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CRIMINAL RECORDS CHECK REQUIRED FOR INITIAL LICENSURE

Section 4755.70 of the Ohio Revised Code requires all individuals applying for a license issued by the Ohio
Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Athletic Trainers Board to submit fingerprints for a criminal records
check completed by the Ohio Bureau of Criminal Identification and Investigation (BCI) and the Federal Bureau of
Investigation (FBI).

Instructions for Individuals Residing in Ohio or Within 50 Miles of Ohio

Applicants residing in Ohio or within 50 miles of Ohio are required to utilize “WebCheck” to electronically submit
their fingerprints to BCI. The Board will typically receive the results of a criminal records check submited via
“WebCheck” within 7 to 10 business days. In addition to the $22 BCI fee and the $24 FBI fee, the electronic
fingerprinting company or law enforcement agency may charge its own fee to process the fingerprints.

Since the law requires applicants to submit a records check completed by both BCI and the FBI, you must use the
services of a “WebCheck” vendor that participates in the “National WebCheck.” The sheriff’s offices in all 88 Ohio
counties participate in the “National WebCheck.” A list of other “WebCheck” vendors in Ohio, arranged by county,
is available online at:

http://www.ohioattorneygeneral.qov/Services/Business/\WebCheck/Webcheck-Community-Listing

When locating an electronic fingerprinting site on the webpage, please note that you must use the services of a
vendor that has (BCl & FBI) listed after the vendor’s name. Only these entities participate in the “National
WebCheck.” The Board does not endorse or recommend any specific electronic fingerprinting company.

You need both the BCI and FBI records check for initial licensure. By law, the Board cannot complete the
processing of your application until it receives the background check reports from BCI and FBI.

Steps for “WebCheck”
1. Identify a “WebCheck” vendor that participates in the “National WebCheck.”

2. Submit your fee directly to the “WebCheck’ vendor. Do not send your fingerprints or fee to the Board.
3. Request both a BCI and FBI criminal records check.
4. Request that the criminal records check results be sent directly to:

Ohio Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Athletic Trainers Board
77 S. High Street, 16" Floor
Columbus, Ohio 43215-6108

The Board will not accept criminal records checks that are not sent to the Board directly from the BCI. The
results may not be sent to you, your employer, or to the entity that conducted the fingerprint.

5. List the reason fingerprinted as: “Required for licensing per ORC 4755.70 and Volunteer for Children’s Act”

6. Bring the following information with you to the “BCI & FBI”” Webcheck Vendor: (1) this notice; (2) a
valid form of photo identification, and (3) payment, in the appropriate amount and form, payable to the
vendor.

614-466-3774 (phone) e 614-995-0816 (fax) e board@otptat.ohio.gov e http://otptat.ohio.gov



Instructions for Individuals Residing More than 50 Miles From Ohio

You must contact the Board at board@otptat.ohio.gov or 614-466-3774 to request that the Board mail you the
appropriate forms to have your fingerprints taken at a local law enforcement agency. Please note, the Board will not
mail these cards until after you submit an initial application for licensure. In addition, it is taking the FBI 3 to 4
months to process ink rolled fingerprints. Since Ohio does not have temporary licensure, please take this delay into
account. You may also elect to physically come to Ohio to have your fingerprints taken electronically to minimize the
time it takes to process your application.

Additional Information for Individuals Who Previously Submitted Fingerprints to BCI

When an individual submits fingerprints to BCI for a criminal records check, BCI will keep the fingerprints on file
for twelve (12) months. If less than one year has passed since the initial submission of fingerprints to BCI, the
applicant can request that BCI run another check on the same fingerprints and run a new criminal records check
report to be sent to the Board. In this situation, BCI charges the applicant $8. You will need to provide BCI with the
information identifed above in the “Steps for WebCheck” section of this notice. If more than 12 months passed since
you submitted your fingerprints to the BCI, you will need to submit new fingerprints and follow the steps identifed in
the first page of this notice.

This service only applies for the BCI check. Even if you previously submitted your fingerprints to the FBI, you will
need to identify a “National WebCheck” vendor, submit new fingerprints, and request that the FBI criminal records
check results be sent directly to the Board. You will need to bring this notice with you to the WebCheck vendor but
will only need to request the FBI check.

Frequently Asked Questions

Question: I recently had an FBI records check completed for another purpose. Can | just use those
results to meet the requirements of the Board?

Answer: No. The law requires that an applicant for an initial license from a licensing agency shall submit
a request to the bureau of criminal identification and investigation for a criminal records check of the
applicant. Upon completion of the criminal records check, the superintendent of BCI shall report the
results of the check, and any information the FBI provides, to the licensing agency identified in the request
for a criminal records check.

Question: How much time will this add to the licensure process?

Answer: The Board typically receives the criminal records check results approximately 7-10 days after you
are electronically fingerprinted. For out-of-state applicants completing the ink-rolled fingerprints, it is
taking the FBI 3-4 months to process the fingerprints and submit the results of the criminal records check
to the Board.

Question: What happens if | have a criminal history reported to the Board?

Answer: The Board will review the records related to the criminal history and determine if the offenses
identified make you ineligible for licensure in Ohio.

Question: Will I need to submit a criminal records check to renew my license every two years?

Answer: No. The records check requirement does not apply to the biennial renewal process or to
individuals reinstating an expired Ohio license.



State of Ohio

Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Athletic Trainers Board
Physical Therapy Section

Physical Therapy Examination Application Instructions

Any individual who is seeking approval to sit for the National Physical Therapy Examination (NPTE) must submit an
examination application. Please review rule 4755-23-03 of the Ohio Administrative Code for clarification on the requirements
to apply for an Ohio physical therapist/physical therapist assistant license by examination.

Applications are reviewed on a weekly basis. All applications must be FULLY completed before they are reviewed and you
are made eligible to sit for the NPTE. If your application remains incomplete for one year from the date the Board receives it,
your file will be closed.

Once the Physical Therapy Section approves your application to sit for the NPTE, you will receive an “Authorization to Test”
letter (ATT) from the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT). The ATT letter will allow you to schedule an
appointment and sit for the examination at a Prometric testing center (http://www.prometric.org/fsbpt). For more
information on the exam registration process, please visit the FSBPT website (http://www.fsbpt.org).

You may not practice physical therapy in Ohio until you receive a license. Physical Therapist licenses expire on January 31
of even numbered years. When a license to practice as a physical therapist is issued by the board on or after October first of
an odd-numbered year, that license shall be valid through the thirty-first day of January of the second even-numbered year.
Physical Therapist Assistant licenses expire on January 31 of odd numbered years. When a license to practice as a physical
therapist assistant is issued by the board on or after October first of an even-numbered year, that license shall be valid
through the thirty-first day of January of the second odd-numbered year. For your first renewal, you are exempt from
providing proof of your continuing education activity. However, you are still required to renew your license. The second
time you renew your license, you are required to comply with continuing education requirement. Please visit the continuing
education link under the Physical Therapy dropdown menu on the Board’s website for more details.

In accordance with section 4755.47 (A)(26) of the Ohio Revised Code, you are required to notify the Section, in writing, of any
change in name, business address, or home address within thirty (30) days of the change.

To obtain approval to sit for the NPTE in Ohio, you must complete all of the following;:
(This instruction sheet is for your personal records.)

Application Fee
W The application fee is non-refundable. Please submit a cashier’s check, business check, or money order made payable to

the “Treasurer State of Ohio” for $100.00. Personal checks, cash, and/or credit cards will not be accepted.

Criminal Records Check

O  You must submit fingerprints for a criminal records check completed by the Ohio Bureau of Criminal Identification
and Investigation (BCI) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI).

1 You need both the BCI and FBI records check for initial licensure. By law, the Board cannot complete the processing of
your application until it receives the criminal records check reports from BCI and FBL

Photograph
O Please staple a passport photograph of your full face, front view with a plain white or off-white background taken

within the six month period immediately preceding the date of your application. The photo should be 2 x 2 inches in
size. If the photo is digital, it must be a clear representation, printed on glossy photo paper, and must meet the
specifications listed above. For more information please review the Passport Photograph Guidelines on the Board’s website
(http://otptat.ohio.gov).

Ohio Jurisprudence Examination Registration
O You are required to complete an Ohio Jurisprudence exam registration and submit your Ohio Jurisprudence exam
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State of Ohio

Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Athletic Trainers Board
Physical Therapy Section

Physical Therapy Examination Application Instructions

registration fee directly with FSBPT at https://pt.fsbpt.net. You must score a 600 or better to pass the Ohio Jurisprudence

examination.

Certification of Entry Level Education
Q This document must come to the Board directly from your educational institution. Documents received from the
applicant will not be accepted.

Federation State Boards of Physical Therapy-NPTE Exam Registration

Q The Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT) administers the National Physical Therapy Examination for
physical therapists and physical therapist assistants. You are required to complete an exam registration and submit your
NPTE registration fee directly with FSBPT at https://pt.fsbpt.net.

Verification of Licensure
O You must provide an official verification form any state in which you hold or have ever held a license to practice
physical therapy or another healthcare profession.

The Following Applies to Individuals Requesting Testing Accommodations:

Testing Accommodation Request
Q This form should only be completed by applicants who qualify for testing accommodations under the Americans with
Disabilities Act for the NPTE or Ohio Jurisprudence Examination.

The Following Applies to Graduates of Non-CAPTE Accredited Programs:

All graduates of non-CAPTE accredited programs seeking licensure as a physical therapist in Ohio must review the “PT
Foreign Requirements” document, which can be downloaded from the application link on the Board’s website
(http://otptat.ohio.gov).

Credential Evaluation

QO The credential evaluation must be submitted by one of the approved professional education evaluating services. This
document must come to the Board directly from the approved professional education evaluating service. Documents
received from the applicant will not be accepted.

TOEFL/TSE/TWE or TOEFL iBT
O All foreign educated applicants are required to demonstrate working knowledge of the English language by obtaining a
passing score on either the Test of English as a Foreign Language internet-Based Testing (TOEFL-iBT) or passing scores
on the Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL), the Test of Spoken English (TSE), and the Test of Written English
(TWE).
Passing scores for Ohio are as follows:
e  TOEFL-iBT: 24 writing, 26 speaking, 21 reading comprehension, 18 listening comprehension, 89 overall.
e TOEFL: 220 on computer based or 560 on paper based, TSE; 50, TWE: 4.5.
e The agency code for the Ohio Physical Therapy Board is 9099.
Q To have your scores sent to the Ohio Physical Therapy Board, please contact ETS at: PO Box 6151, Princeton, NJ, 08541-
6151. You can also visit their website at www.ets.org.

Certification of Foreign Licensure
Q This must be obtained directly from the licensing body in the country in which you received your physical therapy
education and any other physical therapy licenses issued outside of the United States.

Physical Therapy Examination Application Instructions
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Instructions for Retaking the National Physical Therapy Examination

If it has been one year or longer since you last applied to sit for the NPTE, you are required to resubmit all of the required
documentation for the licensure by examination application.

If it has been less than one year, you are required to submit a new examination application, application fee, and passport
photograph, to the Board office. In addition you are required to complete a new Federation State Boards of Physical
Therapy-Exam Registration. You are not required to resubmit the “Certification of Entry Level Education.”

If it has been less than one year and you previously obtained a passing score on the Ohio physical therapy jurisprudence
examination, you do not need to retake the examination. Candidates who have not applied within the past 12 month period
will be required to retake the Ohio physical therapy jurisprudence examination.

If you are a graduate of a non-CAPTE accredited program, and your application is less than one year old, you are not
required to resubmit your credential evaluation, TOEFL-iBT, TOEFL score, TSE score, TWE score, or the “Certification of
Foreign Licensure” as long as those documents were submitted with your original application.

Physical Therapy Examination Application Instructions
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APPLICATION FOR LICENSE TO PRACTICE

The Physical Therapy Section PHYSICAL THERAPY IN OHIO

Ohio Occupational Therapy, Physical gogissslg;l(ﬁ_eriigo?g
Therapy, and Athletic Trainers Board 0O yst Pl .
77 South High Street, 16th Floor Physical Therapist Assistant

Columbus, Ohio 43215-6108 Application Type (Select one)

Phone (614) 466-3774 Fax (614) 995-0816 O Examination
Website: http://otptat.ohio.gov @) Englorsement
Email: board@otptat.ohio.gov O Reinstatement

INSTRUCTIONS, PLEASE READ:
A.  Complete all relevant categories (type or print in ink).
B. Passport Photograph must be submitted with this application.
C. Fee must be submitted with application. (Money Order/Cashier's Check/Business Check must be made payable to
“Treasurer State of Ohio”)

ALL LICENSURE APPLICATION FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE

**PLEASE READ: Provision of your social security number is mandatory and may be provided for child support enforcement purposes (ORC
3123.50) and for reporting requirements to the Federal Healthcare and Integrity Protection Data Bank (42 USC 132a-7e, 5 USC 552a, 45CFR pt.
61). In compliance with section 1347.05 (E) of the Revised Code, you are notified that failure to supply the information requested in this
application may result in a denial of the application.

Section A: IDENTIFICATION INFORMATION
First Name Middle Name Last Name Maiden Name

Home Phone Number (with Area Code) Alternate Phone Number (with Area Code)

Permanent Mailing Address

City State Zip County
**Social Security Number Email Address (Optional)
Date Of Birth (mm/dd/yyyy) Place Of Birth (City and State)
Color of Hair Color of Eyes Weight Height Gender
O Male O Female

According to rule 4755-23-07 of the Ohio Administrative Code, you must inform the Physical Therapy Section in writing of any change of
name, address, or employment within thirty days after the change.

Staple Passport Photograph Here

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY P'hotograph must be 2.x 2 inches in

Application size, full face, front view, between

: 1 inch and 1 3/8 inches from the
Received i

Amount $: bottom of the chin to the top of the

: head. Background color white, off-

v white, or light blue. Photograph

Oczjne);&' must be taken with the past 6

rder +. months. Sign back of photograph.
Batch Number

OCC 0011 (Revised January 2011)




[ Section B: EDUCATION

Entry Level Physical Therapy Education

Name and Location (City, State) Certificate/ Dates Attended (MO/YR)
Degree From To
Other Post High School Education
Please list all post-professional education and/or other colleges attended.
Name and Location (City, State) Certificate/ Dates Attended (MO/YR)
Degree From To

Section C: EXPERIENCE
(Starting with present position, list chronologically your work experience during the past ten years. If you are a new
graduate list your field work experience. Please attach a separate page if necessary.)

D:t‘;tES (Moé ::) J0B TITLE, TYPE OF PRACTICE AND NAME AND ADDRESS OF EMPLOYER PE%TJEE%EIRJ "
YES | NO
YES | NO
YES | NO
YES | NO
YES | NO
YES | NO
YES | NO

Physical Therapy Application
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Section D: BACKGROUND INFORMATION

1. How many times have you taken the National Physical Therapy Examination (NPTE) for Physical Therapists?

2. How many times have you taken the National Physical Therapy Examination (NPTE) for Physical Therapist Assistants?

3. What State approved you to sit for the NPTE?

Section E: LICENSURE HISTORY

Do you currently hold or have you ever held a license, limited permit, certification, or registration to practice physical therapy or
another healthcare profession in this state and/or another state. O YES O NO
If YES, Please complete the table below.

Initial license to practice as a O Physical Therapist O Physical Therapist Assistant issued by which State?

STATE LICENSE #/ LIMITED PERMIT # INITIAL ISSUE DATE EXPIRATION DATE

Section F: BACKGROUND QUESTIONS

Answer the following questions by initialing in the appropriate space at the right.
NOTE: Be advised that you are under a continuing obligation to supplement your answers to these questions YES NO
should any answers change following the submission of this application.

1. Have you ever been convicted of, found guilty of, pled guilty to, or received treatment in lieu of conviction
for a felony and/or any offense involving moral turpitude in Ohio, another state, or a US territory?

2. Have you ever been adjudged by a court, in Ohio, another state, or a US territory to be incompetent?

3. Have you ever been denied licensure to practice as a physical therapist or physical therapist assistant, or
another healthcare profession in Ohio, another state, or US territory?

4. Have you ever been disciplined in any state or US territory in which you have ever held a license to practice
as a physical therapist or physical therapist assistant, or any other healthcare profession?

5. Have you used drugs, narcotics, or alcohol to the extent that it impairs you ability to practice physical therapy
or another healthcare profession?

6. Have you ever been revoked, suspended, restricted, or had your clinical privileges terminated by the United
States Department of Defense or the United States Department of VVeterans Affairs?

7. Have you ever been terminated or suspended from participation in the Medicare or Medicaid program for an
act or acts that constitute a violation of sections 4755.40 to 4755.56 of the Revised Code?

8. Have you ever been convicted of a misdemeanor when the act that constituted the misdemeanor occurred
during the practice of physical therapy?

If the answer to any questions is "yes", please provide a written statement explaining the incident(s) and what state it occurred in and
attach supporting documentation including but not limited to: court records, police records, and/or documentation from other state
licensing boards. If you have been convicted of a felony, you must provide “certified” copies of the following court documents:
Indictment, Plea Entry, Disposition, Sentencing Entry, Terms of Parole or Probation, Parole or Probation and Release/Discharge

Physical Therapy Application
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Section G: ANTICIPATED PLACE OF EMPLOYMENT
(If unknown at the time this application is completed, please put "Unknown")

Facility Name Employment Starting Date
Facility Physical Address (include City, State, and Zip) Title/Position
Name of Supervising Physical Therapist License Number Phone Number w/Area Code

Section H: CERTIFICATION OF APPLICANT
This section must be sworn to the presence of a Notary Public or an officer authorized to administer oaths.

1, , certify that | am the person referred to in this application and that
the foregoing statements are true in every respect, and that the attached photograph is a true likeness of myself.

I hereby authorize all my references; educational institutions; employers; business; professional organizations and associates - past, present, and
future - to release to the Ohio Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Athletic Trainers Board any information requested by the Board in
connection with the processing of this application or subsequent licensure.

I hereby certify to the Physical Therapy Section of the Ohio Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Athletic Trainers Board that I am not
presently functioning and will not function as a physical therapist or physical therapist assistant or use any initials, titles or words which imply that
I am licensed in Ohio to perform physical therapy services until I am granted licensure by the Physical Therapy Section of the Board.

| further certify that if 1 accept employment in a physical therapy setting in Ohio prior to licensure by the Physical Therapy Section, | will only
perform duties that may be legally performed by "UNLICENSED PERSONNEL" and only at the direction of a licensed physical therapist.

| further certify that if | hold an H-1B visa, | am not employed in any capacity that violates the terms of my H-1B visa.

I understand that the Ohio Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Athletic Trainers Board is authorized by law to initiate action against a
person who unlawfully uses titles and initials such as: physical therapist, physical therapy, physical therapy services, physiotherapist,
physiotherapy, physiotherapy services, licensed physical therapist, P.T., Ph.T., P.T.T., RP.T., L.P.T.,, M.P.T., D.P.T., M.S.P.T., P.T.A., physical
therapy assistant, physical therapist assistant, physical therapy technician, licensed physical therapist assistant, L.P.T.A., R.P.T.A., as described in
section 4755.48 of the Revised Code and, in accordance with section 4755.47 of the Revised Code, to refuse to grant, suspend, or revoke the license
of a person who violates the laws and regulations of the jurisdiction(s) in which they practice.

I understand that the Physical Therapy Section of the Board may refuse to grant me licensure or take action against my license if | violate any
provision of the laws and rules governing the practice of physical therapy in Ohio.

In compliance with section 1347.05 of the Revised Code, you are notified that failure to supply the information requested on the application may
result in denial of the application.

Signature of Applicant Date
Section I: Notary Public please complete the following:
Subscribed and sworn to in my presence this day of , Year
Signature of Notary Date Commission Expires
Return This Document To:
Ohio OT PT AT Board
77 South High Street, 16" Floor Notary Seal

Columbus, OH 43215-6108

Physical Therapy Application
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State of Ohio

Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Athletic Trainers Board

Certification of Entry Level Education

Section I: This portion must be completed by the applicant. Please print or type.

Name (First, Middle, Last):

Maiden Name:

Complete Mailing Address

Social Security Number or Alien Registration Number:

Date of Birth: (mm/dd/yyyy):

Applicant’s Signature

Date

Section II: This Section must be completed by an official from the program where a physical therapy degree was earned. If the institution does
not use a school seal, the official signing the verification must sign this form in the presence of a Notary Public. The educational institution must
mail the completed form directly to the OT PT AT Board at the address below. Documents received directly from the applicant will not be

accepted. Please print or type.

I hereby certify that

completed the didactic and

(Student’s Name and SSN)

clinical education requirements of the

program on

(Program Type : PT,PTA)

(mm/ddlyyyy)

and is eligible for or has been granted the degree of

(Degree: AAS, Certificate, BS, MPT, DPT etc.)

Name of Institution:

City, State, Zip Code:

Phone Number w/ Area Code:

Is this entry level program CAPTE accredited?

OYes O No
Print Name Title
Signature Date
If a Notary Public is used, please complete the following:
Subscribed and sworn to in my presence this day of , Year
Signature of Notary Date Commission Expires

Return This Document To:
Ohio OT PT AT Board

77 South High Street, 16t Floor
Columbus, OH 43215-6108

School or Notary Seal

Certification of Entry Level Education
Page 1 of 1
Revised March 2008
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