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CRIMINAL RECORDS CHECK REQUIRED FOR INITIAL LICENSURE 
 

Section 4755.70 of the Ohio Revised Code requires all individuals applying for a license issued by the Ohio 
Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Athletic Trainers Board to submit fingerprints for a criminal records 
check completed by the Ohio Bureau of Criminal Identification and Investigation (BCI) and the Federal Bureau of 
Investigation (FBI). 
 

Instructions for Individuals Residing in Ohio or Within 50 Miles of Ohio 
 

Applicants residing in Ohio or within 50 miles of Ohio are required to utilize “WebCheck” to electronically submit 
their fingerprints to BCI. The Board will typically receive the results of a criminal records check submited via 
“WebCheck” within 7 to 10 business days. In addition to the $22 BCI fee and the $24 FBI fee, the electronic 
fingerprinting company or law enforcement agency may charge its own fee to process the fingerprints. 
 
Since the law requires applicants to submit a records check completed by both BCI and the FBI, you must use the 
services of a “WebCheck” vendor that participates in the “National WebCheck.” The sheriff’s offices in all 88 Ohio 
counties participate in the “National WebCheck.” A list of other “WebCheck” vendors in Ohio, arranged by county, 
is available online at: 
 

http://www.ohioattorneygeneral.gov/Services/Business/WebCheck/Webcheck-Community-Listing 
 
When locating an electronic fingerprinting site on the webpage, please note that you must use the services of a 
vendor that has (BCI & FBI) listed after the vendor’s name. Only these entities participate in the “National 
WebCheck.” The Board does not endorse or recommend any specific electronic fingerprinting company. 
 

You need both the BCI and FBI records check for initial licensure. By law, the Board cannot complete the 
processing of your application until it receives the background check reports from BCI and FBI. 

 
Steps for “WebCheck” 

1. Identify a “WebCheck” vendor that participates in the “National WebCheck.” 
2. Submit your fee directly to the “WebCheck” vendor. Do not send your fingerprints or fee to the Board. 
3. Request both a BCI and FBI criminal records check. 
4. Request that the criminal records check results be sent directly to: 

Ohio Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Athletic Trainers Board 
77 S. High Street, 16th Floor 
Columbus, Ohio 43215-6108 

The Board will not accept criminal records checks that are not sent to the Board directly from the BCI. The 
results may not be sent to you, your employer, or to the entity that conducted the fingerprint. 

5. List the reason fingerprinted as: “Required for licensing per ORC 4755.70 and Volunteer for Children’s Act” 
6. Bring the following information with you to the “BCI & FBI” Webcheck Vendor: (1) this notice; (2) a 

valid form of photo identification, and (3) payment, in the appropriate amount and form, payable to the 
vendor. 

 
 
 
 



 
 
 
 

 

 

 

Instructions for Individuals Residing More than 50 Miles From Ohio 
 
You must contact the Board at board@otptat.ohio.gov or 614-466-3774 to request that the Board mail you the 
appropriate forms to have your fingerprints taken at a local law enforcement agency. Please note, the Board will not 
mail these cards until after you submit an initial application for licensure. In addition, it is taking the FBI 3 to 4 
months to process ink rolled fingerprints. Since Ohio does not have temporary licensure, please take this delay into 
account. You may also elect to physically come to Ohio to have your fingerprints taken electronically to minimize the 
time it takes to process your application. 

 
Additional Information for Individuals Who Previously Submitted Fingerprints to BCI 

 
When an individual submits fingerprints to BCI for a criminal records check, BCI will keep the fingerprints on file 
for twelve (12) months. If less than one year has passed since the initial submission of fingerprints to BCI, the 
applicant can request that BCI run another check on the same fingerprints and run a new criminal records check 
report to be sent to the Board. In this situation, BCI charges the applicant $8. You will need to provide BCI with the 
information identifed above in the “Steps for WebCheck” section of this notice. If more than 12 months passed since 
you submitted your fingerprints to the BCI, you will need to submit new fingerprints and follow the steps identifed in 
the first page of this notice. 
 
This service only applies for the BCI check. Even if you previously submitted your fingerprints to the FBI, you will 
need to identify a “National WebCheck” vendor, submit new fingerprints, and request that the FBI criminal records 
check results be sent directly to the Board. You will need to bring this notice with you to the WebCheck vendor but 
will only need to request the FBI check. 
 

Frequently Asked Questions 

Question: I recently had an FBI records check completed for another purpose. Can I just use those 
results to meet the requirements of the Board? 
Answer: No. The law requires that an applicant for an initial license from a licensing agency shall submit 
a request to the bureau of criminal identification and investigation for a criminal records check of the 
applicant. Upon completion of the criminal records check, the superintendent of BCI shall report the 
results of the check, and any information the FBI provides, to the licensing agency identified in the request 
for a criminal records check. 

Question: How much time will this add to the licensure process? 
Answer: The Board typically receives the criminal records check results approximately 7-10 days after you 
are electronically fingerprinted. For out-of-state applicants completing the ink-rolled fingerprints, it is 
taking the FBI 3-4 months to process the fingerprints and submit the results of the criminal records check 
to the Board. 

Question: What happens if I have a criminal history reported to the Board? 
Answer: The Board will review the records related to the criminal history and determine if the offenses 
identified make you ineligible for licensure in Ohio.  

Question: Will I need to submit a criminal records check to renew my license every two years? 

Answer: No. The records check requirement does not apply to the biennial renewal process or to 
individuals reinstating an expired Ohio license. 
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The  Endorsement  application  is  appropriate  for  all  people who  have  taken  the National  Physical  Therapy  Examination 
(NPTE) in another state and are licensed by that state. To be licensed by Endorsement you must meet all of the same criteria 
as those applicants that apply to be licensed by exam.   Holding a license to practice physical therapy in another state does 
not mean that you will automatically qualify for a license to practice in Ohio. 
 
Applications are reviewed on a weekly basis.  All applications must be FULLY completed before they are reviewed and a 
license issued.  If your application remains incomplete for one year from the date the Board receives it, your file will be 
closed. 
 
You may not practice physical therapy in Ohio until you receive a license.  Physical Therapist licenses expire on January 31 
of even numbered years. When a license to practice as a physical therapist is issued by the board on or after October first of 
an odd‐numbered year, that license shall be valid through the thirty‐first day of January of the second even‐numbered year. 
Physical Therapist Assistant licenses expire on January 31 of odd numbered years. When a license to practice as a physical 
therapist  assistant  is  issued  by  the  board  on  or  after October  first  of  an  even‐numbered  year,  that  license  shall  be valid 
through  the  thirty‐first  day  of  January  of  the  second  odd‐numbered  year.  For  your  first  renewal,  you  are  exempt  from 
providing proof of your continuing education activity. However, you are still required  to renew your  license. The second 
time you renew your license, you are required to comply with continuing education requirement. Please visit the continuing 
education link under the Physical Therapy dropdown menu on the Board’s website for more details. 

 
To obtain a license by endorsement in Ohio, you must complete all of the following: 

(This instruction sheet is for your personal records.) 
Application Fee 

 The application fee is non‐refundable.  Please submit a cashier’s check, business check, or money order made payable to 
“Treasure State of Ohio” for $100.00. Personal checks, cash, and/or credit cards will not be accepted.   

Criminal Records Check  

 You must submit fingerprints for a criminal records check completed by the Ohio Bureau of Criminal Identification 
and Investigation (BCI) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI). 

 You need both the BCI and FBI records check for initial licensure. By law, the Board cannot complete the processing of 
your application until it receives the criminal records check reports from BCI and FBI. 

Photograph 

 Please staple a passport photograph of your full face, front view with a plain white or off‐white background taken 
within the six month period immediately preceding the date of your application. The photo should be 2 x 2 inches in 
size. If the photo is digital, it must be a clear representation, printed on glossy photo paper, and must meet the 
specifications listed above. For more information please review the Passport Photograph Guidelines on the Board’s website 
(http://otptat.ohio.gov). 

Ohio Jurisprudence Examination Registration 

 You are required to complete an Ohio Jurisprudence exam registration and submit your Ohio Jurisprudence exam 
registration fee directly with FSBPT at https://pt.fsbpt.net. You must score a 600 or better to pass the Ohio Jurisprudence 
examination. 

Certification of Entry Level Education  
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 This document must come to the Board directly from your educational institution.  Documents received from the 
applicant will not be accepted. 

National Physical Therapy Examination Score Transfer 

 This must be obtained directly from the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT).  Visit their website 
(https://pt.fsbpt.net) to request that your NPTE score be transferred to Ohio. 

Verification of Licensure 

 You must provide an official verification from any state in which you hold or have ever held a license to practice 
physical therapy or another healthcare profession.  

Additional Requirements for Individuals Who Have Not Practiced Physical Therapy 
For  Five or More Years Prior to the Date of This Application 

 
The Physical Therapy Section defines “out of practice” for a physical therapy practitioner as working less than 500 hours 
over a five year period. 
Federation State Boards of Physical Therapy‐Exam Registration  

The Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT) administers the National Physical Therapy Examination for 
physical therapists and physical therapist assistants. You are required to complete an exam registration and submit your 
NPTE registration fee directly with FSBPT at https://pt.fsbpt.net.  
 
The Following Applies to Graduates of Non‐CAPTE Accredited Programs: 
 
All graduates of non‐CAPTE accredited programs  seeking  licensure as a physical  therapist  in Ohio must  review  the “PT 
Foreign  Requirements”  document,  which  can  be  downloaded  from  the  application  link  on  the  Board’s  website 
(http://otptat.ohio.gov). 
 
Credential Evaluation 

 The credential evaluation must be submitted by one of the approved professional education evaluating services. This 
document must come to the Board directly from the approved professional education evaluating service. Documents 
received from the applicant will not be accepted. 

TOEFL, TSE, TWE, TOEFL‐iBT 

 All foreign educated applicants are required to demonstrate working knowledge of the English language by obtaining a 
passing score on either the Test of English as a Foreign Language internet‐Based Testing (TOEFL‐iBT) or passing scores 
on the Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL), the Test of Spoken English (TSE), and the Test of Written English 
(TWE). 
Passing scores for Ohio are as follows:  

 TOEFL‐iBT: 24 writing, 26 speaking, 21 reading comprehension, 18 listening comprehension, 89 overall.  
 TOEFL: 220 on computer based or 560 on paper based, TSE; 50, TWE: 4.5.   
 The agency code for the Ohio Physical Therapy Board is 9099. 

 To have your scores sent to the Ohio Physical Therapy Board, please contact ETS at: PO Box 6151, Princeton, NJ, 08541‐
6151.  You can also visit their website at www.ets.org.   

Certification of Foreign Licensure 

 This must be obtained directly from the licensing body in the country in which you received your physical therapy 
education and any other physical therapy licenses issued outside of the United States.   

 



 

 

 
The Physical Therapy Section 
 
Ohio Occupational Therapy, Physical 
Therapy, and Athletic Trainers Board 
77 South High Street, 16th Floor 
Columbus, Ohio 43215-6108 
 
Phone (614) 466-3774    Fax (614) 995-0816 
Website: http://otptat.ohio.gov 
Email: board@otptat.ohio.gov 
 

APPLICATION FOR LICENSE TO PRACTICE  
PHYSICAL THERAPY IN OHIO 

 
Profession (Select one) 
 Physical Therapist 
 Physical Therapist Assistant 
 
Application Type (Select one) 
 Examination 
 Endorsement 
 Reinstatement 
 

 
INSTRUCTIONS, PLEASE READ: 

A. Complete all relevant categories (type or print in ink). 
B. Passport Photograph must be submitted with this application. 
C. Fee must be submitted with application. (Money Order/Cashier's Check/Business Check must be made payable to 

“Treasurer State of Ohio”) 
 

ALL LICENSURE APPLICATION FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE 
 
**PLEASE READ:  Provision of your social security number is mandatory and may be provided for child support enforcement purposes (ORC 
3123.50) and for reporting requirements to the Federal Healthcare and Integrity Protection Data Bank (42 USC 132a-7e, 5 USC 552a, 45CFR pt. 
61). In compliance with section 1347.05 (E) of the Revised Code, you are notified that failure to supply the information requested in this 
application may result in a denial of the application. 
 
Section A:   IDENTIFICATION INFORMATION 
First Name 
 
 

Middle Name Last Name Maiden Name 

Home Phone Number (with Area Code) 
 
 

Alternate Phone Number (with Area Code) 

Permanent Mailing Address 
 
 
City 
 

State Zip County 

**Social Security Number 

 

Email Address (Optional) 

Date Of Birth (mm/dd/yyyy) 
 

Place Of Birth (City and State) 

Color of Hair 
 

Color of Eyes Weight Height Gender 
 Male   Female 

According to rule 4755-23-07 of the Ohio Administrative Code, you must inform the Physical Therapy Section in writing of any change of 
name, address, or employment within thirty days after the change. 

 
 
 

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY 
Application  
Received 
Amount $: 
 
Money  
Order #: 
Batch Number 
 
 
OCC 0011 (Revised January 2011) 
 

Staple Passport Photograph Here 
 
Photograph must be 2 x 2 inches in 
size, full face, front view, between 
1 inch and 1 3/8 inches from the 
bottom of the chin to the top of the 
head. Background color white, off-
white, or light blue. Photograph 
must be taken with the past 6 
months. Sign back of photograph. 
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Section B: EDUCATION  
 
Entry Level Physical Therapy Education  

Name and Location (City, State) Certificate/ 
Degree 

Dates Attended (MO/YR) 
      From            To 

    
 
Other Post High School Education  
Please list all post-professional education and/or other colleges attended. 

Name and Location (City, State) Certificate/ 
Degree 

Dates Attended (MO/YR) 
      From            To 

    

    

    
 
 
Section C: EXPERIENCE 
(Starting with present position, list chronologically your work experience during the past ten years. If you are a new 
graduate list your field work experience. Please attach a separate page if necessary.) 
DATES (MO/YR) JOB TITLE, TYPE OF PRACTICE AND 

AVERAGE WORK HOURS PER WEEK NAME AND ADDRESS OF EMPLOYER 
PERFORMED PT 

DUTIES IN 
OHIO Start End 

   

 

 YES NO 

   

 

 YES NO 

   

 

 YES NO 

   

 

 YES NO 

 

 

   YES NO 

 

 

   YES NO 

 

 

   YES NO 
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Section D: BACKGROUND INFORMATION 
1. How many times have you taken the National Physical Therapy Examination (NPTE) for Physical Therapists? 
2. How many times have you taken the National Physical Therapy Examination (NPTE) for Physical Therapist Assistants? 

3. What State approved you to sit for the NPTE? 
 
 
Section E: LICENSURE HISTORY 
Do you currently hold or have you ever held a license, limited permit, certification, or registration to practice physical therapy or 
another healthcare profession in this state and/or another state.    YES   NO    
If YES, Please complete the table below.   
Initial license to practice as a  Physical Therapist      Physical Therapist Assistant issued by which State?  

STATE  LICENSE # / LIMITED PERMIT # INITIAL ISSUE DATE EXPIRATION DATE 
    

    

    

    

    

    

 
 
Section F: BACKGROUND QUESTIONS 
Answer the following questions by initialing in the appropriate space at the right.  
NOTE: Be advised that you are under a continuing obligation to supplement your answers to these questions 
should any answers change following the submission of this application. 

YES NO 

1.  Have you ever been convicted of, found guilty of, pled guilty to, or received treatment in lieu of conviction 
for a felony and/or any offense involving moral turpitude in Ohio, another state, or a US territory?   

2.  Have you ever been adjudged by a court, in Ohio, another state, or a US territory to be incompetent?   
3.  Have you ever been denied licensure to practice as a physical therapist or physical therapist assistant, or 
another healthcare profession in Ohio, another state, or US territory?   
4.  Have you ever been disciplined in any state or US territory in which you have ever held a license to practice 
as a physical therapist or physical therapist assistant, or any other healthcare profession?   
5.  Have you used drugs, narcotics, or alcohol to the extent that it impairs you ability to practice physical therapy 
or another healthcare profession?   
6.  Have you ever been revoked, suspended, restricted, or had your clinical privileges terminated by the United 
States Department of Defense or the United States Department of Veterans Affairs?   
7.  Have you ever been terminated or suspended from participation in the Medicare or Medicaid program for an 
act or acts that constitute a violation of sections 4755.40 to 4755.56 of the Revised Code?   
8.  Have you ever been convicted of a misdemeanor when the act that constituted the misdemeanor occurred 
during the practice of physical therapy?   
If the answer to any questions is "yes", please provide a written statement explaining the incident(s) and what state it occurred in and 
attach supporting documentation including but not limited to: court records, police records, and/or documentation from other state 
licensing boards. If you have been convicted of a felony, you must provide “certified” copies of the following court documents: 
Indictment, Plea Entry, Disposition, Sentencing Entry, Terms of Parole or Probation, Parole or Probation and Release/Discharge 
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Section G: ANTICIPATED PLACE OF EMPLOYMENT   
(If unknown at the time this application is completed, please put "Unknown") 
Facility Name 
 
 

Employment Starting Date 
 

Facility Physical Address (include City, State, and Zip) 
 
 

Title/Position 
 

Name of Supervising Physical Therapist                                  License Number 
 
 

Phone Number w/Area Code 
 

 
 
Section H: CERTIFICATION OF APPLICANT  
This section must be sworn to the presence of a Notary Public or an officer authorized to administer oaths.
 
I, _______________________________________________________________, certify that I am the person referred to in this application and that 
the foregoing statements are true in every respect, and that the attached photograph is a true likeness of myself. 

 
I hereby authorize all my references; educational institutions; employers; business; professional organizations and associates - past, present, and 
future - to release to the Ohio Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Athletic Trainers Board any information requested by the Board in 
connection with the processing of this application or subsequent licensure. 
 
I hereby certify to the Physical Therapy Section of the Ohio Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Athletic Trainers Board that I am not 
presently functioning and will not function as a physical therapist or physical therapist assistant or use any initials, titles or words which imply that 
I am licensed in Ohio to perform physical therapy services until I am granted licensure by the Physical Therapy Section of the Board.  
 
I further certify that if I accept employment in a physical therapy setting in Ohio prior to licensure by the Physical Therapy Section, I will only 
perform duties that may be legally performed by "UNLICENSED PERSONNEL" and only at the direction of a licensed physical therapist.  
 
I further certify that if I hold an H-1B visa, I am not employed in any capacity that violates the terms of my H-1B visa. 
 
I understand that the Ohio Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Athletic Trainers Board is authorized by law to initiate action against a 
person who unlawfully uses titles and initials such as: physical therapist, physical therapy, physical therapy services, physiotherapist, 
physiotherapy, physiotherapy services, licensed physical therapist, P.T., Ph.T., P.T.T., R.P.T., L.P.T., M.P.T., D.P.T., M.S.P.T., P.T.A., physical 
therapy assistant, physical therapist assistant, physical therapy technician, licensed physical therapist assistant, L.P.T.A., R.P.T.A., as described in 
section 4755.48 of the Revised Code and, in accordance with section 4755.47 of the Revised Code, to refuse to grant, suspend, or revoke the license 
of a person who violates the laws and regulations of the jurisdiction(s) in which they practice. 
 
I understand that the Physical Therapy Section of the Board may refuse to grant me licensure or take action against my license if I violate any 
provision of the laws and rules governing the practice of physical therapy in Ohio. 
 
In compliance with section 1347.05 of the Revised Code, you are notified that failure to supply the information requested on the application may 
result in denial of the application. 
 
 

__________________________________________ 
Signature of Applicant                                           Date 
 

Section I: Notary Public please complete the following: 

Subscribed and sworn to in my presence this __________ day of ____________________, Year_________________. 
   

Signature of Notary  Date Commission Expires 
Return This Document To: 

Ohio OT PT AT Board  
77 South High Street, 16th Floor 
Columbus, OH 43215-6108  

 Notary Seal 

 



 

 

State of Ohio 
Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Athletic Trainers Board 
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Section I:  This portion must be completed by the applicant.  Please print or type. 
Name (First, Middle, Last):  Maiden Name: 

Complete Mailing Address 

Social Security Number or Alien Registration Number:  Date of Birth: (mm/dd/yyyy): 

     

Applicant’s Signature    Date 
 

Section II:  This Section must be completed by an official from the program where a physical therapy degree was earned.  If the institution does 
not use a school seal, the official signing the verification must sign this form in the presence of a Notary Public. The educational institution must 
mail the completed form directly to the OT PT AT Board at the address below. Documents received directly from the applicant will not be 
accepted.  Please print or type. 
 
I hereby certify that     completed the didactic and 

(Student’s Name and SSN) 

clinical education requirements of the  _______________________________   program on __________________________ 
                                                                       (Program Type : PT,PTA)  (mm/dd/yyyy) 

and is eligible for or has been granted the degree of  _______________________________________________________________     . 
(Degree: AAS, Certificate, BS, MPT, DPT etc.) 

Name of Institution: 

City, State, Zip Code: 

Phone Number w/ Area Code:  Is this entry level program CAPTE accredited? 
             Yes      No 

     

Print Name    Title  
     

Signature     Date  
If a Notary Public is used, please complete the following:

  Subscribed and sworn to in my presence this __________ day of _____________,  Year_________________. 
     
Signature of Notary    Date Commission Expires 

Return This Document To: 
Ohio OT PT AT Board 
77 South High Street, 16th Floor 
Columbus, OH 43215‐6108 

School or Notary Seal 

 



 

 

State of Ohio 
Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Athletic Trainers Board 
 
 

Verification of Licensure 

 

Licensure History 
Revised March 2008 

This form must be completed by an official from each state where the applicant currently holds or has ever held a 
license to practice an occupational health profession.  You may copy this form and forward it as needed.  Please 
contact each state directly to determine their license verification process. 
 
This section must be completed by the applicant.  Please print or type. 
Name (First, Middle, Last):  Maiden Name: 

Name as it appears on this state’s license, certificate, registration, or permit: 

Type of License/Certificate/Registration/Permit: 
OT  OTA  PT  PTA         AT           Other ____________________    

State  License Number 

Social Security Number:  Date of Birth (mm/dd/yyyy): 
 

The Ohio OT PT AT Board requests that I submit evidence of my license/certification/registration/permit in your state.  
You are hereby authorized to release any information in your possession pertaining to me directly to the Ohio OT PT AT 
Board, 77 South High Street, 16th Floor, Columbus, Ohio, 43215‐6108. 
 
 

Applicant Signature    Date 
 

This section must be completed by an administrative officer of the regulatory agency.  Please print or type. 
State of Licensure :  License Number:  Original Issue Date:  Expiration Date: 

 
Current Licensure Status: 

Active  Inactive/Expired  Suspended/Revoked  Other (Explain)  
The license was issued on the basis of: 

Examination  Endorsement  NBCOT or BOC  Grandfather  Other (Explain)  
Has the applicant’s license to practice ever been restricted or disciplined in any way?  If yes, please explain and attach any 
relevant documentation. 

Does the applicant have any pending complaints or is the applicant currently under investigation?  If yes, please explain and 
attach any relevant documentation. 

 
 

   

Print Name    Title 
     

Signature    Date 

Return This Document To: 
Ohio OT PT AT Board 
77 South High Street, 16th Floor 
Columbus, OH 43215‐6108 

Board Seal 
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