a) At least one contact hour shall be in ethics education pursuant to paragraph(A)(5) of 

rule 4755-9-01 of the Administrative Code. 

(b) For restored licenses valid for less than twelve months, a license holder shall complete at 

least ten contact hours of continuing education prior to the expiration of the restored license. The 

category limits contained in paragraph (B) of rule 4755-9-01of the Administrative Code do not 

apply if the restored license was valid for twelve months or less. 

(c) For restored licenses valid for twelve months or more, a license holder shall complete at least 

twenty contact hours of continuing education prior to the expiration of the restored license. 

(C) All persons seeking restoration of a license in escrow shall pass the Ohio occupational 

therapy jurisprudence examination. 

(D) In addition to the requirements contained in paragraphs (B) and (C) of this rule, applicants 
for restoration of an escrowed license who have not engaged in the practice of occupational 

therapy for more than five years prior to the date the person applies to the section for escrow 

http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/119.03
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.06
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.07
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4755-3-05v1
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4755-3-12
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4755-5-09
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4755-9-01
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4755-9-01
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4755-9-01


Page 29 of 70 
 

restoration may be subject to additional requirements outlined by the occupational therapy 

section. The section may consider, but is not limited to, the following additional requirements: 

(1) Additional continuing education; 

(2) Competency-based performance appraisals; 

(3) Mentorship; 

(4) Professional development plan; 

(5) Extended coursework; and 

(6) Retaking and passing the NBCOT certification examination. 

(E) For the purposes of filing an electronic application via the Ohio e-license system, the 

applicant will create a "UserID" and password. The use of the "UserID" and password provided 

by the board is solely the responsibility of the person who created it. The "UserID" and password 

shall constitute the legally recognized signature for the purposes of this rule and may not be 

transferred, distributed, or shared with any other person. 

(F) Any application received in accordance with this rule that remains incomplete one year after 

the initial application filing shall be considered to be abandoned and no further processing shall 

be undertaken with respect to that application. 

(1) If the application process extends for a period longer than one year, the board may require 

updated information as it deems necessary. 

(2) No application for licensure may be withdrawn without approval of the board. 

(3) Submitted fees shall be neither refundable nor transferable. 

(G) If an escrowed license is restored between January first and March thirty-first of the year the 

escrowed license expires, the restored license will expire on June thirtieth of that year. 

(H) If an escrowed license is restored between April first and April thirtieth of the year the 

escrowed license expires, the restored license will expire on June thirtieth of the following 

expiration year. 

(I) If a completed restoration application is not received by April thirtieth of the expiration year, 

the escrow license holder shall renew in escrow status and submit a restoration application, 

which will not be reviewed prior to July first. Failure to renew in escrow status will lead to the 

expiration of the license on June thirtieth and the license holder would be subject to the 

reinstatement requirements contained in rule 4755-3-12 of the Administrative Code. 

Five Year Review (FYR) Dates: 4/23/2019 and 04/01/2024 

Promulgated Under: 119.03  

Statutory Authority: 4755.06  

Rule Amplifies: 4755.07  

Prior Effective Dates: 10/17/1977, 08/23/1982, 05/15/1991, 01/12/1996, 03/20/1998, 
05/01/2004, 05/01/2005, 05/01/2007, 05/01/2008, 05/01/2009, 05/01/2011, 07/01/2012, 

04/01/2019 

http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4755-3-12
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/119.03
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.06
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.07
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4755-3-06 Denial, suspension or revocation of license. 

(A) Denial of an application for licensure or any proposed action against a license shall be in 

accordance with Chapter 119. of the Revised Code. 

(1) Pursuant to section 119.07 of the Revised Code, a request for an administrative hearing on 

the proposed action shall be received by the occupational therapy section within thirty days of 

the mailing of the notice of opportunity for a hearing. 

(2) If a request for an administrative hearing is not received by the occupational therapy section 

within thirty days of the mailing of the notice of opportunity for a hearing, the section, upon 

consideration of the charges cited, may take appropriate action in the absence of the applicant or 

license holder. 

(3) Pursuant to section 4755.031 of the Revised Code, a person sanctioned under 

section 4755.11 of the Revised Code shall pay a fee in the amount of the actual cost of the 

administrative hearing, including the cost of the court reporter, the hearing officer, transcripts, 

and any witness fees for lodging and travel. 

(B) The occupational therapy section may deny, suspend, or revoke the license of any person or 

reprimand, fine, or place a license holder on probation for violation of any provision of Chapter 

4755. of the Revised Code or any lawful order or rule of the section. 

(C) If the physical or mental condition of a license holder is at issue in a disciplinary proceeding, 

the occupational therapy section may order the license holder to submit to reasonable 

examinations by a health care practitioner designated or approved by the section at the cost of 

the license holder. 

(D) In the event the license of an occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant is 

suspended or revoked by the occupational therapy section pursuant to violation of any provision 

of sections 4755.04 to 4755.13 of the Revised Code or violation of any lawful order or rule of the 

occupational therapy section, the occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant shall, 

upon receipt of the final order of the occupational therapy section, immediately surrender to the 

board office all evidence of the person's license, including the wall certificate. 

Any photocopies of the wall certificate maintained in offices of employment shall be retrieved by 

the occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant and destroyed. 

This rule shall apply in the case of consent agreements, which may result in the voluntary 

surrender of a license by an occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant. 

(E) In accordance with division (D) of section 4755.11 of the Revised Code, if the occupational 

therapy section determines that a license holder poses an immediate threat to the public, the 

section shall immediately suspend the license of the occupational therapist or occupational 

therapy assistant prior to holding a hearing in accordance with Chapter 119. of the Revised 

Code. If the license holder fails to make a timely request for an adjudication under Chapter 119. 

of the Revised Code, the section shall enter a final order permanently revoking the person's 

license. 

(F) The hearings and investigations related to sections 4755.04 to 4755.13 of the Revised Code 

shall be considered civil actions for the purposes of section 3123.43 of the Revised Code. 
Notwithstanding section 121.22 of the Revised Code, proceedings of the occupational therapy 

section relative to the investigation of a complaint or the determination whether there are 

http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4755-3-06v1
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/119.07
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.031
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.11
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.04
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.13
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.11
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.04
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.13
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/3123.43
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/121.22
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reasonable grounds to believe that a violation of Chapter 4755. of the Revised Code allegedly 

occurred are confidential and are not subject to discovery in any civil action. 

(G) If requested by the occupational therapy section, the prosecuting attorney of a county, the 

village solicitor, or the city director of law of a municipal corporation, whenever a violation of 

Chapter 4755. of the Revised Code allegedly occurs, shall take charge of and conduct the 

prosecution. 

(H) In addition to any other remedy provided in Chapter 4755. of the Revised Code, the 

occupational therapy section may request the attorney general or an appropriate prosecuting 

attorney to apply to an appropriate court for an order enjoining the violation of Chapter 4755. of 

the Revised Code. On a showing that a person has violated or is about to violate Chapter 4755. 

of the Revised Code, the court shall grant an injunction, restraining order, or other order as 

appropriate. The injunction proceedings are in addition to all penalties and other remedies 

provided in Chapter 4755. of the Revised Code. 

Effective: 10/19/2018 

Five Year Review (FYR) Dates: 8/2/2018 and 10/19/2023 

Promulgated Under: 119.03  

Statutory Authority: 4755.06  

Rule Amplifies: 4755.11  

Prior Effective Dates: 01/12/1996, 07/08/2002, 04/25/2003, 05/01/2005, 05/01/2008, 

05/01/2011, 05/01/2012 

4755-3-07 Reinstatement or reconsideration of denial of license. 

(A) A person whose license is revoked or denied under the provisions of section 4755.11 of the 

Revised Code, may, after one year from the date of revocation or denial, apply for reinstatement 

of license or reconsideration of denial of license subject to examination prescribed by the rules of 

the section. 

(B) In evaluating an application for reinstatement of license or reconsideration of denial of 

license, the occupational therapy section shall consider the following: 

(1) The nature and severity of the acts which resulted in revocation or denial of license; 

(2) The time elapsed since the commission of the acts; 

(3) Possible additional violations occurring after the revocation or denial; 

(4) Compliance with previous orders of the occupational therapy section; and, 

(5) Any evidence of rehabilitation which the applicant may submit to the section. 

Five Year Review (FYR) Dates: 8/2/2018 and 08/02/2023 

Promulgated Under: 119.03  

Statutory Authority: 4755.06  

Rule Amplifies: 4755.10, 4755.11  

Prior Effective Dates: 10/17/1977, 08/23/1982, 05/01/2008 

http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/119.03
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.06
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.11
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4755-3-07v1
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.11
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/119.03
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.06
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.10
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.11
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4755-3-08 Notice of change of name, place of employment, e-mail, 
and mailing address. 

(A) A license holder shall notify the occupational therapy section of any change of name, place of 

business or employment, e-mail address or mailing address within thirty days after the change. 

(B) Notification may be made electronically by logging into the elicense system. 

Effective: 10/19/2018 

Five Year Review (FYR) Dates: 8/2/2018 and 10/19/2023 

Promulgated Under: 119.03  

Statutory Authority: 4755.06  

Rule Amplifies: 4755.06  

Prior Effective Dates: 10/17/1977, 08/23/1982, 04/25/2003, 05/01/2008 

4755-3-09 Active practice defined. 

(A) In accordance with section 4755.05 of the Revised Code, only persons licensed by the 

occupational therapy section of the board shall practice or offer to practice occupational therapy. 

(B) The practice of occupational therapy, as used in Chapter 4755. of the Revised Code, means 

engaging in occupational therapy, as defined in division (A) of section 4755.04 of the Revised 

Code . 

(C) As used in Chapter 4755-3 of the Administrative Code, "not engaged in the practice of 

occupational therapy for more than five years" means being actively engaged in the practice of 

occupational therapy for fewer than two hundred fifty hours over the five year period prior to the 

date the applicant submits the endorsement, reinstatement, or restoration application. 

Effective: 10/19/2018 

Five Year Review (FYR) Dates: 8/2/2018 and 10/19/2023 

Promulgated Under: 119.03  

Statutory Authority: 4755.06  

Rule Amplifies: 4755.04  

Prior Effective Dates: 10/17/1977, 05/01/2008, 05/01/2014 

4755-3-10 Biennial renewal of license. 

(A) Renewal of an occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant license shall be in 

accordance with section 4755.10 of the Revised Code. 

(1) The entire licensure renewal application, including any required forms, compliance with the 

continuing education requirement specified in rule 4755-9-01 of the Administrative Code, and 

payment of the renewal fee prescribed by rule 4755-5-05 of the Administrative Code, shall be 

completed to satisfy the requirements of the renewal procedure. 

(2) The licensure renewal notice shall be sent to the address on file with the board. 

(B) All persons licensed as an occupational therapist shall renew their license by the thirtieth day 
of June in each odd-numbered year. When a license to practice as an occupational therapist is 

http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4755-3-08v1
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4755-3-08v1
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/119.03
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.06
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http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4755-3-09v1
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http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.04
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4755-3-10v1
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.10
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http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4755-5-05
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issued by the board on or after March first of an odd-numbered year, that license shall be valid 

through the thirtieth day of June of the next odd-numbered year. 

(C) All persons licensed as an occupational therapy assistant shall renew their license by the 

thirtieth day of June in each even-numbered year. When a license to practice as an occupational 

therapy assistant is issued by the board on or after March first of an even-numbered year, that 

license shall be valid through the thirtieth day of June of the next even-numbered year. 

(D) Persons who fail to submit the renewal fee, completed application, any other required 

information, and/or comply with the continuing education requirement specified in rule 4755-9-

01 of the Administrative Code by the thirtieth day of June of the appropriate year shall have their 

license automatically expire. 

(1) A license holder whose license expires for failure to renew shall submit a reinstatement 

application in accordance with rule 4755-3-12 of the Administrative Code. The occupational 

therapy section shall approve the reinstatement application before the person may legally 

practice as an occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant in Ohio. 

(2) A license holder who continues to practice occupational therapy with an expired license shall 

be subject to disciplinary action pursuant to section 4755.11 of the Revised Code. 

(E) For the purposes of filing an electronic renewal application via the elicense system, the 

applicant shall create a "UserID" and password. The use of the "UserID" and password is solely 

the responsibility of the license holder who created it . The "UserID" and password shall 

constitute the legally recognized signature for the purposes of this rule and may not be 

transferred, distributed, or shared with any other person. 

Effective: 10/19/2018 

Five Year Review (FYR) Dates: 8/2/2018 and 10/19/2023 

Promulgated Under: 119.03  

Statutory Authority: 4755.06  

Rule Amplifies: 4755.10  

Prior Effective Dates: 04/25/2003, 05/01/2005, 09/10/2007, 05/01/2008, 05/01/2011, 

07/01/2015 

4755-3-11 Temporary license for military spouse. 

(A) In accordance with division (C) of section 4743.04 of the Revised Code, an individual whose 

spouse is on active military duty in this state is eligible for a temporary military spousal license 

to practice as an occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant in Ohio. 

(B) An application for a temporary military spousal license shall include, but not be limited to, 

the following: 

(1) Proof that the applicant is married to an active duty member of the armed forces of the 

United States; 

(2) Proof that the applicant holds a valid unrestricted license to practice as an occupational 

therapist or occupational therapy assistant in another jurisdiction of the United States; 

(3) Proof that the applicant's spouse is assigned to a duty station in Ohio and that the applicant 

is also assigned to a duty station in Ohio pursuant to the spouse's official active duty military 

orders; and 

http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4755-9-01
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4755-9-01
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4755-3-12
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.11
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/119.03
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.06
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(4) The application fee of one hundred dollars. 

(C) A temporary military spousal license shall expire six months after the date of issuance and is 

not renewable. 

(D) The fee to submit an application in accordance with rule 4755-3-01 of the Administrative 

Code shall be waived if the full license is issued prior to the expiration date of the temporary 

military spousal license. 

Five Year Review (FYR) Dates: 4/27/2018 and 04/27/2023 

Promulgated Under: 119.03  

Statutory Authority: 4743.04  

Rule Amplifies: 4743.04  

Prior Effective Dates: 05/01/2014 

4755-3-12 Application for reinstatement. 

(A) Pursuant to rule 4755-3-10 of the Administrative Code, the occupational therapist or 

occupational therapy assistant license of an person who fails to comply with the renewal 

requirements shall automatically expire on the thirtieth day of June of the appropriate year. 

(B) All applicants for reinstatement shall submit a completed application on the forms specified 

by the section. All applications shall be: 

(1) Submitted electronically via the elicense system; 

(2) Electronically signed via the elicense system; 

(3) Contain the fee prescribed by rule 4755-5-08 of the Administrative Code; 

(4) Be accompanied by such evidence, statements, or documents as specified on the application; 

and 

(5) Contain proof that the applicant met the appropriate continuing education requirement: 

(a) For reinstatement applications submitted on or after August first of the year in which the 

applicant's license expired, the applicant shall complete twenty contact hours of continuing 

education in accordance with rule 4755-9-01 of the Administrative Code within the two year 

period immediately preceding the application for reinstatement. Contact hours used to meet the 

requirements of this paragraph shall not be used to renew the reinstated license; or 

(b) Notwithstanding paragraph (D)(1)(a) of this rule, for reinstatement applications submitted 

before August first of the year in which the applicant's license expired, the applicant shall 

complete the number of contact hours of continuing education that were required to renew the 

expired license. All contact hours used to reinstate the license shall be earned in accordance with 

rule 4755-9-01 of the Administrative Code. Contact hours used to meet the requirements of this 

paragraph shall not be used to renew the reinstated license. 

(C) All applications, statements, and other documents so submitted shall be retained by the 

section. 

http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4755-3-01
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/119.03
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4743.04
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4743.04
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4755-3-12v1
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4755-3-10
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4755-5-08
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4755-9-01
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4755-9-01
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(D) Reinstatement is required for any occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant 

whose Ohio occupational therapy/occupational therapy assistant license has expired. The 

provisions for reinstatement/return to practice are as follows: 

(1) Applicants out of practice for zero to five years shall: 

(a) Provide proof of completion of twenty hours of continuing education within the two year 

period immediately preceding the application for reinstatement; and 

(b) Pass the Ohio occupational therapy jurisprudence examination. 

(2) Applicants out of practice more than five years: 

(a) Shall provide proof of completion of twenty hours of continuing education within the two year 

period immediately preceding the application for reinstatement. 

(b) Shall pass the Ohio occupational therapy jurisprudence examination. 

(c) May be subject to additional requirements outlined by the occupational therapy section. 

The occupational therapy section may consider, but is not limited to, the following additional 

requirements: 

(i) Additional continuing education; 

(ii) Competency-based performance appraisals; 

(iii) Mentorship; 

(iv) Professional development plan; 

(v) Extended coursework; and 

(vi) Retaking and passing the NBCOT certification examination. 

(E) For the purposes of filing an electronic application via the elicense system, the applicant will 

create a "UserID" and password. The use of the "UserID" and password is solely the 

responsibility of the person to whom it is issued. The "UserID" and password shall constitute the 

legally recognized signature for the purposes of this rule and may not be transferred, distributed, 

or shared with any other person. 

(F) Any application received in accordance with this rule that remains incomplete one year after 

the initial application filing shall be considered to be abandoned and no further processing shall 

be undertaken with respect to that application. 

(1) If the application process extends for a period longer than one year, the board may require 

updated information as it deems necessary. 

(2) No application for licensure may be withdrawn without approval of the board. 

(3) Submitted fees shall be neither refundable nor transferable. 
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Effective: 10/19/2018 

Five Year Review (FYR) Dates: 8/2/2018 and 10/19/2023 

Promulgated Under: 119.03  

Statutory Authority: 4755.06  

Rule Amplifies: 4755.06 , 4755.10  

Prior Effective Dates: 10/17/1977, 08/23/1982, 05/15/1991, 01/12/1996, 03/20/1998, 

04/25/2003, 05/01/2004, 05/01/2005, 05/01/2008, 05/01/2011, 05/01/2012 

4755-3-13 Verification of licensure. 

(A) The occupational therapy section shall officially verify to another regulatory entity the status 

of an person's license to practice occupational therapy in the state of Ohio upon both of the 

following: 

(1) Receipt of an official verification request submitted electronically via the elicense system 

(2) Payment of the verification of license charge specified in rule 4755-5-07 of the Administrative 

Code. 

(B) Official verification issued by the board shall include, but not be limited to: 

(1) The license number and status of the license; 

(2) Any disciplinary action taken against the license; and 

(3) The initial issue date and expiration date of the license. 

Effective: 10/19/2018 

Five Year Review (FYR) Dates: 8/2/2018 and 10/19/2023 

Promulgated Under: 119.03  

Statutory Authority: 4755.06  

Rule Amplifies: 4755.08  

Prior Effective Dates: 05/15/1991, 03/20/1998, 05/01/2007 

4755-3-14 Criminal records check. 

(A) In addition to the requirements established in rule 4755-3-01 of the Administrative Code, all 

applicants for initial licensure as an occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant shall 

submit to a criminal records check completed by the bureau of criminal identification and 

investigation in accordance with section 4755.06 and 4755.70 of the Revised Code. The results 

of the criminal records check shall be received by the board prior to the issuance of a license to 

practice as an occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant. 

(B) An applicant requesting a criminal records check shall provide the bureau of criminal 

identification and investigation with the applicant's name, and address, and any other 

information required by the bureau of criminal identification and investigation for the purpose of 

completing the criminal records checks. The applicant shall cause the results of the criminal 

records checks to be forwarded to the Ohio occupational therapy, physical therapy, and athletic 

trainers board at "77 South High Street, 16th Floor, Columbus, Ohio 43215-6108." 

http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/119.03
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.06
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.06
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.10
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4755-3-13v1
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4755-5-07
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/119.03
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.06
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.08
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4755-3-14v1
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4755-3-01
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.06
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.70
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(C) In the request, the applicant shall ask the superintendent of the bureau of criminal 

identification and investigation to obtain from the federal bureau of investigation any information 

it has pertaining to the applicant. 

(D) The occupational therapy section will only accept the results of a criminal records check that 

is submitted to the board directly by the bureau of criminal identification and investigation in 

compliance with this rule. 

(E) A criminal records check will not be required if the applicant has caused the results of a 

criminal records check to be filed with the board in accordance with the requirements of this rule 

within six months of the date that the board received the results of the criminal records check. A 

new criminal records check will be required if the applicant's criminal records check on file with 

the board is greater than six months old based on the date the board received the report. 

Five Year Review (FYR) Dates: 8/2/2018 and 08/02/2023 

Promulgated Under: 119.03  

Statutory Authority: 4776.03, 4755.06  

Rule Amplifies: 4755.70  

Prior Effective Dates: 05/01/2008, 05/01/2009 

4755-3-15 Military provisions related to licensure. 

(A) Definitions. 

(1) "Armed forces" means: 

(a) The armed forces of the United States, including the army, navy, air force, marine corps, and 

coast guard; 

(b) A reserve component of the armed forces listed in paragraph (A)(1)(a) of this rule; 

(c) The national guard, including the Ohio national guard or the national guard of any other 

state; 

(d) The commissioned corps of the United States public health service; 

(e) The merchant marine service during wartime; or 

(f) The Ohio organized militia when engaged in full-time national guard duty for a period of more 

than thirty days. 

(2) "Member" means any person who is serving in the armed forces. 

(3) "Veteran" means any person who has completed service in the armed forces, who has been 

discharged under honorable conditions or who has been transferred to the reserve with evidence 

of satisfactory service. 

(B) Eligibility for licensure. 

In accordance with section 5903.03 of the Revised Code, the following military programs of 
training, military primary specialties, and lengths of service are substantially equivalent to or 

exceed the educational and experience requirements for licensure as an: 

http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/119.03
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4776.03
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.06
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.70
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4755-3-15v1
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/5903.03
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(1) Occupational therapist. 

(a) Military programs of training. 

There are no military programs of training that are substantially equivalent to or exceed the 

educational and experience requirements for licensure as an occupational therapist. An individual 

serving in a military primary specialty listed in paragraph (B)(1)(b) of this rule must be a 

graduate of an occupational therapy program accredited by the accreditation council for 

occupational therapy education (ACOTE) to serve in that specialty. 

(b) Military primary specialties. 

(i) Army: occupational therapist (AOC 65A) 

(ii) Navy: occupational therapy (NOBC 0874) 

(iii) Air force: occupational therapist (AFSC 42T3) 

(c) Lengths of service. 

There are no minimal lengths of service that would be substantially equivalent to or exceed the 

educational and experience requirements for licensure as an occupational therapist. 

(2) Occupational therapy assistant. 

(a) Military programs of training. 

The occupational therapy assistant program at the medical education and training campus at Fort 

Sam Houston, Texas, is substantially equivalent to the educational requirements for licensure as 

an occupational therapy assistant. 

(i) Army: school 083; course 303-68L10 (course 303-N3 prior to 2014). 

(ii) Navy: school 083; course B-303-0152. 

(b) Military primary specialties. 

(i) Army: occupational therapy specialist (MOS 68L). 

(ii) Navy: occupational therapy assistant (NEC HM-8467). 

(c) Lengths of service. 

There are no minimal lengths of service that would be substantially equivalent to or exceed the 

educational and experience requirements for licensure as an occupational therapy assistant. 

(C) License renewal. 

(1) In accordance with section 5903.10 of the Revised Code, a licensee whose license expired 

due to the licensee's service in the armed forces shall be eligible for renewal of the expired 

http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/5903.10
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license in accordance with section 4755.10 of the Revised Code and rules 4755-3-10 and 4755-

5-05 of the Administrative Code, if the following conditions are met: 

(a) The licensee presents the board with satisfactory evidence that, not more than six months 

prior to the date the evidence is submitted to the board, the licensee was honorably discharged 

or separated under honorable conditions; 

(b) The licensee is not suffering a mental or physical illness, including physical deterioration that 

adversely affects cognitive, motor, or perception skills, that affect the licensee's ability to 

practice according to acceptable and prevailing standards of care; and 

(c) The licensee meets the requirements for license renewal required by section 4755.10 of the 

Revised Code and rules 4755-3-10 and 4755-5-05 of the Administrative Code. 

(2) The provisions of paragraph (C) of this rule also apply if the licensee's spouse served in the 

armed forces and the spouse's service resulted in the licensee's absence from this state. 

(D) Continuing education. 

(1) In accordance with section 5903.12 of the Revised Code, the provisions of this paragraph 

apply to a licensee who has been a member of the armed forces who has served on active duty 

for a period in excess of thirty-one days. 

(2) A licensee who meets the provisions contained in paragraph (D)(1) of this rule may submit 

an application to the board requesting an extension of the current continuing education reporting 

period. 

(a) The licensee shall submit proper documentation certifying the active duty service and the 

length of that active duty service. 

(b) Upon receiving the application and proper documentation, the board shall extend the current 

continuing education reporting period by an amount of time equal to the total number of months 

that the licensee spent on active duty during the current continuing education reporting period. 

Any portion of a month served shall be considered one full month. 

(E) Determining fulfillment of continuing education. 

(1) In accordance with section 5903.121 of the Revised Code, the board shall consider relevant 

education, training, or service completed by a licensee as a member of the armed forces in 

determining whether a licensee has met the continuing education requirements needed to renew 

the license. 

(2) For the board to consider relevant education, training, or service completed by the licensee in 

accordance with paragraph (E) of this rule, the licensee shall submit a request for consideration 

and documentation of the education, training, or service to the board at least ninety days prior 

to the expiration of the license. 

(F) Waiver of license application fee. 

(1) The application fee shall be waived for an applicant who is a current member of the armed 

forces. 

http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.10
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4755-3-10
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4755-5-05
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4755-5-05
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.10
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4755-3-10
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4755-5-05
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/5903.12
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/5903.121
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(2) Paragraph (F) of this rule applies to the following application fee types: 

(a) Initial licensure by examination, outlined in rule 4755-5-01 of the Administrative Code. 

(b) Initial licensure by endorsement, outlined in rule 4755-5-01 of the Administrative Code. 

(c) Reinstatement of an expired license, outlined in rule 4755-5-08 of the Administrative Code. 

(d) Restoration of a license in escrow, outlined in rule 4755-5-09 of the Administrative Code. 

(G) Application process. 

(1) The board's applications shall include a question to identify if the applicant is a member of 

the armed forces, a veteran, or a spouse or surviving spouse of a member of the armed forces or 

veteran. This status shall be stored in the licensing system. 

(2) When the board receives an application from an individual identified in paragraph (G)(1) of 

this rule, the processing of that application shall be prioritized, with a goal of ensuring that a 

license is issued the same day that the application is complete. 

Five Year Review (FYR) Dates: 8/2/2018 and 08/02/2023 

Promulgated Under: 119.03  

Statutory Authority: 5903.03  

Rule Amplifies: 4743.04, 5903.121, 5903.12 , 5903.10, 5903.03  

Prior Effective Dates: 09/01/2014 

Chapter 4755-5 Fees 

4755-5-01 Fee for initial licensure. 

The initial licensing fee for an occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant shall not 

exceed one hundred dollars. The prescribed fee shall be submitted to the occupational therapy 

section with the application for initial licensure. 

Replaces: Former 4755-5-01 

Five Year Review (FYR) Dates: 12/20/2018 and 12/20/2023 

Promulgated Under: 119.03  

Statutory Authority: 4755.06  

Rule Amplifies: 4755.12  

Prior Effective Dates: 01/26/1980, 08/23/1982, 03/20/1998, 05/01/2005, 05/01/2013 

4755-5-04 Fee for copies of certificate of licensure. 

The fee for each additional copy of a certificate of licensure shall not exceed thirty dollars and 

shall be submitted to the occupational therapy section with the request. 

Five Year Review (FYR) Dates: 12/20/2018 and 12/20/2023 

Promulgated Under: 119.03  
Statutory Authority: 4755.06  

Rule Amplifies: 4755.12  

http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4755-5-01
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4755-5-01
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4755-5-08
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4755-5-09
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/119.03
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/5903.03
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4743.04
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/5903.121
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/5903.12
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/5903.10
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/5903.03
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4755-5-01v1
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/119.03
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.06
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.12
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4755-5-04v1
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http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.06
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Prior Effective Dates: 10/17/1977, 01/26/1980, 08/23/1982, 05/15/1991, 03/20/1998, 

05/01/2010 

4755-5-05 Fees for renewal. 

The biennial renewal fee shall not exceed one hundred twenty dollars for an occupational 

therapist or occupational therapy assistant. The prescribed fee shall be submitted to the 

occupational therapy section with the renewal application. 

Replaces: Former 4755-5-05 

Five Year Review (FYR) Dates: 12/20/2018 and 12/20/2023 

Promulgated Under: 119.03  

Statutory Authority: 4755.06  

Rule Amplifies: 4755.10, 4755.12  

Prior Effective Dates: 04/25/2003, 05/01/2005, 05/01/2008 

4755-5-06 Fee for mailing lists. 

(A) The board will maintain separate and combined listings of currently licensed occupational 

therapists and occupation therapy assistants along with the licensees' address. The fee for the 

list of occupational therapists and/or occupational therapy assistants shall not exceed the actual 

cost of duplication and mailing. 

(B) Any person may obtain a copy of a licensee list by: 

(1) Writing the board at, : "Ohio Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Athletic Trainers 

Board, 77 South High Street, Sixteenth Floor, Columbus, Ohio, 43215-6108," and submitting a 

check or money order made payable to "Ohio Treasurer of State" in the appropriate amount. 

(2) E-mailing the board at Board@otptat.ohio.gov. No fee is required for a request fulfilled 

electronically. 

Effective: 4/1/2019 

Five Year Review (FYR) Dates: 12/21/2018 and 04/01/2024 

Promulgated Under: 119.03  

Statutory Authority: 4755.06  

Rule Amplifies: 4755.06  

Prior Effective Dates: 05/15/1991, 05/01/2005, 05/01/2013 

4755-5-07 Administrative processing charge for verification of 

occupational therapy licensure. 

The administrative processing charge to verify a license shall not exceed thirty dollars. The 

charge shall be submitted in a manner determined by the occupational therapy section. 

Verification of licensure administrative processing charges are not refundable. 

Five Year Review (FYR) Dates: 12/20/2018 and 12/20/2023 

Promulgated Under: 119.03  
Statutory Authority: 4755.06  

http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4755-5-05v1
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/119.03
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.06
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.10
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.12
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4755-5-06v1
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Rule Amplifies: 4755.06  

Prior Effective Dates: 05/15/1991, 03/20/1998, 05/01/2007 

4755-5-08 Fee for reinstatement. 

The reinstatement fee shall not exceed one hundred dollars. The prescribed fee shall be 

submitted to the occupational therapy section with the reinstatement application. 

Effective: 4/1/2019 

Five Year Review (FYR) Dates: 12/21/2018 and 04/01/2024 

Promulgated Under: 119.03  

Statutory Authority: 4755.06  

Rule Amplifies: 4755.10, 4755.12  

Prior Effective Dates: 10/17/1977, 08/23/1982, 05/15/1991, 01/12/1996, 03/20/1998, 

05/01/2004, 05/01/2005, 05/01/2012 

4755-5-09 Fee for restoration of an escrowed license. 

The restoration fee shall not exceed eighty dollars. The prescribed fee shall be submitted to the 

occupational therapy section with the restoration application. 

Five Year Review (FYR) Dates: 4/23/2019 and 04/01/2024 

Promulgated Under: 119.03  

Statutory Authority: 4755.06  

Rule Amplifies: 4755.06 , 4755.10, 4755.12  

Prior Effective Dates: 10/17/1977, 08/23/1982, 05/01/2005, 04/01/2019 

4755-5-10 Waiver of Fees. 

The occupational therapy section may grant waivers of the fee requirements listed in this chapter 

in cases of undue hardship including, but not limited to, natural disasters and acts of terrorism. 

Five Year Review (FYR) Dates: 12/20/2018 and 12/20/2023 

Promulgated Under: 119.03  

Statutory Authority: 4755.06  

Rule Amplifies: 4755.12  

Prior Effective Dates: 05/01/2006 

4755-5-11 Fee for continuing education review. 

The fee for review of a continuing education activity shall be twenty-five dollars. The fee shall be 

submitted to the occupational therapy section with the application for continuing education 

approval. 

Five Year Review (FYR) Dates: 1/28/2019 and 01/28/2024 

Promulgated Under: 119.03  

Statutory Authority: 4755.06, 4755.12  

Rule Amplifies: 4755.12  

Prior Effective Dates: 05/01/2014 

http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.06
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Chapter 4755-7 Limited Permit Holders and Occupational 

Therapy Assistants; Conduct of Licensees 

4755-7-01 Occupational therapy practice defined. 

For the purpose of Chapters 4755-1 to 4755-9 of the Administrative Code, the following definitions 

must apply: 

(A) "Occupational therapist" means a person who is licensed to practice occupational therapy and 

who offers such services to the public under any title incorporating the words "occupational 

therapy," "occupational therapist," or similar title or description of services. 

(B) "Occupational therapy assistant" means a person who holds a license to provide occupational 

therapy techniques under the general supervision of an occupational therapist. 

(C) "Student occupational therapist" means a student enrolled in an accredited or candidacy status 

entry-level occupational therapist education program or a student enrolled in a "World Federation 

of Occupational Therapy" accredited entry-level occupational therapist education program. 

Effective January 1, 2021, a student occupational therapist must be at least eighteen years old to 

participate in learning opportunities outside the classroom involving clients. 

(D) "Student occupational therapy assistant" means a student enrolled in an accredited or 

candidacy status entry-level occupational therapy assistant education program. Effective January 

1, 2021, a student occupational therapy assistant must be at least eighteen years old to participate 

in learning opportunities outside the classroom involving clients. 

(E) "Level I fieldwork" means the introductory fieldwork experiences that are a component of an 

educational program in occupational therapy in which students develop a basic understanding of 

the needs of clients through directed observation and supervised participation in the occupational 

therapy process. 

(F) "Level II fieldwork" means the in-depth fieldwork experiences that are a component of an 

educational program in occupational therapy that provide multiple occupational therapy services 

to a variety of clients in multiple settings. 

(G) "Unlicensed personnel" means any person who is on the job trained and supports the delivery 

of occupational therapy services by personally assisting the occupational therapist, occupational 

therapy assistant, student occupational therapist, and/or student occupational therapy assistant 

while the occupational therapist, occupational therapy assistant, student occupational therapist, 

and/or student occupational therapy assistant is concurrently providing services to the same client. 

(H) "Supervising occupational therapist" means the occupational therapist who is available to 

supervise the occupational therapy assistant, the student occupational therapist, student 

occupational therapy assistant, or unlicensed personnel. The supervising occupational therapist 

may be the occupational therapist who performed the initial evaluation or another occupational 

therapist with whom that occupational therapist has a documented agreement. 

(I) "Supervising occupational therapy assistant" means the occupational therapy assistant who is 

appropriately available to supervise the student occupational therapy assistant, the student 

occupational therapist who is completing the level I fieldwork experience, or unlicensed personnel. 

http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4755-7-01v2
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Effective: 8/15/2020 

Five Year Review (FYR) Dates: 5/7/2020 and 04/01/2025 

Promulgated Under: 119.03 

Statutory Authority: 4755.06 

Rule Amplifies: 4755.04, 4755.06 , 4755.08, 4755.11 

Prior Effective Dates: 10/17/1977, 05/01/2006, 05/01/2007, 05/01/2008, 07/01/2010, 

07/01/2015 

4755-7-02 Roles and responsibilities. 

(A) Occupational therapist. 

The occupational therapist must assume professional responsibility for the provision of all 

occupational therapy services, of which the following activities must not be wholly delegated, 

regardless of the setting in which the services are provided: 

(1) Interpretation of referrals or prescriptions for occupational therapy services; 

(2) Interpretation and analysis for evaluation purposes; 

(3) Development, interpretation, and modification of the treatment/intervention plan and the 

discharge plan. 

(B) Occupational therapy assistant. 

(1) The occupational therapy assistant may contribute to and collaborate in: 

(a) The evaluation process by gathering data, administering standardized tests and/or objective 

measurement tools, and reporting observations. 

(b) The preparation, implementation, and documentation of the treatment/ intervention plan and 

the discharge plan. 

(c) Choosing the appropriate treatment interventions. 

(2) The occupational therapy assistant may independently: 

(a) Select the daily modality of choice according to the established treatment/ intervention plan. 

(b) Document the progress and outcomes summary. 

(3) The occupational therapy assistant may not evaluate independently or initiate 

treatment/intervention before the supervising occupational therapist performs an evaluation. 

(C) Student occupational therapist and student occupational therapy assistant. 

In accordance with section 4755.13 of the Revised Code, persons fulfilling the supervised fieldwork 

experience requirements pursuant to section 4755.07 of the Revised Code must, at the discretion 

of the supervising occupational therapist or supervising occupational therapy assistant, as 

appropriate, be assigned duties or functions commensurate with their education and training. 

http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/119.03
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(D) Unlicensed personnel. 

The primary function of unlicensed personnel functioning in an occupational therapy setting is to 

perform designated routine tasks related to the operation and delivery of occupational therapy 

services. Such tasks may include, but are not limited to: 

(1) Routine department maintenance; 

(2) Transportation of clients; 

(3) Preparation or setting up of treatment equipment and work area; 

(4) Taking care of clients' personal needs during treatments; 

(5) Assisting in the construction of adaptive equipment and splints; 

(6) Clerical, secretarial, and administrative activities; and 

(7) Personally assisting the occupational therapist, occupational therapy assistant, student 

occupational therapist, or student occupational therapy assistant while the occupational therapist, 

occupational therapy assistant, student occupational therapist, or student occupational therapy 

assistant is concurrently providing services to the same client. 

Effective: 8/15/2020 

Five Year Review (FYR) Dates: 5/7/2020 and 04/01/2025 

Promulgated Under: 119.03 

Statutory Authority: 4755.06 

Rule Amplifies: 4755.04, 4755.06 , 4755.08, 4755.11 

Prior Effective Dates: 05/01/1008, 10/17/1977, 05/15/1991, 04/11/2002, 05/01/2004, 

05/01/2006, 05/01/2007, 07/01/2010 

4755-7-03 Delegation. 

(A) Occupational therapy assistant. 

The occupational therapy assistant may implement the occupational therapy 

treatment/intervention plan established by the supervising occupational therapist. The supervising 

occupational therapist must consider the following when delegating to the occupational therapy 

assistant: 

(1) The clinical complexity of the client; 

(2) The competency of the occupational therapy assistant; 

(3) The occupational therapy assistant's level of training in the treatment/intervention technique; 

and 

(4) Whether continual reassessment of the client's status is needed during treatment/intervention. 

(5) Notwithstanding paragraphs (A)(1) to (A)(4) of this rule, the occupational therapy assistant 

may respond to acute changes in the client's condition that warrant immediate action. 

http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/119.03
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(B) Student occupational therapist. 

The student occupational therapist must demonstrate appropriate skill and knowledge in duties 

being delegated. The supervising occupational therapist must demonstrate knowledge and 

competency in any procedure or services delegated to a student occupational therapist. 

(C) Student occupational therapy assistant. 

The student occupational therapy assistant must demonstrate appropriate skill and knowledge in 

duties being delegated. The supervising occupational therapist or supervising occupational therapy 

assistant must demonstrate knowledge and competency in any procedure or services delegated to 

a student occupational therapy assistant. 

(D) Unlicensed personnel. 

(1) Unlicensed personnel may only perform specific tasks which are neither evaluative, task 

selective, nor recommending in nature. The occupational therapist, occupational therapy assistant, 

student occupational therapist, or student occupational therapy assistant may delegate such tasks 

only after ensuring that the unlicensed personnel has been appropriately trained for the 

performance of the tasks. 

(2) The occupational therapist, occupational therapy assistant, student occupational therapist, and 

student occupational therapy assistant must not delegate the following to unlicensed personnel: 

(a) Performance of occupational therapy evaluative services; 

(b) Initiation, planning, adjustment, modification, or performance of occupational therapy 

services; 

(c) Making occupational therapy entries directly in the client's official records; and 

(3) The unlicensed personnel must not act independently on behalf of the occupational therapist, 

occupational therapy assistant, student occupational therapist, or student occupational therapy 

assistant in any matter related to occupational therapy treatment . 

Effective: 8/15/2020 

Five Year Review (FYR) Dates: 5/7/2020 and 04/01/2025 

Promulgated Under: 119.03 

Statutory Authority: 4755.06 

Rule Amplifies: 4755.04, 4755.06 , 4755.08, 4755.11 

Prior Effective Dates: 05/01/1008, 10/17/1977, 05/15/1991, 04/11/2002, 05/01/2004, 

05/01/2006, 05/01/2007, 07/01/2010, 07/01/2015 

4755-7-04 Supervision. 

(A) Supervision must ensure consumer protection. The supervising occupational therapist is 

ultimately responsible for all clients and is accountable and responsible at all times for the actions 

of persons supervised, including the: 

(1) Occupational therapy assistant; 

(2) Student occupational therapist; 

http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/119.03
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(3) Student occupational therapy assistant; and 

(4) Unlicensed personnel. 

(B) The following factors must be considered by the supervising occupational therapist when 

determining the appropriate frequency, methods, and content of supervision: 

(1) Complexity of the client needs; 

(2) Number and diversity of clients; 

(3) Skills of the occupational therapist and occupational therapy assistant; 

(4) Type and number of practice settings; 

(5) Requirements of the practice setting; and 

(6) Any other regulatory or administrative requirements. 

(C) Occupational therapy assistant. 

Supervision of the occupational therapy assistant, as defined in division (C) of section 4755.04 of 

the Revised Code, requires initial direction and periodic inspection of the service delivery and 

relevant in-service training. The supervising occupational therapist need not be on-site, but must 

be available for consultation with the occupational therapy assistant at all times. 

(1) The supervising occupational therapist must provide supervision at least one time per week for 

all occupational therapy assistants who are in their first year of practice. 

(2) The supervising occupational therapist must provide supervision at least one time per month 

for all occupational therapy assistants beyond their first year of practice. 

(3) Supervision requires an interactive process between the supervising occupational therapist and 

the occupational therapy assistant. The interactive process must include, but is not limited to, 

review of the following: 

(a) Client assessment; 

(b) Client reassessment; 

(c) Treatment/intervention plan; 

(d) Intervention; and 

(e) Discontinuation of treatment/intervention plan. 

(4) Co-signing client documentation alone does not meet the minimum level of supervision. 

(5) It is the responsibility of the occupational therapist and occupational therapy assistant to 

establish evidence that the supervision occurred in accordance with the requirements of this rule. 

http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.04
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This evidence may include documentation in the client record, or it may exist as a separate 

document, such as a collaboration log. 

(6) The supervising occupational therapy assistant is accountable and responsible at all times for 

the actions of all student occupational therapy assistants and unlicensed personnel supervised by 

the supervising occupational therapy assistant. 

(D) Student occupational therapist. 

(1) A student occupational therapist must be supervised by an occupational therapist who has 

completed at least one year of clinical practice as a fully licensed occupational therapist. 

(2) A student occupational therapist must be at least eighteen years old to be supervised by an 

occupational therapist licensed pursuant to Chapter 4755 of the Revised Code, effective January 

1, 2021. This includes supervision for Level I and Level II fieldwork. 

(3) The student occupational therapist, who is being supervised in accordance with the laws and 

rules governing the practice of occupational therapy, may supervise unlicensed personnel. 

(E) Student occupational therapy assistant. 

(1) A student occupational therapy assistant must be supervised by an occupational therapist or 

occupational therapy assistant who has completed at least one year of clinical practice as a fully 

licensed occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant. 

(2) A student occupational therapy assistant must be at least eighteen years old to be supervised 

by an occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant pursuant to Chapter 4755 of the 

Revised Code, effective January 1, 2021.This includes supervision for Level I and Level II fieldwork. 

(3) The student occupational therapy assistant, who is being supervised in accordance with the 

laws and rules governing the practice of occupational therapy, may supervise unlicensed 

personnel. 

(F) Supervising occupational therapists must confirm that all occupational therapy assistants they 

supervise hold current, valid licenses to practice occupational therapy in this state prior to allowing 

the occupational therapy assistant to engage in the practice of occupational therapy. 

(G) Occupational therapy assistants must confirm that all occupational therapists by whom they 

are supervised hold current, valid licenses to practice occupational therapy in this state prior to 

engaging in the practice of occupational therapy. 

(H) Any documentation written by an occupational therapy assistant, student occupational 

therapist, or student occupational therapy assistant for inclusion in the client's official record must 

be co-signed by the supervising occupational therapist. 

Effective: 8/15/2020 

Five Year Review (FYR) Dates: 5/7/2020 and 04/01/2025 

Promulgated Under: 119.03 

Statutory Authority: 4755.06 

Rule Amplifies: 4755.04, 4755.06 , 4755.08, 4755.11 

Prior Effective Dates: 10/17/1977, 01/26/1980, 08/23/1982, 05/15/1991, 01/26/1996, 

07/08/2002, 05/01/2008, 07/01/2010, 07/01/2015 
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4755-7-08 Code of ethical conduct. 

(A) Operations. 

License holders must use the provisions contained in paragraphs (A)(1) to (A)(9) of this rule as 

guidelines for promoting ethical integrity and professionalism. Failure to comply with paragraphs 

(A)(1) to (A)(9) of this rule may be grounds for disciplinary action pursuant to section 4755.11 of 

the Revised Code and in accordance with Chapter 119. of the Revised Code. 

(1) License holders must familiarize themselves with, seek to understand, and comply with the 

laws and rules governing the practice of occupational therapy. 

(2) License holders must remain abreast of revisions in the laws and rules governing the practice 

of occupational therapy and must inform employers, employees, and colleagues of those revisions. 

(3) License holders must achieve and continually maintain high standards of competence by doing 

the following: 

(a) Maintain and document competency by participating in professional development, continuing 

competence, and other educational activities. 

(b) Critically examine and keep current with emerging knowledge relevant to the practice of 

occupational therapy. A license holder must not perform or attempt to perform techniques and/or 

procedures in which the license holder is untrained by education or experience. 

(4) A person must not practice occupational therapy without a valid license, or without holding 

student status, including: 

(a) Practicing occupational therapy while a person's license is suspended or revoked. 

(b) Practicing occupational therapy with an expired license or when no longer enrolled as a student 

in an accredited occupational therapy educational program. 

(5) License holders must ensure that a person supervised or directed by the license holder 

possesses a valid license or is a student occupational therapist or student occupational therapy 

assistant, as those terms are defined in rule 4755-7-01 of the Administrative Code. 

(6) License holders must not aid, abet, authorize, condone, or allow the practice of occupational 

therapy by any person not legally authorized to provide services. 

(7) An applicant or License holder must not cheat or assist others in conspiring to cheat on the 

certification examination referenced in paragraph (C)(2) of rule 4755-3-01 of the Administrative 

Code or the state jurisprudence examination. 

(8) License holders must not permit another person to use a person's wall certificate, license 

number, or national provider identifier for any illegal purpose. 

(9) License holders must report to the occupational therapy section any unprofessional, 

incompetent, or illegal behavior of an occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant of 

which the license holder has knowledge. 

(B) Professionalism of license holder. 

http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4755-7-08v2
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Professionalism of the license holder includes conforming to the minimal standards of acceptable 

and prevailing occupational therapy practice, including practicing in a manner that is moral and 

honorable. Conduct may be considered unethical regardless of whether or not actual injury to a 

client occurred. Failure to comply with paragraphs (B)(1) to (B)(17) of this rule may be grounds 

for disciplinary action pursuant to section 4755.11 of the Revised Code and in accordance with 

Chapter 119. of the Revised Code. 

(1) A license holder must not: 

(a) Forge the signature of other practitioners. 

(b) Forge a wall certificate or any other proof of current licensure, including eLicense Ohio. 

(2) An occupational therapy assistant must not provide occupational therapy services without a 

supervising occupational therapist. 

(3) All occupational therapy documentation, including, but not limited to, evaluations, 

assessments, intervention plans, treatment notes, discharge summaries, and transfers of care 

must be in written or electronic format. 

(4) A license holder must not falsify, alter, or destroy client records, medical records, or billing 

records without authorization. The license holder must maintain accurate client and/or billing 

records. 

(5) A license holder must not deliver, obtain, or attempt to obtain medications through means of 

misrepresentation, fraud, forgery, deception, and/or subterfuge. 

(6) A license holder must not initiate, participate in, or encourage the filing of complaints against 

colleagues that are unwarranted or intended to harm another practitioner. 

(7) A license holder must not practice occupational therapy while the ability to practice is impaired 

by alcohol, controlled substances, narcotic drugs, physical disability, mental disability, or emotional 

disability. If a license holder's or applicant's ability to practice is in question, the license holder or 

applicant must submit to a physical or mental examination or drug/alcohol screen as requested by 

the occupational therapy section to determine the applicant's or license holder's qualifications to 

practice occupational therapy. 

(8) A license holder must preserve, respect, and safeguard confidential information about 

colleagues, staff, and students, unless otherwise mandated by national, state, or local laws. 

(9) A license holder must exercise sound judgment and act in a trustworthy manner in all aspects 

of occupational therapy practice. Regardless of practice setting, the occupational therapy 

practitioner must maintain the ability to make independent judgments. A license holder must strive 

to effect changes that benefit the client. 

(10) A license holder must accurately represent the qualifications, views, contributions, and 

findings of colleagues and students. 

(11) A license holder must not misrepresent the credential, title, qualifications, education, 

experience, training, and/or specialty certifications held by the license holder. 

http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.11


Page 51 of 70 
 

(12) A person licensed by the occupational therapy section has a responsibility to report any 

organization or entity that holds itself out to deliver occupational therapy services that places the 

license holder in a position of compromise with this code of ethical conduct. 

(13) A license holder must provide appropriate supervision to persons for whom the practitioner 

has supervisory responsibility. 

(14) A license holder must only seek compensation that is reasonable for the occupational therapy 

services delivered. A license holder must never place the license holder's own financial interests 

above the welfare of the license holder's clients. A license holder, regardless of the practice setting, 

must safeguard the public from unethical and unlawful business practices. 

(15) A license holder must adhere to the minimal standards of acceptable prevailing practice. 

Failure to adhere to minimal standards of practice, whether or not actual injury to a client occurred, 

includes, but is not limited to: 

(a) Documenting or billing for services not actually performed. 

(b) Performing techniques/procedures in which the license holder cannot demonstrate and 

document competency, either by experience or education. 

(c) Practicing in a pattern of negligent conduct, which means a continued course of negligent 

conduct or of negligent conduct in performing the duties of the profession. 

(d) Delegating occupational therapy functions or responsibilities to a person lacking the ability or 

knowledge to perform the function or responsibility in question. 

(e) Failing to ensure that duties assumed by or assigned to other occupational therapy practitioners 

match credentials, qualifications, experience, and scope of practice. 

(16) A license holder must respect the rights, knowledge, and skills of colleagues and other health 

care professionals. 

(17) A license holder must not use or participate in the use of any form of communication that 

contains false, fraudulent, deceptive, or unfair statements or claims. 

(C) License holder and client interactions. 

The license holder must demonstrate concern for the well-being of the client. Failure to comply 

with paragraphs (C)(1) to (C)(17) of this rule may be grounds for disciplinary action pursuant to 

section 4755.11 of the Revised Code and in accordance with Chapter 119. of the Revised Code. 

(1) A license holder must adhere to the minimal standards of acceptable prevailing practice. Failure 

to adhere to minimal standards of practice, whether or not actual injury to a client occurred, 

includes, but is not limited to: 

(a) Failing to assess and evaluate a client's status or establishing an occupational therapy 

intervention plan prior to commencing treatment/intervention of an individual . 

(b) Providing treatment interventions that are not warranted by the client's condition or continuing 

treatment beyond the point of reasonable benefit to the client. 

http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.11
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(c) Providing substandard care as an occupational therapy assistant by exceeding the authority to 

perform components of interventions selected by the supervising occupational therapist. 

(d) Abandoning the client by inappropriately terminating the practitioner-client relationship by the 

license holder. 

(e) Causing, or permitting another person to cause, physical or emotional injury to the client, or 

depriving the client of the person's dignity. 

(2) A license holder must transfer the care of the client, as appropriate, to another health care 

provider in either of the following events: 

(a) Elective termination of occupational therapy services by the client; or 

(b) Elective termination of the practitioner-client relationship by the 

license holder. 

(3) A license holder must ensure the client's rights to participate fully in the client's care, including 

the client's right to select the occupational therapy provider, regardless of the practice setting. 

(4) A license holder must respect the person's right to refuse professional services or involvement 

in research or educational activities. 

(5) A license holder must disclose any professional, personal, financial, business, or volunteer 

affiliations that may pose a conflict of interest to those with whom the license holder may establish 

a professional, contractual, or other working relationship. 

(6) A license holder must not influence a client or the client's family to utilize, purchase, or rent 

any equipment based on direct or indirect financial interests of the license holder. 

Recommendations of equipment must be based solely on the therapeutic value of that equipment 

to the client. A license holder who owns or has a direct financial interest in an equipment or supply 

company must disclose the financial interest to the client if the license holder sells or rents, or 

intends to sell or rent, to that client. 

(7) A license holder must not intentionally or knowingly offer to pay or agree to accept any 

compensation, directly or indirectly, overtly or covertly, in cash or in kind, to or from any person 

or entity for receiving or soliciting clients or patronage, regardless of the source of the 

compensation. 

(8) A license holder must refer to or consult with other service providers whenever such a referral 

or consultation would be beneficial to care of the client. The referral or consultation process should 

be done in collaboration with the client. 

(9) A license holder must not exploit a client, or the parent/guardian of a minor client, sexually, 

physically, emotionally, financially, socially, or in any other manner. 

(10) A license holder must not engage in conduct that constitutes harassment or verbal or physical 

abuse of, or unlawful discrimination against, clients, the parent/guardian of a minor client, 

students, and/or colleagues. 
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(11) A license holder must not engage in any sexual relationship or conduct, including dating, with 

any client, or engage in any conduct that may reasonably be interpreted by the client to be sexual, 

whether consensual or nonconsensual, while a practitioner-client relationship exists and for six 

months immediately following the termination of the practitioner-client relationship. In the case of 

minors, the practitioner-client relationship extends to the minor's parent or guardian. 

(a) A license holder must not intentionally expose or view a completely or partially disrobed client 

in the course of treatment if the exposure or viewing is not related to the client diagnosis or 

treatment under current practice standards. 

(b) A license holder must not engage in a conversation with a client that is sexually explicit and 

unrelated to the occupational therapy intervention plan. 

(12) A license holder must not engage in sexual harassment of clients, the parent/guardian of a 

minor client, students, and/or colleagues. Sexual harassment includes, but is not limited to, 

making unwelcome sexual advances, requesting sexual favors, and engaging in other verbal or 

physical conduct of a sexual nature that results in: 

(a) Withholding occupational therapy services to a client; 

(b) Creating an intimidating, hostile, or offensive environment; or 

(c) Interfering with the client's ability to recover. 

(13) A license holder must advocate for clients to obtain needed services through available means. 

(14) A license holder must provide accurate and relevant information to clients about the clients' 

care and to the public about occupational therapy services. 

(a) A license holder must not guarantee the results of any therapy, consultation, or therapeutic 

procedure. A guarantee of any sort, expressed or implied, oral or written, is contrary to professional 

ethics. 

(b) A reasonable statement of prognosis is not improper, but successful results are dependent 

upon many uncontrollable factors. Hence, any warranty is deceptive and unethical. 

(15) A license holder must obtain informed consent from the client. 

(a) A license holder, unless otherwise allowed by law, must not provide care without disclosing to 

the client or the client's representative, the benefits, substantial risks, if any, or alternatives to the 

recommended evaluation or intervention. 

(b) Information relating to the practitioner-client relationship is confidential and may not be 

communicated to a third party not involved in that client's care without the prior written consent 

of the client or the client's representative or unless otherwise allowed by law. Information must be 

disclosed when required by law for the protection of the client or the public. 

(16) A license holder must safeguard the public from underutilization or overutilization of 

occupational therapy services. 

(17) A license holder must respect the rights and dignity of all clients and provide care as described 

in paragraphs (C)(17)(a), (C)(17)(b), and (C)(17) (c) of this rule. 
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(a) A license holder must recognize individual differences with clients and must respect and be 

responsive to those differences. 

(b) A license holder must be guided by concern for the physical, psychosocial, and socioeconomic 

welfare of clients. 

(c) A license holder must recognize and understand the impact of the cultural components of age, 

economics, gender, geography, race, ethnicity, religious and political factors, marital status, sexual 

orientation, and disability of all clients. 

(D) Cooperation. 

In accordance with division (A)(19) of section 4755.11 of the Revised Code, license holders must 

cooperate with an investigation by the occupational therapy section. Failure to cooperate is conduct 

detrimental to the best interest of the public and grounds for disciplinary action. Cooperation 

includes responding fully and promptly to any questions raised by the occupational therapy section 

and providing copies of the medical records and other documents requested by the occupational 

therapy section. Failure to comply with paragraphs (D)(1) to (D) (7) of this rule may be grounds 

for disciplinary action pursuant to section 4755.11 of the Revised Code and in accordance with 

Chapter 119. of the Revised Code. 

(1) A license holder must respond fully and truthfully to a request for information from the 

occupational therapy section. 

(2) A license holder must comply with a subpoena issued by the occupational therapy section. 

(3) A license holder must provide information or documents within the time frame specified by the 

occupational therapy section. 

(4) A license holder must appear and provide information at an interview requested by the 

occupational therapy section. 

(5) A license holder must not deceive, or attempt to deceive, the occupational therapy section 

regarding any matter, including by altering or destroying any record or document. 

(6) A license holder must not interfere with an investigation or disciplinary proceeding by willful 

misrepresentation of facts before the agency or the occupational therapy section, or by use of 

threats or harassment against any client or witness to prevent the client or witness from providing 

evidence in a disciplinary proceeding or any other legal action. 

(7) A license holder must not refuse to provide testimony in an administrative hearing. 

(E) A license holder must self report to the occupational therapy section, within thirty days, any of 

the items outlined in paragraphs (E)(1) to (E)(7) of this rule. Failure to comply with paragraphs 

(E)(1) to (E)(7) of this rule may be grounds for disciplinary action pursuant to section 4755.11 of 

the Revised Code and in accordance with Chapter 119. of the Revised Code. 

(1) Impairment by physical or mental illness, chemical use, or chemical dependency, that affects 

the applicant's or license holder's ability to practice with reasonable skill and safety. 

(2) Conviction of a felony or invervention in lieu of a felony. 

http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4755.11
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(3) Conviction of a misdemeanor when the act that constituted the misdemeanor occurred during 

the practice of occupational therapy. 

(4) The termination, revocation, or suspension of membership by a state or national occupational 

therapy professional association. 

(5) The termination, revocation, suspension, or sanctioning of a credential issued by a state or 

national professional credentialing organization. 

(6) The termination, revocation, suspension, or sanctioning of a professional license in the state 

of Ohio or another state. 

(7) A positive drug and/or alcohol screening. 

(8) A finding of malpractice by a court of competent jurisdiction. 

Effective: 8/15/2020 

Five Year Review (FYR) Dates: 5/7/2020 and 04/01/2025 

Promulgated Under: 119.03 

Statutory Authority: 4755.06 

Rule Amplifies: 4755.06 , 4755.11 

Prior Effective Dates: 10/17/1977, 08/23/1982, 05/15/1991, 09/27/2002, 05/01/2005, 

05/01/2008, 05/01/2009, 07/01/2010, 05/01/2011 

4755-7-10 Required credential to indicate licensure or student status. 

(A) All occupational therapists shall use the following credential following their signature to 

indicate licensure as an occupational therapist: 

(1) "OT/L" if the occupational therapist does not hold current NBCOT certification; or 

(2) "OTR/L" if the occupational therapist holds current NBCOT certification. 

(B) All occupational therapy assistants shall use the following credential following their signature 

to indicate licensure as an occupational therapy assistant: 

(1) "OTA/L" if the occupational therapy assistant does not hold current NBCOT certification; or 

(2) "COTA/L" if the occupational therapy assistant holds current NBCOT certification. 

(C) All student occupational therapists shall use one of the following to indicate student status: 

(1) Student occupational therapist; 

(2) Student OT; or 

(3) S/OT. 

(D) All student occupational therapy assistants shall use one of the following to indicate student 

status: 

http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/119.03
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(1) Student occupational therapy assistant; 

(2) Student OTA; or 

(3) S/OTA. 

Five Year Review (FYR) Dates: 07/01/2015 and 07/01/2020 

Promulgated Under: 119.03  

Statutory Authority: 4755.06  

Rule Amplifies: 4755.06 , 4755.11  

Prior Effective Dates: 5/1/09, 7/1/10, 5/1/14 

4755-7-11 Youth sports concussion and head injury assessment and 

clearance. 

(A) For purposes of this rule: 

(1) "Interscholastic athletics" means an interscholastic extracurricular activity that a school or 

school district sponsors or participates in that includes participants from more than one school or 

school district. 

(2) "Physician" means an individual authorized under Chapter 4731. of the Revised Code to 

practice medicine and surgery or osteopathic medicine and surgery. 

(3) "Youth" means an individual between the ages of four and nineteen who participated in a 

youth sports organization or interscholastic athletics and was removed from practice of 

competition under division (D) of section 3313.539 of the Revised Code or division (D) of 

section 3707.511 of the Revised Code, based on exhibiting signs, symptoms, or behaviors 

consistent with having sustained a concussion or head injury while participating in practice or 

competition. 

(4) "Youth sports organization" has the same meaning as in section 3707.51 of the Revised Code 

and means a public or nonpublic entity that organizes an athletic activity in which the athletes 

are not more than nineteen years of age and are required to pay a fee to participate in the 

athletic activity or whose cost to participate is sponsored by a business or nonprofit organization. 

(5) "Zurich Guidelines" means the consensus statement on concussion in sport: the 4th 

international conference on concussion in sport held in Zurich, November 2012. 

(B) An occupational therapist may assess and clear a youth to return to practice or competition if 

all of the following requirements are met: 

(1) Pursuant to sections 3313.539 and 3707.511 of the Revised Code, the assessment and 

clearance is done: 

(a) In consultation with a physician; 

(b) Pursuant to the referral of a physician; 

(c) In collaboration with a physician; or 
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(d) Under the supervision of a physician. 

(2) The occupational therapist has completed education and training in the detection of 

concussions and/or sports and recreation-related traumatic brain injuries, the clinical features of 

concussions and/or sports and recreation-related traumatic brain injuries, assessment 

techniques, and the principles of safe return to play protocols consistent with the Zurich 

guidelines and/or nationally accepted standards and guidelines consistent with the Zurich 

guidelines. 

(3) The occupational therapist maintains competency through continuing education activities in 

the detection of concussions and/or sports and recreation-related traumatic brain injuries, the 

clinical features of concussions and/or sports and recreation-related traumatic brain injuries, 

assessment techniques, and the principles of safe return to play protocols consistent with the 

Zurich guidelines and/or nationally accepted standards and guidelines consistent with the Zurich 

guidelines. 

(C) The occupational therapy section recommends that occupational therapists who assess and 

clear a youth to return to practice or competition in accordance with this rule do both of the 

following: 

(1) Ensure that a portion of the required twenty contact hours of continuing education focus on 

the items listed in paragraphs (B)(2) and (B)(3) of this rule. 

(2) Use the medical clearance to return to play after suspected concussion form located 

at http://www.healthy.ohio.gov/vipp/concussion.aspx (March 2015). 

Effective: 5/1/2016 

Five Year Review (FYR) Dates: 05/01/2021 

Promulgated Under: 119.03  

Statutory Authority: 3707.521  

Rule Amplifies: 3705.511, 3707.52 , 3707.521 

Chapter 4755-8 Personal Information Systems 

4755-8-01 Personal information systems. 

(A) The occupational therapy section of the Ohio occupational therapy, physical therapy, and 

athletic trainers board shall appoint one employee to be directly responsible for each personal 

information system maintained by the section. Said employee shall: 

(1) Inform all employees who have any responsibility for the operation or maintenance of said 

system or the use of personal information maintained in the system, of the applicable provisions 

of Chapter 1347. of the Revised Code and rules adopted thereunder; and, 

(2) Inform all persons requested to supply personal information for a system whether or not 

he/she is legally required to provide such information; and, 

(3) Restrict the collection, maintenance and use of personal information to only that which is 

necessary and relevant to functions of the occupational therapy section as required or authorized 

by statute, ordinance, code or rule; and, 
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(4) Provide all persons, asked to supply personal information that will be placed in an 

interconnected or combined system, with information relevant to the system, including the 

identity of all other agencies or organizations that have access to the information in the system; 

and, 

(5) Allow a person who is the subject of a record in a personal information system to inspect the 

record pursuant to section 1347.08 of the Revised Code. Upon the request and verification that 

the person requesting access to the record is the subject of information contained in the system, 

the employee shall: 

(a) Inform the person of any personal information in the system of which he/she is the subject; 

(b) Permit the person, or his/her legal guardian, or an attorney who presents a signed 

authorization made by the person, to inspect all personal information in the system of which 

he/she is the subject, except where prohibited by law; 

(c) Inform the person of the uses made of the personal information and identify other users who 

have access to the system; 

(d) Allow a person who wishes to exercise his/her rights as provided by this rule to be 

accompanied by one individual of his/her choice; 

(e) Provide, for a reasonable charge, copies of any personal information the person is authorized 

to inspect. 

(6) Investigate disputes concerning the accuracy, relevance, timeliness or completeness of 

personal information pursuant to section 1347.09 of the Revised Code and paragraph (D) of this 

rule. 

(B) The occupational therapy section shall reprimand in writing any employee who initiates or 

otherwise contributes to any disciplinary or other punitive action taken against another individual 

who brings to the attention of appropriate authorities, the press, or a member of the public, any 

evidence of unauthorized use of any material contained in the personal information system. A 

copy of the reprimand shall be entered in the employee's personal file. 

(C) The occupational therapy section shall monitor its personal information system by: 

(1) Maintaining the personal information system with the accuracy, relevance, timeliness or 

completeness necessary to assure fairness in any determination made by the occupational 

therapy section which is based on information contained in the system; and 

(2) Eliminating unnecessary information from the system. 

(D) The occupational therapy section shall investigate, upon request, the accuracy, relevance, 

timeliness or completeness of personal information, which is disputed by the subject of a record 

contained in the system, within ninety days after receipt of the request; and, 

(1) Notify the disputant of the results of the investigation and any action the occupational 

therapy section intends to take with respect to the disputed information; and, 

(2) Delete any information that the section cannot verify or that finds to be inaccurate; and, 

http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/1347.08
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(3) Permit the disputant, if he/she is not satisfied with the determination made by the 

occupational therapy section, to include within the system: 

(a) A brief statement of his/her position on the disputed information; or, 

(b) A brief statement that he/she finds the information in the system to be inaccurate, irrelevant, 

outdated, or incomplete. 

(4) The occupational therapy section shall maintain a copy of all statements made by a 

disputant. 

(E) The occupational therapy section shall not place personal information into an interconnected 

and combined system, unless said system contributes to the efficiency of the agencies or 

organizations authorized to use the system in implementing programs which are required or 

authorized by law. 

(F) The occupational therapy section shall not use personal information placed into an 

interconnected or combined system by another state or local agency or an organization, unless 

the personal information is necessary and relevant to the performance of a lawful function of the 

section. 

(G) The occupational therapy section shall make available, upon request, all information 

concerning charges made by the section for reproduction of materials contained in its personal 

information system. 

Five Year Review (FYR) Dates: 2/4/2019 and 02/04/2024 

Promulgated Under: 119.03  

Statutory Authority: 4755.06  

Rule Amplifies: 1347.05  

Prior Effective Dates: 08/23/1982, 05/15/1991 

4755-8-02 Definitions. 

For the purposes of the administrative rules promulgated in accordance with section 1347.15 of 

the Revised Code, the following definitions apply: 

(A) "Access" as a noun means an opportunity to copy, view, or otherwise perceive whereas 

"access" as a verb means to copy, view, or otherwise perceive. 

(B) "Acquisition of a new computer system" means the purchase of a "computer system," as 

defined in paragraph (D) of this rule, that is not a computer system currently in place nor one for 

which the acquisition process has been initiated as of the effective date of rule 4755-8-06 of the 

Administrative Code. 

(C) "Board" means the Ohio occupational therapy, physical therapy, and athletic trainers board. 

(D) "Computer system" means a "system," as defined by section 1347.01 of the Revised Code, 

that stores, maintains, or retrieves personal information using electronic data processing 

equipment. 

(E) "Confidential personal information" has the meaning as defined by division (A)(1) of 

section 1347.01 of the Revised Code and identified in Chapter 4755-8 of the Administrative Code 
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that reference the federal or state statutes or administrative rules that make personal 

information maintained by the board confidential. 

(F) "CPI" means confidential personal information, as defined in paragraph (E) of this rule. 

(G) "Employee of the board" means each employee of the board regardless of whether the 

employee holds an elected or appointed office or position within the board. "Employee of the 

board" is limited to the employing state agency. 

(H) "Incidental contact" means contact with the information that is secondary or tangential to 

the primary purpose of the activity that resulted in the contact. 

(I) "Individual" means natural person or the natural person's authorized representative, legal 

counsel, legal custodian, or legal guardian. 

(J) "Information owner" means the individual appointed in accordance with division (A) of 

section 1347.05 of the Revised Code to be directly responsible for a system. 

(K) "Person" means natural person. 

(L) "Personal information" has the same meaning as defined in division (E) of section 1347.01 of 

the Revised Code. 

(M) "Personal information system" means a system that maintains personal information, as those 

terms are defined in section 1347.01 of the Revised Code. System includes manual and 

computer systems. 

(N) "Research" means a methodical investigation into a subject. 

(O) "Routine" means common place, regular, habitual, or ordinary. 

(P) "Routine information that is maintained for the purpose of internal office administration, the 

use of which would not adversely affect a person" as that phrase is used in division (F) of 

section 1347.01 of the Revised Code means personal information relating to the board's 

employees that is maintained by the board for administrative and human resource purposes. 

(Q) "System" has the same meaning as defined by division (F) of section 1347.01 of the Revised 

Code. 

(R) "Upgrade" means a substantial redesign of an existing system for the purpose of providing a 

substantial amount of new application functionality, or application modifications that would 

involve substantial administrative or fiscal resources to implement, but would not include 

maintenance, minor updates and patches, or modifications that entail a limited addition of 

functionality due to changes in business or legal requirements. 

Five Year Review (FYR) Dates: 2/4/2019 and 02/04/2024 

Promulgated Under: 119.03  

Statutory Authority: 1347.15  

Rule Amplifies: 1347.15  

Prior Effective Dates: 01/03/2011, 08/01/2014 

http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/1347.05
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/1347.01
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/1347.01
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/1347.01
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/1347.01
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/119.03
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/1347.15
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/1347.15


Page 61 of 70 
 

4755-8-03 Procedures for accessing confidential personal information. 

For personal information systems, whether manual or computer systems, that contain 

confidential personal information, the board shall do the following: 

(A) Criteria for accessing confidential personal information. 

Personal information systems of the board are managed on a "need-to-know" basis whereby the 

information owner determines the level of access required for an employee of the board to fulfill 

the employee's job duties. The determination of access to confidential personal information shall 

be approved by the employee's supervisor and the information owner prior to providing the 

employee with access to confidential personal information within a personal information system. 

The board shall establish procedures for determining a revision to an employee's access to 

confidential personal information upon a change to that employee's job duties including, but not 

limited to, transfer or termination. Whenever an employee's job duties no longer require access 

to confidential personal information in a personal information system, the employee's access to 

confidential personal information shall be removed. 

(B) Individual's request for a list of confidential personal information. 

Upon the signed written request of any individual for a list of confidential personal information 

about the individual maintained by the board, the board shall do all of the following: 

(1) Verify the identify of the individual by a method that provides safeguards commensurate with 

the risk associated with the confidential personal information; 

(2) Provide to the individual the list of confidential personal information that does not relate to 

an investigation about the individual or is otherwise not excluded from the scope of Chapter 

1347. of the Revised Code; and 

(3) If all information relates to an investigation about that individual, inform the individual that 

the board has no confidential personal information about the individual that is responsive to the 

individual's request. 

(C) Notice of invalid access. 

(1) Upon discovery or notification that confidential personal information of a person has been 

accessed by an employee for an invalid reason, the board shall notify the person whose 

information was invalidly accessed as soon as practical and to the extent known at the time. 

However, the board shall delay notification for a period of time necessary to ensure that the 

notification would not delay or impede an investigation or jeopardize homeland or national 

security. Additionally, the board may delay the notification consistent with any measures 

necessary to determine the scope of the invalid access, including which individuals' confidential 

personal information was invalidly accessed, and to restore the reasonable integrity of the 

system. 

(a) "Investigation" as used in this paragraph means the investigation of the circumstances and 

involvement of an employee surrounding the invalid access of the confidential personal 

information. 

(b) Once the board determines that notification would not delay or impede an investigation, the 

board shall disclose the access to confidential personal information made for an invalid reason to 

the person. 

http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4755-8-03v1
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(2) Notification provided by the board shall inform the person of the type of confidential personal 

information accessed and the date(s) of the invalid access. 

(3) Notification may be made by any method reasonably designed to accurately inform the 

person of the invalid access, including written, electronic, or telephone notice. 

(D) Appointment of a data privacy point of contact. 

The executive director of the board shall designate a employee of the board to serve as the data 

privacy point of contact. The data privacy point of contact shall work with the chief privacy officer 

within the office of information technology to assist the board with both implementation of 

privacy protection for the confidential personal information that the board maintains and 

compliance with section 1347.15 of the Revised Code an the rules adopted pursuant to the 

authority provided by that chapter. 

(E) Completion of a privacy impact assessment. 

The employee appointed as the board's data privacy point of contact, in accordance with 

paragraph (D) of this rule, shall timely complete the privacy impact assessment form developed 

by the office of information technology. 

Five Year Review (FYR) Dates: 2/4/2019 and 02/04/2024 

Promulgated Under: 119.03  

Statutory Authority: 1347.15  

Rule Amplifies: 1347.15  

Prior Effective Dates: 01/03/2011 

4755-8-04 Valid reasons for accessing confidential personal 
information. 

Pursuant to the requirements of division (B)(2) of section 1347.15 of the Revised Code, this rule 

contains a list of valid reasons, directly related to the board's exercise of its powers and duties, 

for which only employees of the agency may access confidential personal information, regardless 

of whether the personal information system is a manual system or a computer system: 

(A) Performing the following functions constitute valid reasons for authorized employees of the 

board to access confidential personal information: 

(1) Responding to a public records request; 

(2) Responding to a request from an individual for the list of CPI the board maintains on that 

individual; 

(3) Administering a constitutional provision or duty; 

(4) Administering a statutory provision or duty; 

(5) Administering an administrative rule provision rule or duty; 

(6) Complying with any state or federal program requirements; 
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(7) Processing or payment of claims or otherwise administering a program with individual 

participants or beneficiaries; 

(8) Auditing purposes; 

(9) Licensure processes; 

(10) Investigation or law enforcement purposes; 

(11) Administrative hearings; 

(12) Litigation, complying with an order of the court, or subpoena; 

(13) Human resource matters, including, but not limited to, hiring, promotion, demotion, 

discharge, salary/compensation issues, leave requests/issues, time card approvals/issues; 

(14) Complying with an executive order or policy; 

(15) Complying with an agency policy or a state administrative policy issued by the department 

of administrative services, the office of budget and management, or other similar state agency; 

or 

(16) Complying with a collective bargaining agreement provision. 

(B) To the extent that the general processes described in paragraph (A) of this rule do not cover 

the following circumstances, for the purpose of carrying out specific duties of the Ohio 

occupational therapy, physical therapy, and athletic trainers board, authorized employees and 

board members would also have valid reasons for accessing CPI in these following 

circumstances: 

(1) Authorized employees and board members may review CPI of individuals who are subject to 

investigation for alleged violations of Chapter 4755. of the Revised Code or Chapters 4755-1 to 

4755-48 of the Administrative Code that may result in licensure discipline or application denial. 

Authorized employees may review CPI of individuals who are not the subject of the investigation, 

but who otherwise may be witnesses with information related to the investigation. CPI may be 

reviewed by employees and members of the board in disciplinary matters that become the 

subject of administrative hearings or board action, including reporting disciplinary actions as 

required by state and federal law. 

(2) Employees assigned to the continuing education audit may review CPI of licensees who are 

being audited for the purpose of carrying out that program. 

(3) Authorized employees and board members may review CPI of persons who hold, are applying 

for, or are renewing a license issued by the board for purposes of verifying licensure, processing 

licensure and renewal applications, determining eligibility for licensure, performing financial 

transactions and reporting related to application processing, or any other activities undertaken 

for the purpose of carrying out that program. 

(4) Employees assigned to fiscal and human resource positions may review CPI of vendors billing 

the board for services rendered and employees of the board for payroll and other human 

resource activities for the purpose of carrying out the board's daily activities. 
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Five Year Review (FYR) Dates: 2/4/2019 and 02/04/2024 

Promulgated Under: 119.03  

Statutory Authority: 1347.15  

Rule Amplifies: 1347.15  

Prior Effective Dates: 01/03/2011 

4755-8-05 Confidentiality statutes. 

The following federal statutes or regulations or state statutes and administrative rules make 

personal information maintained by the agency confidential and identify the confidential personal 

information within the scope of rules promulgated by the board in accordance with 

section 1347.15 of the Revised Code: 

(A) Social security numbers: 5 U.S.C. 552 a(2010), unless the individual was told that the 

number would be disclosed. 

(B) Information and records received or generated by the board pursuant to an investigation: 

division (E) of section 4755.02 of the Revised Code. 

(C) The results of any criminal records checks conducted pursuant to Chapter 4776. of the 

Revised Code: section 4776.04 of the Revised Code. 

(D) Medical records submitted with requests for testing accommodations and/or continuing 

education waiver requests: 5 C.F.R. 164 (2014). 

(E) College and university transcripts: 20 U.S.C. 1232 g(2013). 

Five Year Review (FYR) Dates: 2/4/2019 and 02/04/2024 

Promulgated Under: 119.03  

Statutory Authority: 1347.15  

Rule Amplifies: 1347.15  

Prior Effective Dates: 01/03/2011, 08/01/2014 

4755-8-06 Restricting and logging access to CPI in computerized 

personal information systems. 

For personal information systems that are computer systems and contain confidential personal 

information, the board shall do the following: 

(A) Access restrictions. 

Access to confidential personal information that is kept electronically shall require a password or 

other authentication measure. 

(B) Acquisition of a new computer system. 

When the board acquires a new computer system that stores, manages, or contains confidential 

personal information, the board shall include a mechanism for recording specific access by 

employees of the board to confidential personal information in the system. 

(C) Upgrading existing computer systems. 
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When the board modifies an existing computer system that stores, manages, or contains 

confidential personal information, the board shall make a determination whether the modification 

constitutes an upgrade. Any upgrades to a computer system shall include a mechanism for 

recording specific access by employees of the agency to confidential personal information in the 

system. 

(D) Logging requirements regarding confidential personal information in existing computer 

systems. 

(1) The board shall require employees of the board who access confidential personal information 

within computer systems to maintain a log that records that access. 

(2) Access to confidential personal information is not required to be entered into the log under 

the following circumstances: 

(a) The employee of the board is accessing confidential personal information for official board 

purposes, including research, and the access is not specifically directed toward a specifically 

named individual or a group of specifically named individuals. 

(b) The employee of the board is accessing confidential personal information for routine office 

procedures and the access is not specifically directed toward a specifically named individual or 

group of specifically named individuals. 

(c) The employee of the board comes into incidental contact with confidential personal 

information and the access of the information is not specifically directed toward a specifically 

named individual or a group of specifically named individuals. 

(d) The employee of the board accesses confidential personal information about an individual 

based upon a request made under either of the following circumstances: 

(i) The individual requests confidential personal information about himself/herself. 

(ii) The individual makes a request that the board take some action on that individual's behalf 

and accessing the confidential personal information is required in order to consider or process 

that request. 

(3) For the purposes of this paragraph of this rule, the board may choose the form or forms of 

logging, whether in electronic or paper formats. 

(E) Log management. 

The board shall issue a policy that specifies the following: 

(1) Who shall maintain the log; 

(2) What information shall be captured in the log; 

(3) How the log is to be stored; and 

(4) How long information kept in the log is the be retained. 
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(5) Nothing in this rule limits the board from requiring logging in any circumstance that it deems 

necessary. 

Five Year Review (FYR) Dates: 2/4/2019 and 02/04/2024 

Promulgated Under: 119.03  

Statutory Authority: 1347.15  

Rule Amplifies: 1347.15  

Prior Effective Dates: 01/03/2011 

Chapter 4755-9 Continuing Education 

4755-9-01 Continuing education. 

(A) Pursuant to division (C) of section 4755.06 of the Revised Code, no person shall qualify for 

licensure renewal as an occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant unless the 

license holder has shown to the satisfaction of the occupational therapy section that the license 

holder has completed twenty contact hours of continuing education activities within the two year 

renewal cycle. 

(1) If the license was valid for a period of twelve months or less, the license holder shall 

complete ten contact hours of continuing education within the renewal cycle, including one 

contact hour of ethics, jurisprudence, or cultural competence pursuant to paragraph (A)(5) of 

this rule. The category limits contained in paragraph (B) of this rule do not apply if the license 

was valid for twelve months or less. 

(2) license holders are not required to obtain any continuing education units for the first renewal. 

(3) A "contact hour" is one hour spent in a continuing education activity meeting the 

requirements of this rule. Contact hours exclude refreshment breaks, receptions, social 

gatherings, and meals that do not include an acceptable activity. 

(4) All continuing education activities shall be earned in the two year period immediately 

preceding the thirtieth day of June of the year in which licensure renewal is required. Contact 

hours may not be carried over from one renewal period to the next. 

(5) license holders shall complete at least one contact hour of ethics, jurisprudence, or cultural 

competence education per renewal cycle. The one hour ethics, jurisprudence, or cultural 

competence requirement may be fulfilled by completing an acceptable activity outlined in 

paragraph (B) of this rule that contains at least one hour addressing professional ethics, 

jurisprudence, or cultural competence. In addition, any presentation by the occupational therapy 

section meets the ethics, jurisprudence, or cultural competence requirement. 

(B) Acceptable continuing education activities may include: 

(1) Activities sponsored or approved by the occupational therapy section, the American 

occupational therapy association (AOTA), the Ohio occupational therapy association (OOTA), the 

national board for certification in occupational therapy, or offered by an AOTA approved provider. 

(2) Attending professional workshops, seminars, and/or conferences. There is no limit of contact 

hours in this category. 
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(a) Credit is obtained by attending presentations that have either been sponsored or approved 

by the occupational therapy section, AOTA, OOTA, offered by an AOTA approved provider, or 

which meets the following criteria: 

(i) It contributes directly to professional competency; 

(ii) It relates directly to the clinical practice, management, or education of occupational therapy 

practitioners; and 

(iii) It is conducted by people who have demonstrated expertise in the subject matter of the 

program. 

(b) Prior approval from the section is not required if paragraphs (B)(2)(a)(i) to (B)(2)(a)(iii) of 

this rule have been met. 

(c) Proof of content shall be demonstrated by the original workshop or conference brochure, 

agenda, notes, or materials given to participants during the presentations. 

(d) Copies of continuing education unit certificates or other original documents indicating credits 

awarded may also be used as verification of participation. If no other form of verification is 

available, license holders may obtain from the board verification of participation forms, which are 

to be signed by each presenter at the conclusion of each presentation. If a presentation is made 

by a panel of people, only one signature is required. 

(3) Presentations of occupational therapy programs, workshops, or seminars. The presentation 

shall be to health or education professionals and/or students, be at least one contact hour in 

length and relate to the clinical practice, management, or education of occupational therapy 

practitioners. Two contact hours will be awarded for each hour of presentation. A maximum of 

eight contact hours may be earned in this category. Proof of presentation is the workshop, 

conference, or seminar contract, or the brochure, agenda, or other printed materials describing 

content and audience. Continuing education credit will not be awarded for subsequent 

presentations of the same material. 

(4) Preparation to teach a clinical course in occupational therapy. The course shall be taught in 

an occupational therapy program accredited by the accreditation council for occupational therapy 

education (ACOTE). Credit will only be awarded for preparation for a new course or substantive 

changes to an existing course. One contact hour will be awarded for each hour of preparation. A 

maximum of eight contact hours may be earned in this category. Proof of presentation is the 

course syllabus or other printed materials describing the content and goals of the course. 

(5) Publications of books, articles, or films related to clinical practice, management, or education 

of occupational therapy. A maximum of five contact hours for each published article, ten contact 

hours for a published book, five contact hours for a chapter in a book, and ten contact hours for 

a film may be earned in these categories. Co-authorship is acceptable. The item shall be 

published within the current renewal cycle. Proof of completion is the published article, title page 

of the book, or film. There is no limit of contact hours in this category. 

(6) Undergraduate or graduate courses. A maximum of ten contact hours may be earned per 

completed course. Courses shall be related to the management, practice, or education of 

occupational therapy. Proof of completion is an unofficial college or university transcript. An 

official college or university transcript may be requested at the discretion of the occupational 
therapy section. Proof of content is the catalog description. There is no limit of contact hours in 

this category. 
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(7) Supervision of fieldwork. 

(a) Continuing education credit can be earned by supervising level I students. One contact hour 

may be earned for each student supervised, with a maximum of six contact hours per renewal 

cycle. 

(b) Continuing education credit can be earned by supervising level II students. Six contact hours 

may be earned per student for eight weeks of supervision. Eight contact hours may be earned 

per student for twelve weeks of supervision. There is no limit of contact hours for level II 

supervision. 

(c) A license holder shall be a signing rater on the American occupational therapy association 

fieldwork performance evaluation (FWPE) to be eligible for continuing education credit. If more 

than one license holder is a signing rater on the FWPE, the contact hours earned shall be divided 

between the signing raters. 

(d) Proof of student supervision is a certificate of supervision from the student's school. 

(8) Self-study. Formal study packages, such as printed text, multi-media, or internet based 

activities, related to the clinical practice, management, or education of occupational therapy are 

acceptable. There is no limit of contact hours in this category. Proof of completion is the 

certificate of completion and/ or a copy of the post test results. 

(9) Distance learning. Credit for distance learning requires that there be opportunity for 

interaction with the program presenter and that the content is related to the clinical practice, 

management, or education of occupational therapy. The agenda and certificate of participation 

are required to verify completion. There is no limit of contact hours in this category. 

(10) Apprenticeships. Supervised clinical experience aimed at developing specialized skills in 

occupational therapy is acceptable. Five contact hours shall be credited for each forty hour week. 

There is no limit to the amount of contact hours that can be earned under this category. Proof of 

completion is a signed letter from the clinical supervisor describing length and type of education 

experiences and an evaluation of the occupational therapist's or occupational therapy assistant's 

performance. 

Apprenticeships shall be served under the supervision of a licensed occupational therapist whose 

license is in good standing and who has demonstrated expertise in the practice of occupational 

therapy or other people who have demonstrated expertise in specialized techniques as approved 

by the occupational therapy section. 

(11) Research projects. A maximum of ten contact hours may be earned in this category. The 

hours will be granted only for completed, published or unpublished research projects related to 

the theory, clinical practice, management, or education of occupational therapy. Proof of 

completion is the published article or unpublished manuscript. 

(12) Informal independent study. One contact hour will be given for reading an evidence based 

book chapter or research journal article relating to the clinical practice, management, or 

education of occupational therapy practitioners and identifying how the information presented 

can be applied to one's own practice, management, or education situation. Proof of completion is 

a copy of the article's title page and the first page, and a written report summarizing the 

information and outlining how it can be applied by the license holder. One hour will be awarded 
for each chapter/article. A maximum of four contact hours may be earned in this category per 

renewal cycle. 
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(13) Jurisprudence examination. One contact hour may be earned for completing and passing 

the Ohio occupational therapy jurisprudence examination. This contact hour may be utilized only 

once per renewal cycle for continuing education credit. Proof of completion is the graded 

examination. This contact hour may be used to fulfill the ethics, jurisprudence, or cultural 

competence requirement established in paragraph (A)(5) of this rule. 

(14) Mentorship. Continuing education credit can be earned by mentoring a student completing a 

graduate level research/capstone project at an ACOTE accredited entry-level or a post-

professional occupational therapist education program. One contact hour may be earned for 

every eighty hours of mentorship completed, with a maximum of four contact hours per renewal 

cycle. Proof of mentorship will be a certificate from the student's school and a time log 

documenting the mentor's activities and the time spent completing those activities. Faculty 

members mentoring students enrolled in the faculty member's own program are not eligible for 

continuing education credit for mentorship. 

(15) Volunteer services to indigent and uninsured persons pursuant to section 4745.04 of the 

Revised Code. To qualify under this rule, volunteer services shall: 

(a) Be provided at a free clinic or other non-profit organization that offers health care services 

based on eligibility screenings identifying the client as an "indigent and uninsured person" as that 

term is defined in division (A)(7) of section 2305.234 of the Revised Code. 

(b) Be documented in writing in the form of a certificate or a written statement on letterhead 

from an administrative official at the organization where services were rendered, specifying at a 

minimum the license holder's name, license number, date(s) of qualifying volunteer services, 

number of hours of services, and describing the services that were rendered. 

(c) Not be credited for license holders in a paid position at the organization at which the services 

are rendered. 

(d) Be occupational therapy or occupational therapy assistant services provided in compliance 

with the Revised Code and Administrative Code. 

(e) Be credited as one hour of CE for each sixty minutes spent providing services as a volunteer, 

not to exceed four hours of the total biennial CE requirement. 

(f) Not count toward the one contact hour of ethics, jurisprudence, or cultural competence 

education per renewal cycle as required by paragraph (A)(5) of this rule. 

(16) Competency assessment or knowledge/skills assessment activities. Credit for completion of 

competency assessment or knowledge/skill assessment activities, or both, completed either 

online or in person. A certificate of completion or similar document that includes the participant's 

name, activity, date, contact hours awarded, and sponsoring organization shall be submitted as 

proof of completion. 

(C) Continuing education credit will not be granted to standard employer required annual 

competency training, such as CPR, blood-born pathogens, or HIPAA. 

(D) The occupational therapy section shall conduct an audit of the continuing education records 

of not less than five per cent of the license holders each renewal year. 

http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4745.04
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/2305.234
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(1) License holders chosen for audit shall submit to the board by the date specified by the board 

copies of all records and documentation of the continuing education activities used to meet the 

requirements of paragraph (A) of this rule. 

(2) Failure to provide proof of the required number of continuing education hours, in the 

appropriate categories, for the specified time period will result in the commencement of 

disciplinary action. 

(3) Failure to respond to or acknowledge receipt of an audit notice will result in the 

commencement of disciplinary action. 

(E) An occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant license shall not be renewed 

unless the license holder certifies that the person completed the required number of continuing 

education hours specified in paragraph (A) of this rule. 

A license holder who falsifies a renewal application may be disciplined by the occupational 

therapy section for violating section 4755.11 of the Revised Code. 

Effective: 10/19/2018 

Five Year Review (FYR) Dates: 8/2/2018 and 10/19/2023 

Promulgated Under: 119.03  

Statutory Authority: 4755.06, 4745.04  

Rule Amplifies: 4745.04 , 4755.06, 4755.10  

Prior Effective Dates: 01/12/1996, 08/21/2000, 09/12/2001, 07/01/2004, 05/01/2005, 

05/01/2006, 05/01/2007, 05/01/2008, 05/01/2009, 07/01/2010, 05/01/2011, 05/01/2012, 

05/01/2013, 07/01/2015 

4755-9-02 Waivers; exemptions for continuing education. 

In individual cases involving disability, illness, or undue hardship, the occupational therapy 

section may grant waivers of the continuing education requirements, or extensions of time within 

which to fulfill these requirements not to exceed two calendar years. 

(A) To apply for a waiver or extension due to undue hardship, the licensee must submit a signed 

letter to the section describing the hardship no later than April 1 of the renewal year. 

(B) To apply for a waiver or extension due to disability or illness, the licensee must obtain, 

complete, and submit the waiver or extension form to the occupational therapy section no later 

than April 1 of the renewal year. This form or appropriate letter must also be signed by a 

licensed physician in good standing verifying that the licensee suffers from a disability or illness. 

(C) The deadlines in paragraphs (A) and (B) of this rule may be waived at the discretion of the 

occupational therapy section. 

Five Year Review (FYR) Dates: 12/20/2018 and 12/20/2023 

Promulgated Under: 119.03  

Statutory Authority: 4755.06  

Rule Amplifies: 4755.06 , 4755.10  

Prior Effective Dates: 05/15/1991, 08/21/2000, 07/01/2004, 05/01/2006 
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