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Revised July 2020 

The restoration application applies to any occupational therapy practitioner who is seeking to restore a current escrowed 

Ohio occupational therapy license. Please review rule 4755-3-05 of the Ohio Administrative Code for the restoration 

requirements.  

 

To restore your license in the year it expires, the completed restoration application must be received by the Board no later 

than April 30.  

 

• If your license is restored between January 1 and March 31 of your expiration year, the restored license will expire 

that June 30.  

• If your license is restored between April 1 and April 30 of your expiration year, the restored license will expire on 

June 30 of the following expiration year.  

• If you do not submit a completed restoration application by April 30 of your expiration year, you must renew your 

license in escrow and submit a restoration application after July 1. If you do not renew in escrow, your license will 

expire on June 30 and you will be required to submit a reinstatement application. 

 

If your application remains incomplete for one year from the date the Board receives it, your file will be closed. 

 

Each restoration applicant must demonstrate proof of continuing education (CE) completion.  Any CE credits used to restore 

your license to active status may not be used to fulfill the continuing education renewal requirements. 

 

You may not practice occupational therapy in Ohio until your license is restored.  Please note all restored licenses expire on 

the same date that the escrowed license was set to expire.   

To restore your Ohio license, you must complete all of the following: 

(This form and instruction sheet is for your personal records.) 

Application Fee 

❑ The application fee is non-refundable.  Please submit a cashier’s check, business check, or money order made payable 

to “Ohio Treasurer of State” for $80.00.  To pay by credit card, please submit a completed “Credit Card Payment 

Authorization Form”.  Personal checks and cash will not be accepted. 

Jurisprudence Examination 

❑ You must score a 90% or better to pass the examination.  Please download the Ohio Occupational Therapy Laws and 

Rules and licensure law test from the Board website. 

Continuing Education 

❑ You must provide proof of completion of 20 hours of continuing education, including one hour of ethics, in the two 

years prior to the date you are requesting the restoration.  Please provide copies of your certificates of completion.  

Originals received will not be returned. 

Additional Requirements for Individuals Who Have Not Practiced Occupational Therapy for Five or More Years 

Applicants for restoration of an escrowed license who have not engaged in the practice of occupational therapy for five or 

more years, prior to the date the individual applies to the Section for escrow restoration may be subject to additional 

requirements outlined by the Occupational Therapy Section. The Section may consider, but is not limited to, the following 

additional requirements: (1) Competency-based performance appraisals; (2) Mentorship; (3) Additional continuing 

education; (4) Extended coursework; (5) Professional development plan; and (6) Clinical examination (certification 

exam). Please refer to the “Out of Practice Reference Guide” for additional information. 

 



The Occupational Therapy Section 

Ohio Occupational Therapy, Physical 
Therapy, and Athletic Trainers Board 
77 South High Street, 16th Floor 
Columbus, Ohio 43215-6108 

Phone (614) 466-3774    Fax (614) 995-0816 
Website: http://otptat.ohio.gov 
Email: board@otptat.ohio.gov 

OHIO OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY 
RESTORATION APPLICATION 

(Select one) 
 Occupational Therapist

 Occupational Therapy Assistant

INSTRUCTIONS, PLEASE READ: 
A. Complete all relevant categories (type or print in ink). 
B. Fee must be submitted with application.  

ALL LICENSURE APPLICATION FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE 

**PLEASE READ:  Provision of your social security number is mandatory and may be provided for child support enforcement purposes (ORC 
3123.50) and for reporting requirements to the Federal Healthcare and Integrity Protection Data Bank (42 USC 132a-7e, 5 USC 552a, 45CFR pt. 
61). In compliance with section 1347.05 (E) of the Revised Code, you are notified that failure to supply the information requested in this 
application may result in a denial of the application.

Section A: IDENTIFICATION INFORMATION 
First Name Middle Name Last Name Maiden Name 

Home Phone Number (with Area Code) Work or Alternate Phone Number (with Area Code) 

Permanent Mailing Address 

City State Zip County

**Social Security Number Email Address (Optional) 

Date Of Birth (mm/dd/yyyy) Place Of Birth (City and State) 

Color of Hair Color of Eyes Gender 
 Male   Female

According to rule 4755-3-08 of the Ohio Administrative Code, you must inform the Occupational Therapy Section in writing of any change 
of name, address, or employment within thirty days after the change. 

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY 
Application  
Received 
Amount $: 

Payment Details: 

Batch Number 

OCC 0011 (Revised July 2020)
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Section B: EDUCATION 

Entry Level Occupational Therapy Education 
Name and Location (City, State) Certificate/ 

Degree 
Dates Attended (MO/YR) 
      From            To 

Other Post High School Education  
Please list all post-professional education and/or other colleges attended. 

Name and Location (City, State) Certificate/ 
Degree 

Dates Attended (MO/YR) 
      From            To 

Section C: EXPERIENCE 
(Starting with present position, list chronologically your work experience during the past ten years. Please attach a separate 
page if necessary.) 
DATES (MO/YR) JOB TITLE, TYPE OF PRACTICE AND 

AVERAGE WORK HOURS PER WEEK NAME AND ADDRESS OF EMPLOYER 
PERFORMED 
OT DUTIES IN 

OHIO Start End 

YES NO 

YES NO 

YES NO 

YES NO 

YES NO 

YES NO 



Occupational Therapy Restoration Application  
Page 3 of 4 

Section E: LICENSURE HISTORY 
Do you currently hold or have ever held a license, certification, or registration to practice occupational therapy or another 
healthcare profession in this state and/or another state.    YES   NO    
If YES, Please complete the table below. 
Initial license to practice as an  Occupational Therapist      Occupational Therapy Assistant issued by which State? 

STATE LICENSE #  ISSUE DATE EXPIRATION DATE 

Section F: BACKGROUND QUESTIONS 
Answer the following questions by initialing in the appropriate space at the right.  
NOTE: Be advised that you are under a continuing obligation to supplement your answers to these questions 
should any answers change following the submission of this application. 

YES NO 

1. Have you ever been convicted of, found guilty of, pled guilty to or received treatment in lieu of conviction for
a felony and/or any offense involving moral turpitude in Ohio, another state, or a US territory? 

2. Have you ever been adjudged by a court, in Ohio, another state, or a US territory to be incompetent?

3. Have you ever been denied licensure to practice as an occupational therapist or occupational therapy
assistant, or another healthcare profession in Ohio, another state, or US territory? 
4. Have you ever been disciplined in any state or US territory in which you have ever held a license to practice
as an occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant, or any other healthcare profession? 
5. Have you used drugs, narcotics, or alcohol to the extent that it impairs you ability to practice occupational
therapy or another healthcare profession? 
6. Have you ever been convicted of a misdemeanor when the act that constituted the misdemeanor occurred
during the practice of occupational therapy? 
If the answer to any questions is "yes", please provide a written statement explaining the incident(s) and what state it occurred in and 
attach supporting documentation including but not limited to: court records, police records, and/or documentation from other state 
licensing boards. .    If you have been convicted of a felony, you must provide “certified “copies of the following court documents: 
Indictment, Plea Entry, Disposition, Sentencing Entry, Terms of Parole or Probation, Parole or Probation and Release/Discharge 

SECTION G: ANTICIPATED PLACE OF EMPLOYMENT 
If unknown at the time this application is completed, please put "Unknown") 
Facility Name Employment Starting Date 

Facility Physical Address (include City, State, and Zip) Title/Position 

Name of Supervising Occupational Therapist         License Number Phone Number w/Area Code 
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SECTION H: CERTIFICATION OF APPLICANT 
The section must be sworn to in the presence of a Notary Public or an officer authorized to administer oaths. 

I, _______________________________________________________________, certify that I am the person referred to in this 
application and that the foregoing statements are true in every respect, and that the attached photograph is a true likeness of myself. 

I hereby authorize all my references; educational institutions; employers; business; professional organizations and associates - past, 
present, and future- to release to the Ohio Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Athletic Trainers Board any information 
requested by the Board in connection with the processing of this application or subsequent licensure. 

In accordance with the Revised Code, section 1347.05(E) you are notified that failure to supply the information requested on the 
application may result in denial of the application. 

I hereby certify to the Occupational Therapy Section that I am not presently functioning and will not function as an Occupational 
Therapist or Occupational Therapy Assistant or use any titles or initials to indicate or imply that I am licensed in Ohio to perform 
occupational therapy services until I receive a full license from the OT/PT/AT Board. 

I further certify that if I accept employment as an OT/OTA, I will only perform duties in accordance with the laws and rules 
governing occupational therapy practice in the State of Ohio. 

I understand the Board is authorized to investigate persons whom they have reason to believe are unlawfully practicing occupational 
therapy.  

I further understand that pursuant to section 4755.11 of the Ohio Revised Code, the Occupational Therapy Section may suspend, 
revoke, or refuse to issue or renew the license of an individual who has violated any of the laws and rules governing occupational 
therapy in the State of Ohio. 

__________________________________________ 
Signature of Applicant                                           Date 

SECTION I: Notary Public please complete the following: 

Subscribed and sworn to in my presence this __________ day of ____________________, Year_________________. 

Signature of Notary Date Commission Expires 

Return This Document To: 
Ohio OT PT AT Board 

77 South High Street, 16th Floor 

Columbus, OH 43215‐6108 

 Notary Seal 



Ohio Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Athletic Trainers Board 
77 South High Street, 16th Floor Governor
Columbus, Ohio 43215-6108 Mike DeWine

Executive Director 
Missy Anthony

614-466-3774 (phone) ● 614-995-0816 (fax) ● board@otptat.ohio.gov ● http://otptat.ohio.gov 

Military Request Application Addendum 
(This form applies to members of the armed forces, veterans, and spouses of members of the armed forces/veterans) 

Please provide the First and Last Name and Social 
Security Number of the individual applying for the Ohio 
license: 

1. Have you served in the U.S. military?
Yes 

No 

2. Has your spouse served in the U.S. military?
Yes 

No 

If you answered No to both question 1 and 2, you are not eligible for military benefits. 

3. If you answered Yes to question 2, please provide
your spouse’s First and Last Name:

4. In which branch of the military did you/your spouse
serve?

5. Please provide the military service dates:

Military Service From: 

Military Service To: 

6. Are you still active in the military or reserves?
Yes 

No 

7. Were you discharged under honorable conditions?
Yes 

No 

8. For which profession are you seeking a license? OT | OTA | PT | PTA | AT 

In addition to this application addendum, you must also submit the appropriate licensure 
application and a copy of your/your spouse’s DD214 form or proof of current service. Please contact 
your County Veterans Services Office (1-877-OHIO-VET) or the Ohio Department of Veterans 
Services (www.ohiovet.gov) if you need assistance in obtaining a copy of the DD214 form. 

You can access the licensure application at http://otptat.ohio.gov. 

(Revised June 2014) 



State of Ohio 
Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Athletic Trainers Board 

Credit Card Payment Authorization Form 

Credit Card Payment Authorization Form 

Revised March 14, 2014 

Credit card payments may be mailed, faxed, emailed, or phoned in to the Board office. This document will be 

shredded after your payment is processed. 

Section I: Provide Credit Card Information 

Card Holder Name: (Print First and Last Name)

Mailing Address, including City, State, and Zip Code:

Phone Number w/ Area Code:  Email Address (for receipt): 

Credit Card Type:  

    Master Card          Visa 

Credit Card Number

Credit Card Expiration Date  CVV2/CID# (The three digit number on back of card):  Payment Amount ($0.00):

Section II: Provide Payment Information 

Name of Applicant, if different than card holder name (Print First and Last Name): 

Specify License Type: 

      OT         OTA         PT        PTA         AT   

License Number  (i.e. AT.000000) if applicable: ______________________________ 

Payment for: 

 Examination Application     Endorsement Application    e  Reinstatement Application       Restoration Application 

  Renewal        CE Application        Duplicate Wall Certificate      License Verification      Fine 

Signature   Date 

Return This Document To: 

Ohio OT PT AT Board 

77 South High Street, 16th Floor  

Columbus, OH 43215‐6108 

Phone (614) 466‐3774 

Fax (614) 995‐0816 

Email board@otptat.ohio.gov 



State of Ohio 
Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Athletic Trainers Board 

Occupational Therapy 

Continuing Education Reporting Form 

OT/OTA Continuing Education Reporting Form 
Page 1 of 2 

Revised March 2008 

This continuing education  reporting  form must be completed by any person who  is applying  to  reinstate or  restore an 

Ohio  license. Occupational Therapist  and Occupational  therapy  assistants  are  required  to  complete  a minimum  of  20 

contact hours. Continuing education activities must be fulfilled for the two year period  immediately preceding the date 

the  Board  receives  the  reinstatement  application.  Please  provide  copies  of  your  certificates  of  completion.   Original 

certificates will not be returned. If necessary, please attach an additional sheet of paper. 

Full Name ___________________________________________________        License Number: OT/OTA_____________ 

Ethics (At least 1 hour is REQUIRED) 

Name of Ethics Course/Activity  Date  # of Hours 

A. Attending professional workshops, seminars and/or conferences 

B. Publications of books, articles or films 

C. Undergraduate or graduate courses 

D. Distance learning 

E. Apprenticeships 

F. Self study 

(There are NO maximums for any of these categories) 

Name of Course/Activity  Date  # of Hours 
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Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Athletic Trainers Board 

Occupational Therapy 

Continuing Education Reporting Form 
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Full Name ___________________________________________________        License Number: OT/OTA_____________ 

A. Presentations of occupational therapy programs, workshops, or seminars 

B. Preparation to teach a clinical course in occupational therapy 

C. Supervision of fieldwork 

(A maximum of 8 hours may be earned in each of these categories) 

Name of Course/Activity  Date  # of Hours 

Research Projects 

(A maximum of 10 hours may be earned in this category) 

Name of Research Project/Activity  Date  # of Hours 

Informal Independent Study 

(A maximum of 4 hours may be earned in this category) 

Name of Informal Independent Study/Activity  Date  # of Hours 

Applicant’s Signature   Date 

Return This Document To: 

Ohio OT PT AT Board 

77 South High Street, 16th Floor 

Columbus, OH 43215‐6108 

(614) 995‐0816 (Fax) 



State of Ohio 
Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Athletic Trainers Board 
Occupational Therapy Section 

Occupational Therapy Jurisprudence Examination Instructions 

The Ohio OT Jurisprudence Exam is open book. You will need to download the Ohio Occupational Therapy 
Practice Act (Laws and Rules) before beginning this examination. 

1. You will need to create a user profile to access the online Ohio OT Jurisprudence Exam. To create a user
profile, click on the "New User" link in the upper right hand corner of the page accessed at the link below and 
complete the required information. The accuracy of this information will help ensure that the Board can match 
your exam results to your license application and/or your Ohio license. 

2. On the Course Catalog page, select the box in the Enroll column next to the appropriate exam and click on the
"Order now" button. 

* Please select the "Ohio OT Jurisprudence Exam For Licensure Applicants" on the Course Catalog page
if you are taking the exam as part of your licensure application. 

* Please select the "Ohio OT Jurisprudence Exam for CE Credit" on the Course Catalog page if you are
taking the exam for continuing education credit. 

There is no additional fee to take the Jurisprudence Exam. 

3. Once you complete the exam, you will see your score and will be prompted to send transcripts. The
Board will automatically receive a copy of the transcript that you send to yourself. Make sure to: (1) check 
the box to add the course to your transcript; (2) enter your email address in the "E-mail Transcripts to:" 
box; (3) preview the transcript; and (4) send the transcript. 

Please do not forget to request that the transcript be sent. 

The Ohio OT Jurisprudence Exam can be accessed at https://ohiootptatboard.myicourse.com. 

Occupational Therapy Jurisprudence Examination Instructions 
Page 1 of 1 

Revised June 2014 

https://ohiootptatboard.myicourse.com/


Revised July 2020 

 

 

Occupational Therapy Section 

Out of Practice Reference Guide 

 

Additional requirements for individuals who have been out of practice for five or more years 

may include: (1) Additional continuing education; (2) Competency-based performance 

appraisals; (3) Mentorship; (4) Professional development plan; (5) Extended coursework; and (6) 

Retaking and passing the NBCOT certification examination. 

 

Out of practice is defined as “being actively engaged in the practice of occupational therapy for 

fewer than two hundred fifty (250) hours over the five year period prior to the date the applicant 

submits the licensure application. 

 

OT/OTA Out of practice for 5 years or more 

 

Step 1:  

1. Completion of AOTA CE Course titled  

“Exploring the Occupational Therapy Practice Framework: Domain and Process, 3rd 

Edition Short Course” 

Step 2: 

Primary Option: Retake NBCOT Certification Examination within 6 months of application 

submission. Full, unrestricted license issued upon passage of NBCOT exam. 

 

Alternate Option #1: Issuance of Limited License Followed by Supervised Practice:  

a) 320 hours/first 6 months of licensure; 8 hours of supervision per week must be direct 

supervision. 

b) AOTA Fieldwork Performance Evaluation at midterm and final rating/ must be 

completed by supervising OT within 30 days upon completion of supervised practice 

hours. 

c) Log of supervised clinical practice, which shall include the date, signature of the 

primary/non-primary supervising occupational therapist/occupational therapy assistant, and 

number of hours supervised.  

d) The deadline to complete the terms of the limited license agreement is 12 months 

from the date of the limited license letter. 

 

Alternate Option #2: Completion of the Texas Lone Star College Occupational Therapy 

Practitioner Reentry Program: 

a) You can read more about the program: https://www.lonestar.edu/Tomball-OT-

ReEntry.htm 

b) The course of study covers eight weeks of online instruction which includes one 

course in a preferred practice area and one management course followed by four 

weeks of supervised clinical practice. 

 

 

The Section will take into consideration the length of time the individual practiced prior to not 

working, prior practice settings, specialties/certifications maintained while practicing, and/or 

how the individual kept up with the practice of occupational therapy while they were out of 

practice. 

 



Ohio Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Athletic Trainers Board 
77 South High Street, 16th Floor Governor
Columbus, Ohio 43215-6108 Mike DeWine

Executive Director 
Missy Anthony

614-466-3774 (phone) ● 614-995-0816 (fax) ● board@otptat.ohio.gov ● http://otptat.ohio.gov 

Requirements for Applicants with Felony Convictions 

If you are applying for licensure in the State of Ohio and you were convicted of a felony, you must 
provide the Board with a signed statement describing the details of the event(s) that led to the felony 
conviction and certified copies of the following court records: 

1. Indictment
2. Plea Entry
3. Disposition
4. Sentencing Entry
5. Terms of Parole or Probation
6. Parole or Probation Release/Discharge

Failure to provide these documents will result in a delay in the processing of your applications. If you 
have any questions about this requirement, please contact the Board at 614-466-3774 or 
board@otptat.ohio.gov. 
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