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Continuing Education Audit Reference Guide 
 

Rule 4755-45-01 of the Ohio Administrative Code requires the Athletic Trainers Section to conduct an audit of 

continuing education records each renewal. This audit ensures compliance with state laws requiring the 

completion of continuing education for licensure. 

 

Audit notices are sent out to a random selection of the active renewing licensee population after the end of the 

renewal period. Licensees selected for the audit are required to respond to the audit notice within the specified 

time frame outlined in the audit notice. Should a licensee fail to respond to the audit notice, or fail to obtain the 

required amount of continuing education needed for licensure renewal, that licensee will may face disciplinary 

action. Please be advised that disciplinary actions are a public record and all actions are permanent. 

 

How Can I Successfully Complete the Audit? 

 

If you are audited, follow these simple rules to complete your audit: 

 

• Read the audit notice and follow the appropriate instructions. 

 

• Respond to the audit by the deadline specified in the notice. 

 

• Ensure that you have 25 contact hours within the two year time frame which begins on October 1 and 

ends two calendar years later on September 30 of your renewal year. 

 

• Ensure that your certificates contain a sponsor/presenter name, your name, date, and number of hours 

awarded. 

 

• Email your certificates to CEAudit@otptat.ohio.gov.  

 

• Retain the sent email for your records. 
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Continuing Education Audits: Frequently Asked Audit Questions 

 

How do I know if I’m being audited? 

 

Licensees selected for the audit will receive an audit notice via email from the Board after the renewal period 

has ended. To ensure that you receive proper notification of the audit, make sure the your email address is 

correct in your elicense registration. Visit https://elicense.ohio.gov/oh_communitieslogin to verify your email 

is correct.  

 

What do I do once I receive the notice? 

 

The notice contains specific instructions on how to appropriately respond to the audit, the period for which 

you’re being audited. More importantly, the audit notice specifies the deadline when all audit responses must 

be received by the Board. You will need to follow the instructions outlined in the audit notice. 

 

Will the Board accept an email with a scanned copy of my audit materials? 

 

Yes, the Board accepts scanned copies of your audit certificates via email. Please include your Ohio license 

number in the file name of the scanned document to facilitate the processing of your audit. It is important to 

save a copy of the sent email for your records. You will be contacted by the Board if your audit information is 

incomplete. Audit materials should be sent to CEAudit@otptat.ohio.gov.  

 

What hours do I NEED every renewal cycle? 

 

To meet the minimum requirements established in rule 4755-45-01 of the Administrative Code, a licensee 

must complete no less than 25 hours of continuing education per renewal cycle. Of the required 25 hours, at 

least one (1) hour must be obtained from an ethics activity.  

 

Please be advised that maximums do exist for specific categories. For more information about category limits 

please refer to rule 4755-45-01 of the Administrative Code.   

 

Is the one hour of ethics required every time I renew my license? 

 

Yes. According to paragraph (A)(2) of rule 4755-45-01 of the Administrative Code, licensees are required to 

complete at least one hour of ethics credit each renewal cycle. The ethics requirement can be met by taken the 

course at the following link free of charge: 

http://otptat.ohio.gov/AthleticTraining/ATJurisprudenceExam.aspx. 
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Do all of my continuing education activities need to have prior Board approval? 

 

No. According to paragraph (C)(1)(a) of rule 4755-45-01 of the Administrative Code, prior approval from the 

AT Section is not required if a continuing education activity has been sponsored by the National Athletic 

Trainers Association, the Board of Certification, the Great Lakes Athletic Trainers Association, or the Ohio 

Athletic Trainers Association, or offered by a Board Of Certification Approved Provider; OR: (a) contributes 

directly to professional competency; (b) relates directly to the clinical practice, management or education of 

athletic training and (c) is conducted by individuals who have demonstrated expertise in the subject matter of 

the program.  

 

Why does the Board need copies of my certificates? 

 

The Board needs copies of your certificates to validate the completion of an activity. Any certificates that you 

submit as part of your audit should include the following information; sponsor/presenter name, your name, 

date the activity was completed, and the number of hours awarded.  

 

This isn’t the first time I’ve been audited, what is the selection process? 

 

Post license renewal, a percentage of the active renewing licensee population is selected for the audit. The list 

of individuals selected for the audit is randomly selected by the Ohio eLicense system. Other than licensees 

automatically selected for the audit as a result of disciplinary action, the individuals selected for the audit are 

not known until eLicense generates the email notice. 

 

Some of my hours were earned outside the specific time frame outlined in the audit notice, what do I 

do? 

 

If you find that you have hours earned outside of the specific time frame, or are short hours for a renewal 

period, please contact the appropriate number listed on the bottom of your audit notice to speak with a Board 

staff member. 

 

When is the last day I can request a CE waiver from the Athletic Trainers Section? 

 

All completed waiver forms must be received by the Section for consideration no later than July 1 of the 

renewal year. For more information regarding the waiver process, please review rule 4755-45-02 of the Ohio 

Administrative Code. 

 

Can I reuse my certificates that I used to reinstate my license to count towards the CE audit? 

 

No. Pursuant to paragraph (B) of rule 4755-43-06 of the Ohio Administrative Code, contact hours used to 

meet the requirements of reinstatement shall not be used to renew the reinstated license. If this is your first 

renewal since you reinstated an expired license, you will need to obtain additional continuing education to 

renew your license. 

 

License renewal and the audit: 

 

Prior to renewing your license, please ensure that you have completed all of the continuing education 

activities you plan to use to meet the continuing education requirements for your renewal period. 

 

Note: You should not renew your license until you are able to confirm that you meet the continuing education 

requirements for your specific licensure.  
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If I no longer reside/work in Ohio, do I still need to respond to the audit? What if I have retired from 

the profession? 

 

Yes, a response is still required in both situations.  

 

Regardless of whether or not you are working in your profession, and regardless of whether or not you 

currently reside in the state of Ohio, if you renew your license, you are eligible to be audited. If you are 

selected for the audit and have retired from your job, but still maintain your licensure, you are still required to 

meet the continuing education requirements for your license.  

 

If you plan to retire from the profession, or plan to move out of state, and no longer intend to maintain your 

Ohio license and complete continuing education, you may want to consider simply letting your license expire.  

 

 


