Steps to Licensure

Applicants for licensure by examination should complete these steps about 6-8 weeks before the completion of
their entry level OT/OTA program.

Do not wait until you have your NBCOT scores to submit your application.

1. Candidate completes all sections of the examination application and submits the fee to the Ohio
OTPTAT Board. If you are submitting an online application through the Ohio e-License Center, you
must also submit a notarized Certification of Applicant for Online Applicants form. Applicants
applying online will pay the $100 fee with either a Visa, MasterCard or Discover Card. The Board does
not accept American Express Card. All fees are non-refundable.

You can submit an online application by selecting the “On-line Initial License Application” link in the
Information menu on the left side of the Board’s website.

When the Board receives your application, you will receive an email that contains the login information
to track the status of your application at the “Application Checklist” on the Ohio e-License Center
(https://license.ohio.gov). A link to the Ohio e-License Center is available on the Board’s website.

2. Request your entry level OT/OTA program to submit the Certification of Entry-Level Education form
directly to the Board office. The Board will also accept an official transcript from your school.
Forms received from the applicant will not be accepted.

3. Request verifications from any jurisdiction where you currently hold or have ever held a license,
certification or registration to practice occupational therapy or another health care profession. You must
request the verification even if the license is expired.

4. Complete the Occupational Therapy Jurisprudence Exam, which can be accessed at
https://ohiootptatboard.myicourse.com. Information about the Jurisprudence Examination is available on
the “Ohio OT Jurisprudence Exam” link.

Please select the Ohio OT Jurisprudence Exam for Licensure Applicants on the Course Catalog and
make sure that you request that a transcript be sent.

5. Request your criminal records checks from the Ohio BCI and the FBI. Review the BCI/FBI
Criminal Records Check Instructions document on the Board’s website for additional information.
Please note that if your license is not issued within 6 months of the date the Board receives the criminal
records check results, you will be required to submit criminal records checks. Therefore, the Board
recommends that applicants submit their fingerprints about 4 weeks prior to program completion
date.

6. If you answered “yes” to any of the Background Questions, please provide a written statement
explaining the incident(s) and what state it occurred in and attach supporting documentation including,
but not limited to: court records, and/or documentation from other state licensing boards. If you have
been convicted of a felony, you must provide “certified” copies of the following court documents:
Indictment, Plea Entry, Disposition, Sentencing Entry, Terms of Parole or Probation, Parole or
Probation and Release/Discharge.

7. Register and pay to sit for the NBCOT Certification Examination directly with the National Board
for Certification in Occupational Therapy (NBCOT) at https://secure.nbcot.org/nbcot/login/login.aspx.
When you register for the NBCOT Certification Exam, please make sure to request NBCOT to send an



https://license.ohio.gov/
https://ohiootptatboard.myicourse.com/
https://secure.nbcot.org/nbcot/login/login.aspx
http://otptat.ohio.gov/Portals/0/OTForms/CERTIFICATION%20OF%20APPLICANT_OT%202013.pdf
http://otptat.ohio.gov/Portals/0/OTForms/OT%20Certification%20of%20Entry%20Level%20Education%202009%20Oct.pdf
http://otptat.ohio.gov/Portals/0/Pdfs/crim%20records%20check%20info%20letter%20March%202012.pdf
http://otptat.ohio.gov/Portals/0/Pdfs/crim%20records%20check%20info%20letter%20March%202012.pdf
http://otptat.ohio.gov
https://license.ohio.gov
http://otptat.ohio.gov/OccupationalTherapy/OTJurisprudenceExam.aspx

Official Score Transfer to Ohio. If you do not request your score to be sent to Ohio, the Board will not
receive the results of your exam and will not be able to issue an Ohio license.

. The Ohio OTPTAT Board receives your NBCOT score directly from the NBCOT in accordance with
the Examination Scoring Schedule. (www.nbcot.org/pdf/examination_scoring_calendar.pdf). If you
do not pass the NBCOT Certification Examination on your first try, the Board will keep your application
open for one year from the date it was initially received by the Board.

. The Ohio OTPTAT Board issues your license to practice once we receive your NBCOT score,
provided the rest of your application is complete. Once your license is issued, you can verify it
through the License Lookup/Verification link on the Board’s website
(https://license.ohio.gov/lookup/default.asp?division=92).

You cannot legally practice occupational therapy in Ohio until you can verify your license online.
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OT/ OTA EXAMINATION APPLICATION CHECKLIST
(Use this checklist to help complete the examination application requirements for Ohio)

Document

You Provide
Document

You request, other agency/source provides
documentation. It must be mailed directly to our
office from the agency/source in their own
envelope

Non-refundable application fee of $100.00. Please submit credit
card payment with the online application. Credit cards accepted
are Visa, MasterCard, or Discover. The Board does not accept
American Express Cards.

[]

Certification of Applicant for Online Applications. This form must
be notarized.

[]

Photograph. Please staple a 2 x 2 inch passport photograph of your
full face, front-view, with a plain white or off-white background taken
within the six month period immediately preceding the date of your
application. Please review the Passport Photograph Guidelines
document on the Board’s website for additional information.

Certification of Entry-Level Education or Official Transcript.
Upon program completion, your program will send this form to the
Board. Forms received from the applicant will not be accepted.
Transcripts are only permitted from ACOTE accredited programs.

I:' School mails directly to Board

Verification of Licensure. You must provide an official verification
from any jurisdiction in which you hold or have ever held a license,
certification, or registration to practice occupational therapy or
another health care profession. Jurisdiction means any state, U.S.
territory, or foreign country.

I:' Jurisdiction provides and mails directly to Board

Occupational Therapy Jurisprudence Exam Registration. You
must score a 90% or better to pass the examination. Please select
the Ohio OT Jurisprudence Exam for Licensure Applicants on the
Course Catalog and make sure that you request that a transcript be
sent. Additional information about the exam is available on the Ohio
OT Jurisprudence Exam link on the Occupational Therapy Continuing
Education page on the Board’s website.

I:' Register to sit for the Jurisprudence Exam at

https://ohiootptatboard.myicourse.com

Criminal records check. Please review the BCI/FBI Criminal
Records Check Instructions document on the Board’s website for
additional information. Please note that if your license is not issued
within 6 months of the date the Board receives the criminal records
check results, you will be required to submit new criminal records
checks.

D BCI submits directly to Board

NBCOT Certification Examination Registration. You are required
to register with the National Board for Certification in Occupational
Therapy (NBCOT) to sit for the NBCOT Certification Exam. When
you register for the exam, please make sure to request NBCOT to
send an Official Score Transfer to Ohio.

D Register with the NBCOT at
https://secure.nbcot.org/nbcot/login/login.aspx

Non-U.S. Educated Applicants for Licensure. Please review the
Guidelines for Non-U.S. Educated Applicants for Occupational
Therapy Licensure document on the Board’s website for information
about the additional application requirements for Non-U.S. educated
applicants.

Applicants with Felony Convictions. Please review the
Requirements for Applicants with Felony Convictions document on
the Board's website for information about information that should be
submitted to expedite the processing of your application.

Instructions for Applicants Who Graduated from the Entry Level
OT/OTA Program 5 or More Years Prior to the Date of this
Application. Please review the Instructions for Applicants Who
Graduated More Than 5 Years Prior to Submitting an Exam
Application document on the Board’s website for information about
submitting an application if you graduated from your entry level
OT/OTA program more than 5 years prior to the date you are
submitting an examination application.
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