
Ohio OTPTAT Board 
Athletic Trainers 

Endorsement Application Instructions 
 

The endorsement application applies to any individual seeking licensure in Ohio who 

 holds a current, valid license to practice as an athletic trainer in another state or U.S. territory AND  

 has NEVER held a license to practice athletic training in Ohio  

You may not practice athletic training in Ohio until you receive a license.   

REQUIRED DOCUMENTS 

Applicants are required to electronically upload documents to apply for licensure.  

Document to Upload with your online application 

Non-refundable application fee of $100.00. Pay fee with online application. Acceptable forms of payment are: Master Card, Visa, or 
Discover. 

Athletic Trainers Jurisprudence Exam Transcript Review the Ohio AT Practice Act. Then register on myicourse website to access 
the Ohio AT Jurisprudence Exam. From the myicourse course catalog, select the Ohio AT Jurisprudence Exam for Licensure 
Applicants and request that a transcript be sent. The minimum passing score is 90% or better. 

Official Transcript(s) Upon program completion, applicant will request the official transcript from the academic program. The 
applicant is required to upload the official transcript(s) with online application. Read the Athletic Training Course Requirements and 
show proof of course areas listed on the appropriate Education Check List. If you have graduated from a CAATE accredited athletic 
training education program on or after January 1, 2004, you are not required to submit the Education Checklist. An official transcript is 
sufficient. Applicants do not need to mail in uploaded forms.  Retain hard copy for your records. 

Verification of Licensure You must provide an official verification from any jurisdiction in which you hold or have ever held a license, 
certification, or registration to practice athletic training or another health care profession. Jurisdiction means any state, U.S. territory, or 
foreign country. Upload the completed form with online application. If submitting verifications from multiple states, please 
scan all verifications into one pdf document, then upload one attachment to the online application. 

Official Verification of BOC Certification You are required to contact the Board of Certification (BOC) to request an Official 
Electronic Verification. Upload the BOC Certification Verification with the online application. Your BOC Certification pocket id card will 
not be accepted. Retain hard copy for your records. 

Applicants with Felony Convictions Please review the Requirements for Applicants with Felony Convictions document on the 
Board’s website for information about information that should be submitted to expedite the processing of your application. Upload 
documentation to the online application. 

 

These documents are required to be sent directly to the Ohio OTPTAT Board. 

Documents that must be sent directly to the Board 

Criminal records check Please review the BCI/FBI Criminal Records Check Instructions document on the Board’s website for 
additional information. Please note that if your license is not issued within 6 months of the date the Board receives the criminal records 
check results, you will be required to submit new criminal records checks. 

 

TO APPLY 

Complete the online application through the Ohio elicense portal: https://elicense.ohio.gov 

Failure to supply required information may result in denial of the application. 

If your application remains incomplete for one year from the date it is received, your file will be closed. 

Providing your Social Security Number for licensure is required by state & federal law.  

 



AFTER YOU APPLY 

Following  submission  and  payment  for  your  application,  you will  receive  an  email  confirming  your  submission  and 
payment.  Once you have submitted your application you cannot make any changes to your application. 

If you need to contact the Ohio OTPTAT Board, please visit: http://otptat.ohio.gov/ContactUs.aspx 

Revised Dec 2018 

 



 
 

Ohio Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Athletic Trainers Board 
77 South High Street, 16th Floor  Governor
Columbus, Ohio 43215-6108  John R. Kasich

  
  

 

614-466-3774 (phone) ● 614-995-0816 (fax) ● board@otptat.ohio.gov ● http://otptat.ohio.gov 

CRIMINAL RECORDS CHECK REQUIRED FOR INITIAL LICENSURE 
 

Section 4755.70 of the Ohio Revised Code requires all individuals applying for a license issued by the Ohio 
Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Athletic Trainers Board to submit fingerprints for a criminal records 
check completed by the Ohio Bureau of Criminal Identification and Investigation (BCI) and the Federal Bureau of 
Investigation (FBI). 
 

Instructions for Individuals Residing in Ohio or Within 75 Miles of Ohio 
 

Applicants residing in Ohio or within 75 miles of Ohio are required to utilize “WebCheck” to electronically submit 
their fingerprints to BCI. The Board will typically receive the results of a criminal records check submitted via 
“WebCheck” within 7 to 10 business days. In addition to the $22 BCI fee and the $24 FBI fee, the electronic 
fingerprinting company or law enforcement agency may charge its own fee to process the fingerprints. 
 
Since the law requires applicants to submit a records check completed by both BCI and the FBI, you must use the 
services of a “WebCheck” vendor. The sheriff’s offices in most of Ohio’s 88 counties participate in “Webcheck.” A 
list of other “WebCheck” vendors in Ohio, arranged by county, is available online at: 
 
http://www.ohioattorneygeneral.gov/Business/Services-for-Business/WebCheck/Webcheck-Community-
Listing 
 
When locating an electronic fingerprinting site on the webpage, please note that you must use the services of a 
vendor that has (BCI & FBI) listed after the vendor’s name. Only these entities participate in “WebCheck.” The 
Board does not endorse or recommend any specific electronic fingerprinting company. 
 

You need both the BCI and FBI records check for initial licensure. By law, the Board cannot complete the 
processing of your application until it receives the background check reports from BCI and FBI. 

 
Steps for “WebCheck” 

1. Identify a “WebCheck” vendor that has (BCI & FBI) listed after the vendor’s name. 

2. Tell the “Webcheck” vendor to select “OT, PT, and Athletic Trainers Board” from the Direct Copy 
dropdown list at the Webcheck workstation. 

3. Request both a BCI and FBI criminal records check. 

4. List the reason fingerprinted as: Required for licensing per ORC 4755.70 

5. Agency Code: 1AB002 (if requested) 

6. Submit your fee directly to the “WebCheck” vendor. Do not send your fingerprints or fee to the Board. 

 

Bring the following information with you to the Webcheck Vendor: (1) this notice; (2) a valid form of photo 
identification, and (3) payment, in the appropriate amount and form, payable to the vendor. 

 
 
 
 
 
 

Revised July 2017 



 
 
 
 

 

 

 

Instructions for Individuals Residing More than 75 Miles From Ohio 
 
You must contact the Board at board@otptat.ohio.gov or 614-466-3774 to request that the Board mail you the 
appropriate forms to have your fingerprints taken at a local law enforcement agency. Please note, the Board will not 
mail these cards until after you submit an initial application for licensure. In addition, it takes the FBI 3 to 4 months to 
process ink rolled fingerprints. Since Ohio does not have temporary licensure, please take this delay into account. 
You may also elect to physically come to Ohio to have your fingerprints taken electronically to minimize the time it 
takes to process your application. 

 
Additional Information for Individuals Who Previously Submitted Fingerprints to BCI 

 
When an individual submits fingerprints to BCI for a criminal records check, BCI will keep the fingerprints on file 
for twelve (12) months. If less than one year has passed since the initial submission of fingerprints to BCI, the 
applicant can request that BCI run another check on the same fingerprints and run a new criminal records check 
report to be sent to the Board. In this situation, BCI charges the applicant $8. You will need to provide BCI with the 
information identified above in the “Steps for WebCheck” section of this notice. If more than 12 months passed since 
you submitted your fingerprints to the BCI, you will need to submit new fingerprints and follow the steps identified in 
the first page of this notice. 
 
This service only applies for the BCI check. Even if you previously submitted your fingerprints to the FBI, you will 
need to identify a “WebCheck” vendor that has (BCI & FBI) listed after the vendor’s name, submit new fingerprints, 
and request that the FBI criminal records check results be sent directly to the Board. You will need to bring this notice 
with you to the “WebCheck” vendor but will only need to request the FBI check. 
 

Frequently Asked Questions 

Question: I recently had an FBI records check completed for another purpose. Can I just use those 
results to meet the requirements of the Board? 

Answer: No. The law requires that an applicant for an initial license from a licensing agency shall submit a request 
to the bureau of criminal identification and investigation for a criminal records check of the applicant. Upon 
completion of the criminal records check, the superintendent of BCI shall report the results of the check, and any 
information the FBI provides, to the licensing agency identified in the request for a criminal records check. 

Question: How much time will this add to the licensure process? 

Answer: The Board typically receives the criminal records check results approximately 7-10 days after you are 
electronically fingerprinted. For out-of-state applicants completing the ink-rolled fingerprints, it takes the FBI 3-4 
months to process the fingerprints and submit the results of the criminal records check to the Board. 

Question: What happens if I have a criminal history reported to the Board? 

Answer: The Board will review the records related to the criminal history and determine if the offenses identified 
make you ineligible for licensure in Ohio.  

Question: Will I need to submit a criminal records check to renew my license every two years? 

Answer: No. The records check requirement does not apply to the biennial renewal process or to individuals 
reinstating an expired Ohio license. 
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State of Ohio 
Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Athletic Trainers Board 

Athletic Trainers Section 

 

Athletic Training Course Requirements 

 

Athletic Training Course Requirements 

Revised March 2008 

The  following  is  a  listing  of  the  courses  that  are  required  for  licensure  in  Ohio.  Individuals  graduating  from  a 

CAAHEP/CAATE  accredited  athletic  training  program  on  or  after  January  1,  2004  automatically meet  the  educational 

requirements contained in law. You must provide proof of completion of each course listed on an official college/university 

transcript.   Combining coursework or using more than one course to meet multiple course requirements  is not acceptable.  

Continuing  education  courses  and/or  correspondence  courses  are not  an  acceptable way  to meet  any  requirement  listed 

below.  A brief description of what is required for each course is listed after the course title. 

 

Anatomy: 

 The basics of human anatomy. 

Physiology: 

 The basics of human physiology. 

Physiology of Exercise: 

 In‐depth examination of the effects of acute and chronic exercise on the human body. 

Applied Anatomy/Kinesiology: 

 Theory and clinical application of biomechanics, kinetics, and kinematics by Athletic Trainers in the prevention, 

evaluation, management, and rehabilitation of injuries. 

Psychology: 

 The application of the scientific method to behavior; topics include learning, motivation, perception, 

personality, physiological basis of behavior. 

First Aid & Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation: 

 First aid and emergency management of athletic injuries and illness. 

 Copies of your current first aid and/or CPR certification may be used to fulfill this requirement. 

Nutrition:  

 Introduction to the basic principles of nutrition as they relate to exercise performance and body composition of 

athletes and the physically active. 

Therapeutic Exercise, Remedial Exercise, Rehabilitation: 

 Theory and clinical application of therapeutic exercise in the rehabilitation of upper and lower extremity 

injuries and illnesses by Athletic Trainers. 

 Exercise testing for special populations; cardiac rehabilitation procedures; preventive exercise training 

programs. 

Personal/Community/School Health: 

 An introduction of the delivery of personal, school, or community health care in America. 

Introductory Athletic Training and Advanced Athletic Training: 

(The items listed below must be covered between the two courses) 

 Modalities  

 Dealing with Athletic Populations  

 Nutritional Concerns 

 Environmental Concerns 

 Protective Equipment 

 Health Care 

 Training Room Management 

 Basic Pre‐Participation Evaluations 

 Taping, Wrapping, Bandaging, and Bracing 

 Assistive Devices 

 Mechanism of Injuries 

 Functional Testing 

 Injury Assessment 

 Injury Prevention 

 



 

 

State of Ohio 
Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Athletic Trainers Board 

Athletic Trainers Section 

 

Education Check List A 

 

AT Education Check List A 

Revised February 2017 

This form must be completed by any individual who graduated prior to July 1, 2002. 
Section I:  This portion must be completed by the applicant.  Please print or type.

Name (First, Middle, Last): 

Name of School(s) 

Content Area  YES  NO  Course Name and Number on Transcript 

(Example): Human Anatomy  X    Human Anatomy – Bio 109 

ANATOMY       

PHYSIOLOGY       

PHYSIOLOGY OF EXERCISE       

APPLIED ANATOMY/KINESIOLOGY       

PSYCHOLOGY (ONE COURSE)       

FIRST AID & CARDIOPULMONARY 

RESUSCITATION 
     

NUTRITION       

THERAPEUTIC EXERCISE/REMEDIAL 

EXERCISE/REHABILITATION 
     

PERSONAL/COMMUNITY/SCHOOL HEALTH       

INTRODUCTORY ATHLETIC TRAINING       

ADVANCED ATHLETIC TRAINING       

Note: 

 

 

Return This Document To the Applicant: 

The applicant will upload the completed form to:  

https://elicense.ohio.gov  

 

 

 



 

 

State of Ohio 
Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Athletic Trainers Board 

Athletic Trainers Section 

 

Education Check List B 

 

AT Education Check List B 

Revised February 2017 

This form must be completed by any individual who graduated between July 2, 2002 and December 31, 2003. 
Section I:  This portion must be completed by the applicant.  Please print or type.

Name (First, Middle, Last): 

Name of School(s) 

Content Area  YES  NO  Course Name and Number on Transcript 

(Example): Human Anatomy  X    Human Anatomy – Bio 109 

HUMAN ANATOMY       

HUMAN PHYSIOLOGY       

THERAPEUTIC MODALITIES       

EXERCISE PHYSIOLOGY       

KINESIOLOGY / BIOMECHANICS       

PSYCHOLOGY (ONE COURSE)       

NUTRITION       

FIRST AID & EMERGENCY CARE       

THERAPEUTIC EXERCISE / REHABILITATION OF 

ATHLETIC INJURIES 
     

PERSONAL/COMMUNITY/SCHOOL HEALTH        

PREVENTION OF ATHLETIC INJURIES/ILLNESS       

EVALUATION OF ATHLETIC INJURIES/ILLNESS       

ADMINISTRATION OF ATHLETIC TRAINING 

PROGRAMS 
     

Note: 

 

 

Return This Document To the Applicant: 

The applicant will upload the completed form to:  

https://elicense.ohio.gov  

 

 

 



 

 

State of Ohio 
Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Athletic Trainers Board 

 

 

Verification of Licensure 

 

Verification of Licensure 

Revised June 2018 

This  form must be  completed by an official  from each  jurisdiction where  the applicant currently holds or has ever held a  license, 

certification, or registration to practice an occupational health profession. Jurisdiction means any state, U.S. territory, or foreign country. 

You may copy this form and forward it as needed. Please contact each state directly to determine their license verification process. The 

Board will accept another state’s verification of licensure form, provided that it contains the information requested below. 
 

This section must be completed by the applicant.  Please print or type. 

Name (First, Middle, Last):  Maiden Name: 

Name as it appears on this state’s license, certificate, registration, or permit: 

Type of License/Certificate/Registration/Permit: 
     ____ OT      ____ OTA       ____ PT      ____ PTA      ____ AT  
     ____ LO      ____ LP      ____ LPO      ____ LPED     ____ Other _________________   

Jurisdiction  License Number 

Social Security Number:  Date of Birth (mm/dd/yyyy): 

 

The Ohio OT PT AT Board requests that I submit evidence of my license/certification/registration/permit in your jurisdiction.  You 

are hereby authorized to release any information in your possession pertaining to me directly to the Ohio OT PT AT Board. The 

jurisdiction must mail the completed form directly to the applicant. 

 

Applicant Signature    Date 

 

This section must be completed by an administrative officer of the regulatory agency.  Please print or type.

Licensure Jurisdiction:  License Number:  Original Issue Date:  Expiration Date: 

 

Current Licensure Status: 

Active  Inactive/Expired  Suspended/Revoked  Other (Explain) 

The license was issued on the basis of:  

       Examination         Endorsement           NBCOT or BOC or ABC          Grandfather           Other (Explain) 

Has the applicant’s license to practice ever been restricted or disciplined in any way?  If yes, please explain and attach any 

relevant documentation. 

Does the applicant have any pending complaints or is the applicant currently under investigation?  If yes, please explain and attach 

any relevant documentation. 

     

Print Name    Title 

     

Signature    Date 

Return This Document To the Applicant: 

The applicant will upload the completed form to:  

https://elicense.ohio.gov  

Board Seal 

 



 
 

Ohio Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Athletic Trainers Board 
77 South High Street, 16th Floor  Governor
Columbus, Ohio 43215-6108  John Kasich

  Executive Director
  Jeffrey M. Rosa

 
 

614-466-3774 (phone) ● 614-995-0816 (fax) ● board@otptat.ohio.gov ● http://otptat.ohio.gov 

 

Requirements for Applicants with Felony Convictions 
 
If you are applying for licensure in the State of Ohio and you were convicted of a felony, you must 
provide the Board with a signed statement describing the details of the event(s) that led to the felony 
conviction and certified copies of the following court records: 

 
1. Indictment 
2. Plea Entry 
3. Disposition 
4. Sentencing Entry 
5. Terms of Parole or Probation 
6. Parole or Probation Release/Discharge 

 
Failure to provide these documents will result in a delay in the processing of your applications. If you 
have any questions about this requirement, please contact the Board at 614-466-3774 or 
board@otptat.ohio.gov. 



 

 

State of Ohio 
Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Athletic Trainers Board 

Athletic Trainer’s Section 

 

Athletic Training Jurisprudence Examination Instructions 

 

Athletic Training Jurisprudence Examination Instructions 

Page 1 of 1 
Revised June 2014 

 

 

The Ohio AT Jurisprudence Exam  is open book. You will need to download the Ohio Athletic Training Practice Act 

(Laws and Rules) before beginning this examination. 

1.  You will need to create a user profile to access the online Ohio AT Jurisprudence Exam. To create a user profile, 

click on the ʺNew Userʺ link in the upper right hand corner of the page accessed at the link below and complete 

the required information. The accuracy of this information will help ensure that the Board can match your exam 

results to your license application and/or your Ohio license. 

2.  On the Course Catalog page, select the box in the Enroll column next to the appropriate exam and click on the 

ʺOrder nowʺ button. 

*Please select  the  ʺOhio AT  Jurisprudence Exam For Licensure Applicantsʺ on  the Course Catalog page  if 

you are taking the exam as part of your licensure application. 

*Please select the ʺOhio AT Jurisprudence Exam for CE Creditʺ on the Course Catalog page if you are taking 

the exam for continuing education credit. 

There is no additional fee to take the Jurisprudence Exam. 

3.  Once you complete the exam, you will see your score and will be prompted to send transcripts. The Board will 

automatically receive a copy of the transcript that you send to yourself. Make sure to: (1) check the box to add 

the course  to your  transcript;  (2) enter your email address  in  the  ʺE‐mail Transcripts  to:ʺ box;  (3) preview  the 

transcript; and (4) send the transcript. 

Please do not forget to request that the transcript be sent. 

The Ohio AT Jurisprudence Exam can be accessed at https://ohiootptatboard.myicourse.com. 
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