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Criminal Records Check Required for Initial Licensure 
Section 4755.70 of the Ohio Revised Code requires all individuals applying for a license issued by the Ohio Occupational 

Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Athletic Trainers Board to submit fingerprints for a criminal records check completed by the Ohio 

Bureau of Criminal Identification and Investigation (BCI) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI). 

 

Instructions for Individuals Residing in Ohio or within 75 miles of Ohio 
Applicants residing in Ohio or within 75 miles of Ohio are required to utilize “WebCheck” to electronically submit their fingerprints to BCI. 

The Board will typically receive the results of a criminal records check submitted via “WebCheck” within 7 to 10 business days. In addition 

to the $22 BCI fee and the $25.25 FBI fee, the electronic fingerprinting company or law enforcement agency may charge its own fee to 

process the fingerprints. 

 

Since the law requires applicants to submit a records check completed by both BCI and the FBI, you must use the services of a “WebCheck” 

vendor. The sheriff’s offices in most of Ohio’s 88 counties participate in “Webcheck.” A list of other “WebCheck” vendors in Ohio, arranged 

by county, is available online at: 

http://www.ohioattorneygeneral.gov/Business/Services-for-Business/WebCheck/Webcheck-Community Listing  
 

You need both the BCI and FBI records check for initial licensure. By law, the Board cannot complete the processing of your application 

until it receives the background check reports from BCI and FBI. 

 

Steps for “WebCheck” 
1. Identify a “WebCheck” vendor that has (BCI & FBI) listed after the vendor’s name. 

2. Tell the “Webcheck” vendor to select “OT, PT, and Athletic Trainers Board” from the Direct Copy dropdown list at the 

Webcheck workstation. 

3. Request both a BCI and FBI criminal records check. 

4. List the reason fingerprinted as: Required for licensing per ORC 4755.70 

5. Agency Code: 1AB002 (if requested) 

6. Submit your fee directly to the “WebCheck” vendor. Do not send your fingerprints or fee to the Board. 
 

Bring the following information with you to the Webcheck Vendor:  

(1)  this notice; (2) a valid form of photo identification, and (3) payment, in the appropriate amount and form, payable to the vendor. 
 

Instructions for Individuals Residing more than 75 miles from Ohio 

You must contact the Board at board@otptat.ohio.gov or 614-466-3774 to request that the Board mail you the appropriate forms to have 

your fingerprints taken at a local law enforcement agency. Please note, the Board will not mail these cards until after you submit an initial 

application for licensure. In addition, it takes the FBI 3 to 4 months to process ink rolled fingerprints. Since Ohio does not have temporary 

licensure, please take this delay into account. You may also elect to physically come to Ohio to have your fingerprints taken electronically to 

minimize the time it takes to process your application. 
 

Additional Information for Individuals Who Previously Submitted Fingerprints to BCI 

When an individual submits fingerprints to BCI for a criminal records check, BCI will keep the fingerprints on file for twelve (12) months. If 

less than one year has passed since the initial submission of fingerprints to BCI, the applicant can request that BCI run another check on the 

same fingerprints and run a new criminal record check report to be sent to the Board. In this situation, BCI charges the applicant $8. You 

will need to provide BCI with the information identified above in the “Steps for WebCheck” section of this notice. If more than 12 months 

passed since you submitted your fingerprints to the BCI, you will need to submit new fingerprints and follow the steps identified in the first 

page of this notice.  

 

https://www.ohioattorneygeneral.gov/Business/Services-for-Business/WebCheck/Webcheck-Community-Listing
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This service only applies for the BCI check. Even if you previously submitted your fingerprints to the FBI, you will need to identify a 

“WebCheck” vendor that has (BCI & FBI) listed after the vendor’s name, submit new fingerprints, and request that the FBI criminal records 

check results be sent directly to the Board. You will need to bring this notice with you to the “WebCheck” vendor but will only need to 

request the FBI check. 
 

Frequently Asked Questions 
 

Question: I recently had an FBI records check completed for another purpose. Can I just use those results to meet the 

requirements of the Board?   Answer: No. The law requires that an applicant for an initial license from a licensing agency 

shall submit a request to the bureau of criminal identification and investigation for a criminal records check of the applicant. 

Upon completion of the criminal records check, the superintendent of BCI shall report the results of the check, and any 

information the FBI provides, to the licensing agency identified in the request for a criminal records check. 
 

Question: How much time will this add to the licensure process?   Answer: The Board typically receives the criminal 

records check results approximately 7-10 days after you are electronically fingerprinted. For out-of-state applicants 

completing the ink-rolled fingerprints, it takes the FBI 3-4 months to process the fingerprints and submit the results of the 

criminal records check to the Board. 
 

Question: What happens if I have a criminal history reported to the Board?   Answer: The Board will review the records 

related to the criminal history and determine if the offenses identified make you ineligible for licensure in Ohio. 
 

Question: Will I need to submit a criminal record check to renew my license every two years?   Answer: No. The records 

check requirement does not apply to the biennial renewal process or to individuals reinstating an expired Ohio license. 
 


