
Steps to Licensure 
 

Steps for Being Approved to Sit for the NPTE 

1. Candidate completes all sections of the examination application and submits the fee to the Ohio 
OTPTAT Board. If you are submitting an online application through the Ohio e-License Center, you 
must also submit a notarized Certification of Applicant for Online Applicants. Paper applicants must 
submit a $100 money order, business check, or cashier’s check made payable to “Ohio Treasurer of 
State.” The Board does not accept cash or personal checks. Applicants applying online will pay the $100 
fee with either a Visa or MasterCard. The Board does not accept American Express or Discover cards. 

 

You can submit an online application by selecting the “On-line Initial License Application” link in the 
Information menu on the left side of the Board’s website. 
 

When the Board receives your application, you will receive an email that contains the login information 
to track the status of your application at the “Application Checklist” on the Ohio e-License Center 
(https://license.ohio.gov). A link to the Ohio e-License Center is available on the Board’s website. 

 

2. If you answered “yes” to any of the Background Questions, please provide a written statement 
explaining the incident(s) and what state it occurred in and attach supporting documentation including, 
but not limited to: court records, and/or documentation from other state licensing boards. If you have 
been convicted of a felony, you must provide “certified” copies of the following court documents: 
Indictment, Plea Entry, Disposition, Sentencing Entry, Terms of Parole or Probation, Parole or 
Probation and Release/Discharge. 

 

3. Request your entry level PT/PTA program to submit the Certification of Entry-Level Education form 
directly to the Board office. If you are requesting approval to sit for the NPTE prior to completion 
of your entry level PT/PTA program, request your program to submit the Entry-Level Education Pre-
Completion Form directly to the Board office. Forms received from the applicant will not be accepted. 
 

4. Register and pay to sit for the NPTE directly with the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy 
(FSBPT) at https://pt.fsbpt.net/ExamRegistration. The Board cannot make you eligible to sit until after 
you register with the FSBPT. Please note that the FSBPT will close your registration to sit for the NPTE 
if the Board has not made you eligible to sit within six (6) months of you registering. The Board cannot 
make you eligible until you complete Steps 1, 2, and 3. 
 

 

5. When Steps 1-4 are complete, the Ohio OTPTAT Board will make you eligible to sit for the NPTE. 
Once the Board makes you eligible to sit, you will download your Authorization to Test (ATT) 
information directly from the FSBPT website at https://pt.fsbpt.net. 
 
To download your letter: 

 Click on “Status of My Request” 
 Click on “Request Now” 
 Enter personal information and click “Continue” 
 Click on ATT letter 

 

6. Schedule your NPTE test at www.prometric.com/fsbpt. Once you receive your ATT information, 
please schedule ASAP. Delays in scheduling will impact the availability of seats at a preferred test 
center. 
 

  

http://otptat.ohio.gov/Portals/0/PTForms/PT%20cert%20of%20online%20applicant.pdf
https://license.ohio.gov/Applications/default.asp?division=92
https://license.ohio.gov/
http://otptat.ohio.gov/Portals/0/PTForms/PT%20Cert%20of%20Education%202012Nov.pdf
http://otptat.ohio.gov/Portals/0/PTForms/Education%20Pre-Completion%20Form%20rev%20Nov%202012.pdf


Steps to Complete the Licensure Application Process 

Applicants for licensure by examination should complete Steps 7-11 about 6-8 weeks before the completion of 
their entry level PT/PTA program. 

7. Request verifications from any jurisdiction where you currently hold or have ever held a license, 
certification or registration to practice physical therapy or another health care profession. You must 
request the verification even if the license is expired. 

 

8. Register and pay to sit for the Ohio Jurisprudence Exam directly with the Federation of State Boards 
of Physical Therapy (FSBPT) at https://pt.fsbpt.net/ExamRegistration. The Board cannot make you 
eligible to sit until after you register with the FSBPT. Please note that the FSBPT will close your 
registration to sit for the Ohio Jurisprudence Exam if the Board has not made you eligible to sit within 
six (6) months of you registering. The Board cannot make you eligible until your entry level PT/PTA 
program submits the Certification of Entry-Level Education form directly to the Board office indicating 
that you completed the requirements of the program. Therefore, the Board recommends that 
applicants register for the Ohio Jurisprudence Exam approximately 2-4 weeks before program 
completion date. 
 

9. When Steps 1-8 are complete, the Ohio OTPTAT Board will make you eligible to sit for the Ohio 
Jurisprudence Exam. Once the Board makes you eligible to sit, you will download your 
Authorization to Test (ATT) information directly from the FSBPT website at https://pt.fsbpt.net. 
 

To download your letter: 
 Click on “Status of My Request” 
 Click on “Request Now” 
 Enter personal information and click “Continue” 
 Click on ATT letter 

 

10. Schedule your Ohio Jurisprudence Exam at www.prometric.com/fsbpt. 
 

11. Request your criminal records checks from the Ohio BCI and the FBI. Review the BCI/FBI 
Criminal Records Check Instructions document on the Board’s website for additional information. 
Please note that if your license is not issued within 6 months of the date the Board receives the criminal 
records check results, you will be required to submit criminal records checks. Therefore, the Board 
recommends that applicants submit their fingerprints about 4 week prior to program completion 
date. Please review the Fixed Date Testing and BCI/FBI Criminal Records Check Deadlines document 
on the Board’s website for the earliest date an applicant can submit the BCI/FBI results. 

 

Obtaining Your Ohio License 

12. The Ohio OTPTAT Board receives your NPTE and Ohio Jurisprudence Exam scores directly from 
the FSBPT. You may check on your pass/fail status on the FSBPT website at https://pt.fsbpt.net by 
selecting “Status of My Request.” This status will not give the actual score, but will read “Score 
Received from Prometric – Passed” or “Score Received from Prometric – Failed.” Please do not contact 
the Board asking if you passed the exam. Phone calls received on score receipt day will delay the 
Board’s ability to issue licenses to those individuals who passed both the NPTE and the Ohio 
Jurisprudence Exam. 
 

13. The Ohio OTPTAT Board issues your license to practice. Once your license is issued, you can verify 
it through the License Lookup/Verification link on the Board’s website 
(https://license.ohio.gov/lookup/default.asp?division=92).  
 
You cannot legally practice physical therapy in Ohio until you can verify your license online. 

  

http://otptat.ohio.gov/Portals/0/PTForms/PT%20Cert%20of%20Education%202012Nov.pdf
http://otptat.ohio.gov/Portals/0/Pdfs/crim%20records%20check%20info%20letter%20March%202012.pdf
http://otptat.ohio.gov/Portals/0/PTForms/criminal%20records%20check%20deadlines%20rev%20Nov%202012.pdf
https://license.ohio.gov/lookup/default.asp?division=92


EXAMINATION APPLICATION CHECKLIST 
(Use this checklist to help complete the examination application requirements for Ohio) 

 

Document 
You Provide 
Document 

You request, other agency/source provides 
documentation. It must be mailed directly to our 

office from the agency/source in their own 
envelope 

Non-refundable application fee of $100.00. Please submit a 
cashier’s check, business check, or money order made payable to 
“Ohio Treasurer of State.” Personal checks or cash will not be 
accepted. 

□  

Certification of Applicant for Online Applications. This form must 
be notarized. □  

Photograph. Please staple a 2 x 2 inch passport photograph of your 
full face, front-view, with a plain white or off-white background taken 
within the six month period immediately preceding the date of your 
application. Please review the Passport Photograph Guidelines 
document on the Board’s website for additional information. 

□ 
 

Entry-Level Education Pre-Completion Form. If you want to be 
made eligible to sit for the NPTE prior to your program completion 
date, have your program director submit this form. The form can be 
downloaded from the Board’s website. 

 

□ School mails directly to Board 

Certification of Entry-Level Education. Upon program completion, 
your program will send this form to the Board. Forms received from 
the applicant will not be accepted. 

 □ School mails directly to Board 

NPTE Registration. You are required to register with the Federation 
of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT) to sit for the NPTE. 
You will submit your examination fee directly to the FSBPT. The 
Board cannot make you eligible to sit for the NPTE until after you 
register to sit for the NPTE. 

 

□ Register with the FSBPT at 

https://pt.fsbpt.net/ExamRegistration 

Verification of Licensure. You must provide an official verification 
from any jurisdiction in which you hold or have ever held a license, 
certification, or registration to practice physical therapy or another 
health care profession. Jurisdiction means any state, U.S. territory, or 
foreign country. 

 

□ Jurisdiction provides and mails directly to Board 

Ohio Jurisprudence Exam Registration. You are required to 
register with the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy 
(FSBPT) to sit for the Ohio Jurisprudence Exam. You will submit your 
examination fee directly to the FSBPT. The Board cannot make you 
eligible to sit for the Ohio Jurisprudence Exam until after you register 
to sit for the exam. Do not register for this exam until you are within 
one month of completion of your entry level PT/PTA program. 

 

□ Register with the FSBPT at 

https://pt.fsbpt.net/ExamRegistration 

Criminal records check. Please review the BCI/FBI Criminal 
Records Check Instructions document on the Board’s website for 
additional information. Please note that if your license is not issued 
within 6 months of the date the Board receives the criminal records 
check results, you will be required to submit new criminal records 
checks. 

 

□ BCI submits directly to Board 

Testing Accommodation Requests. Please download and submit 
the Testing Accommodations Request Form from the Board’s website 
if you qualify for testing accommodations under the Americans with 
Disabilities Act for the NPTE or the Ohio Jurisprudence Examination. 

□ 

 

Non-U.S. Educated Applicants for Licensure. Please review the 
Guidelines for Non-U.S. Educated Applicants for Physical Therapy 
Licensure document on the Board’s website for information about the 
additional application requirements for Non-U.S. educated applicants. 

□ 

 

Applicants with Felony Convictions. Please review the 
Requirements for Applicants with Felony Convictions document on 
the Board’s website for information about information that should be 
submitted to expedite the processing of your application. 

□ 

 

Instructions for Retaking the NPTE. Please review the Instructions 
for Retaking the NPTE document on the Board’s website for 
information about submitting an application to retake the National 
Physical Therapy Exam (NPTE). 

□ 

 

 

http://otptat.ohio.gov/Portals/0/Pdfs/PYT%20Passport%20%20Photograph%20Guidelines%20Jan%202011.pdf
http://otptat.ohio.gov/Portals/0/Pdfs/crim%20records%20check%20info%20letter%20March%202012.pdf
http://otptat.ohio.gov/Portals/0/PTForms/Testing%20Accommodations%20Request%20Form%202011%20January.pdf
http://otptat.ohio.gov/Portals/0/PTForms/PT%20Foreign-Educated%20Guidelines%20rev%20July%202011.pdf
http://otptat.ohio.gov/Portals/0/Pdfs/Requirements%20for%20Felony%20Convictions%202011.pdf
http://www.otptat.ohio.gov/Portals/0/PTForms/Instructions%20for%20Retaking%20NPTE.pdf

