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CRIMINAL RECORDS CHECK REQUIRED FOR INITIAL LICENSURE 
 

Section 4755.70 of the Ohio Revised Code requires all individuals applying for a license issued by the Ohio 

Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Athletic Trainers Board to submit fingerprints for a criminal records 

check completed by the Ohio Bureau of Criminal Identification and Investigation (BCI) and the Federal Bureau of 

Investigation (FBI). 

 

Instructions for Individuals Residing in Ohio or Within 50 Miles of Ohio 
 

Applicants residing in Ohio or within 50 miles of Ohio are required to utilize “WebCheck” to electronically submit 

their fingerprints to BCI. The Board will typically receive the results of a criminal records check submited via 

“WebCheck” within 7 to 10 business days. In addition to the $22 BCI fee and the $24 FBI fee, the electronic 

fingerprinting company or law enforcement agency may charge its own fee to process the fingerprints. 

 

Since the law requires applicants to submit a records check completed by both BCI and the FBI, you must use the 

services of a “WebCheck” vendor that participates in the “National WebCheck.” The sheriff’s offices in most of 

Ohio’s 88 counties participate in the “National WebCheck.” A list of other “WebCheck” vendors in Ohio, arranged 

by county, is available online at: 

 

http://www.ohioattorneygeneral.gov/Services/Business/WebCheck/Webcheck-Community-Listing 
 

When locating an electronic fingerprinting site on the webpage, please note that you must use the services of a 

vendor that has (BCI & FBI) listed after the vendor’s name. Only these entities participate in the “National 

WebCheck.” The Board does not endorse or recommend any specific electronic fingerprinting company. 

 

You need both the BCI and FBI records check for initial licensure. By law, the Board cannot complete the 

processing of your application until it receives the background check reports from BCI and FBI. 

 

Steps for “WebCheck” 

1. Identify a “WebCheck” vendor that participates in the “National WebCheck” (BCI & FBI). 

2. Submit your fee directly to the “WebCheck” vendor. Do not send your fingerprints or fee to the Board. 

3. Request both a BCI and FBI criminal records check. 

4. Request that the criminal records check results be sent directly to: 

 

Ohio Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Athletic Trainers Board 
77 S. High Street, 16

th
 Floor 

Columbus, Ohio 43215-6108 

 

The Board will only accept criminal records checks that are sent to the Board directly from the BCI. The 

results may not be sent to you, your employer, or to the entity that conducted the fingerprinting. 

 

5. List the reason fingerprinted as:  Required for licensing per ORC 4755.70 

6. Bring the following information with you to the “BCI & FBI” Webcheck Vendor: (1) this notice; (2) a 

valid form of photo identification, and (3) payment, in the appropriate amount and form, payable to the 

vendor. 

 

http://www.ohioattorneygeneral.gov/Services/Business/WebCheck/Webcheck-Community-Listing


 
 
 
 

 

 

 

Instructions for Individuals Residing More than 50 Miles From Ohio 
 

You must contact the Board at board@otptat.ohio.gov or 614-466-3774 to request that the Board mail you the 

appropriate forms to have your fingerprints taken at a local law enforcement agency. Please note, the Board will not 

mail these cards until after you submit an initial application for licensure. In addition, it takes the FBI 3 to 4 months to 

process ink rolled fingerprints. Since Ohio does not have temporary licensure, please take this delay into account. 

You may also elect to physically come to Ohio to have your fingerprints taken electronically to minimize the time it 

takes to process your application. 

 

Additional Information for Individuals Who Previously Submitted Fingerprints to BCI 
 

When an individual submits fingerprints to BCI for a criminal records check, BCI will keep the fingerprints on file 

for twelve (12) months. If less than one year has passed since the initial submission of fingerprints to BCI, the 

applicant can request that BCI run another check on the same fingerprints and run a new criminal records check 

report to be sent to the Board. In this situation, BCI charges the applicant $8. You will need to provide BCI with the 

information identified above in the “Steps for WebCheck” section of this notice. If more than 12 months passed since 

you submitted your fingerprints to the BCI, you will need to submit new fingerprints and follow the steps identified in 

the first page of this notice. 

 

This service only applies for the BCI check. Even if you previously submitted your fingerprints to the FBI, you will 

need to identify a “National WebCheck” vendor, submit new fingerprints, and request that the FBI criminal records 

check results be sent directly to the Board. You will need to bring this notice with you to the WebCheck vendor but 

will only need to request the FBI check. 

 

Frequently Asked Questions 

Question: I recently had an FBI records check completed for another purpose. Can I just use those 

results to meet the requirements of the Board? 

Answer: No. The law requires that an applicant for an initial license from a licensing agency shall submit 

a request to the bureau of criminal identification and investigation for a criminal records check of the 

applicant. Upon completion of the criminal records check, the superintendent of BCI shall report the 

results of the check, and any information the FBI provides, to the licensing agency identified in the request 

for a criminal records check. 

Question: How much time will this add to the licensure process? 

Answer: The Board typically receives the criminal records check results approximately 7-10 days after you 

are electronically fingerprinted. For out-of-state applicants completing the ink-rolled fingerprints, it takes 

the FBI 3-4 months to process the fingerprints and submit the results of the criminal records check to the 

Board. 

Question: What happens if I have a criminal history reported to the Board? 

Answer: The Board will review the records related to the criminal history and determine if the offenses 

identified make you ineligible for licensure in Ohio.  

Question: Will I need to submit a criminal records check to renew my license every two years? 

Answer: No. The records check requirement does not apply to the biennial renewal process or to 

individuals reinstating an expired Ohio license. 
 

mailto:board@otptat.ohio.gov
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The examination application applies to any person who has already passed the NBCOT certification examination 
and who has never held a license to practice occupational therapy in another U.S. state or territory. Please review 
rule 4755‐3‐01 of the Ohio Administrative Code for clarification on the requirements to apply for an Ohio 
occupational therapist/occupational therapy assistant license by examination. 
 
Applications are reviewed on a weekly basis.  All applications must be FULLY completed before they are 
reviewed and a license is issued.  If your application remains incomplete for one year from the date the Board 
receives it, your file will be closed. 
 
You may not practice occupational therapy in Ohio until you receive a license.  Please note, all licenses issued for 
occupational therapists must be renewed by June 30 of odd‐numbered years. All licenses issued for occupational 
therapy assistants must be renewed by June 30 of even‐numbered years.  
 

To obtain a license by examination in Ohio, you must complete all of the following: 
(This form and instruction sheet is for your personal records.) 

 
Application Fee 

 The application fee is non‐refundable.  Please submit a cashier’s check, business check, or money order made payable to 
“Treasurer State of Ohio” for $100.00.  Personal checks, cash, and/or credit cards will not be accepted.   

Criminal Records Check  

 You must submit fingerprints for a criminal records check completed by the Ohio Bureau of Criminal Identification 
and Investigation (BCI) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI). 

 You need both the BCI and FBI records check for initial licensure. By law, the Board cannot complete the processing of 
your application until it receives the background check reports from BCI and FBI. 

Photograph 

 Please staple a passport style photograph of your face taken within the six month period immediately preceding the 
date of your application.  The photo should be 2 x2 inches in size.  If the photo is digital, it must be a clear 
representation and must meet the specifications listed above.  For more information please review the Passport 
Photograph Guidelines on the Board’s website (http://otptat.ohio.gov). 

Jurisprudence Examination 

 You must score a 90% or better to pass the examination.  Please download the Ohio Occupational Therapy Laws and 
Rules and licensure law test from the Board website. 

Certification of Entry Level Education or Official Transcript(s) 

 This document must come to the Board directly from your educational institution.  Documents received from the 
applicant will not be accepted. 

 Transcripts may be submitted in lieu of the “Certification of Entry Level Education.”  This only applies to graduates of 
ACOTE accredited programs.  Transcripts received from the applicant will not be accepted. 

Verification of Examination 

 You must provide proof that you passed the NBCOT certification examination.  This must come directly from NBCOT. 
 
Verification of Licensure 
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 You must provide a verification from any state in which you currently hold or have ever held a license to practice 
occupational therapy or another healthcare profession. 

Credential Evaluation 

A credential evaluation must be completed for any applicant that graduated from a Non‐ACOTE accredited program. 
 An evaluation is not required if you were initially certified by NBCOT on or after January 1, 2004.   
 All graduates of non‐ACOTE accredited programs initially certified by NBCOT prior to January 1, 2004 must submit a 

credential evaluation from one of the following credential review agencies.  Please contact them directly at: 

Educational Credential 
Evaluators, Inc. 

http://www.ece.org  

World Education 
Services, Inc. 

http://www.wes.org  

International 
Consultants of 

Delaware 

http://www.icdeval.com

NBCOT 

http://www.nbcot.org  

International 
Credentialing 
Associates, Inc. 

http://icaworld.com
 

Additional Requirements For Individuals Who Graduated From Their Entry Level Occupational Therapy Program  
Five Or More Years Prior to the Date of This Application 

 
Applicants for initial licensure for examination who graduated from their entry‐level occupational therapy program five or 
more years prior to the date the individual applies to the Section for licensure by examination may be subject to additional 
requirements including, but not limited to, the following: (1) Submission of proof of completion of twenty hours of continuing 
education within the two year period immediately preceding the date the application is submitted; (2) Professional 
development plan; (3) Extended coursework; (4) Retaking and passing the NBCOT certification examination; (5) 
Mentorship; and (6) Competency‐based performance appraisals. 
 



 

 
 
The Occupational Therapy Section 
 
Ohio Occupational Therapy, Physical 
Therapy, and Athletic Trainers Board 
77 South High Street, 16th Floor 
Columbus, Ohio 43215-6108 
 
Phone (614) 466-3774    Fax (614) 995-0816 
Website: http://otptat.ohio.gov 
Email: board@otptat.ohio.gov 

APPLICATION FOR LICENSE TO PRACTICE 
OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY IN OHIO 

 
Profession (Select one) 
 Occupational Therapist 
 Occupational Therapy Assistant 
 
Application Type (Select one) 
 Examination 
 Endorsement 
 Reinstatement 
 Limited Permit 
 Restoration 

 

 
INSTRUCTIONS, PLEASE READ: 

A. Complete all relevant categories (type or print in ink). 
B. Photo must be submitted with this application. 
C. Fee must be submitted with application. (Money Order/Cashier's Check must be made payable to 

"Treasurer State of Ohio") 
 

ALL LICENSURE APPLICATION FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE 
 
**PLEASE READ:  Provision of your social security number is mandatory and may be provided for child support enforcement purposes (ORC 
3123.50) and for reporting requirements to the Federal Healthcare and Integrity Protection Data Bank (42 USC 132a-7e, 5 USC 552a, 45CFR pt. 
61). In compliance with section 1347.05 (E) of the Revised Code, you are notified that failure to supply the information requested in this 
application may result in a denial of the application. 
 
Section A: IDENTIFICATION INFORMATION 
First Name 
 
 

Middle Name Last Name Maiden Name 

Home Phone Number (with Area Code) 
 
 

Work or Alternate Phone Number (with Area Code) 

Permanent Mailing Address 
 
 
City 
 

State Zip County 

**Social Security Number 
 

Email Address (Optional) 

Date Of Birth (mm/dd/yyyy) 
 

Place Of Birth (City and State) 

Color of Hair 
 

Color of Eyes Weight Height Gender 
 Male   Female 

According to rule 4755-3-08 of the Ohio Administrative Code, you must inform the Occupational Therapy Section in writing of any change 
of name, address, or employment within thirty days after the change. 

 
 
 
 

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY 
Application  
Received 
Amount $: 
 
Money  
Order #: 
Batch Number 
 
 
 
 
OCC 0011 (Revised January 2011) 

Staple Passport Photograph Here 
 
Photograph must be 2 x 2 inches in 
size, full face, front view, between 
1 inch and 1 3/8 inches from the 
bottom of the chin to the top of the 
head. Background color white, off-
white, or light blue. Photograph 
must be taken with the past 6 
months. Sign back of photograph. 
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Section B: EDUCATION  
 
Entry Level Occupational Therapy Education  

Name and Location (City, State) Certificate/ 
Degree 

Dates Attended (MO/YR) 
      From            To 

    
 
 
Other Post High School Education  
Please list all post-professional education and/or other colleges attended. 

Name and Location (City, State) Certificate/ 
Degree 

Dates Attended (MO/YR) 
      From            To 

    

    

    
 
 
 
Section C: EXPERIENCE 
(Starting with present position, list chronologically your work experience during the past ten years. Limited Permit and 
Examination Applicants must list their field work experience. Please attach a separate page if necessary.) 
DATES (MO/YR) JOB TITLE, TYPE OF PRACTICE AND 

AVERAGE WORK HOURS PER WEEK NAME AND ADDRESS OF EMPLOYER 
PERFORMED 
OT DUTIES IN 

OHIO Start End 

   

 

 YES NO 

   

 

 YES NO 

   

 

 YES NO 

   

 

 YES NO 

 

 

   YES NO 

 

 

   YES NO 
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Section E: LICENSURE HISTORY 
Do you currently hold or have ever held a license, limited permit, certification, or registration to practice occupational therapy or 
another healthcare profession in this state and/or another state.    YES   NO    
If YES, Please complete the table below. 
Initial license to practice as an  Occupational Therapist      Occupational Therapy Assistant issued by which State? 

STATE LICENSE # / LIMITED PERMIT # ISSUE DATE EXPIRATION DATE 
    

    

    

    

 
         
Section F: BACKGROUND QUESTIONS 
Answer the following questions by initialing in the appropriate space at the right.  
NOTE: Be advised that you are under a continuing obligation to supplement your answers to these questions 
should any answers change following the submission of this application. 

YES NO 

1.  Have you ever been convicted of, found guilty of, pled guilty to or received treatment in lieu of conviction for 
a felony and/or any offense involving moral turpitude in Ohio, another state, or a US territory?   

2.  Have you ever been adjudged by a court, in Ohio, another state, or a US territory to be incompetent?   
3.  Have you ever been denied licensure to practice as an occupational therapist or occupational therapy 
assistant, or another healthcare profession in Ohio, another state, or US territory?   
4.  Have you ever been disciplined in any state or US territory in which you have ever held a license to practice 
as an occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant, or any other healthcare profession?   
5.  Have you used drugs, narcotics, or alcohol to the extent that it impairs you ability to practice occupational 
therapy or another healthcare profession?   
6.  Have you ever been convicted of a misdemeanor when the act that constituted the misdemeanor occurred 
during the practice of occupational therapy?   
If the answer to any questions is "yes", please provide a written statement explaining the incident(s) and what state it occurred in and 
attach supporting documentation including but not limited to: court records, police records, and/or documentation from other state 
licensing boards. .    If you have been convicted of a felony, you must provide “certified “copies of the following court documents: 
Indictment, Plea Entry, Disposition, Sentencing Entry, Terms of Parole or Probation, Parole or Probation and Release/Discharge 
 

 

 

 

 
 
 
SECTION G: ANTICIPATED PLACE OF EMPLOYMENT 
If unknown at the time this application is completed, please put "Unknown") 
Facility Name 
 
 

Employment Starting Date 
 

Facility Physical Address (include City, State, and Zip) 
 
 

Title/Position 
 

Name of Supervising Occupational Therapist                               License Number 
 
 

Phone Number w/Area Code 
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SECTION H: CERTIFICATION OF APPLICANT 
The section must be sworn to in the presence of a Notary Public or an officer authorized to administer oaths. 
 
I, _______________________________________________________________, certify that I am the person referred to in this 
application and that the foregoing statements are true in every respect, and that the attached photograph is a true likeness of myself. 
 
I hereby authorize all my references; educational institutions; employers; business; professional organizations and associates - past, 
present, and future- to release to the Ohio Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Athletic Trainers Board any information 
requested by the Board in connection with the processing of this application or subsequent licensure. 
 
In accordance with the Revised Code, section 1347.05(E) you are notified that failure to supply the information requested on the 
application may result in denial of the application. 
 
I hereby certify to the Occupational Therapy Section that I am not presently functioning and will not function as an Occupational 
Therapist or Occupational Therapy Assistant or use any titles or initials to indicate or imply that I am licensed in Ohio to perform 
occupational therapy services until I receive a full license or limited permit from the OT/PT/AT Board. 
 
I further certify that if I accept employment as an OT/OTA, or limited permit holder (a category for recent graduates who have not yet 
taken the NBCOT Examination), I will only perform duties in accordance with the laws and rules governing occupational therapy 
practice in the State of Ohio. 
 
I understand the Board is authorized to investigate persons whom they have reason to believe are unlawfully practicing occupational 
therapy.  
 
I further understand that pursuant to section 4755.11 of the Ohio Revised Code, the Occupational Therapy Section may suspend, 
revoke, or refuse to issue or renew the license of an individual who has violated any of the laws and rules governing occupational 
therapy in the State of Ohio. 
 
If I am applying for a limited permit, I hereby certify that I understand that my limited permit will be valid for four (4) months from 
the date of issue, or when the Section receives the results of my NBCOT examination, whichever occurs first. I also understand that 
my limited permit will immediately expire if I fail the NBCOT examination. If I fail the NBCOT examination, I shall notify my 
employer and must immediately cease performing as a limited permit holder.  
 
 
 

__________________________________________ 
Signature of Applicant                                           Date 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
SECTION I: Notary Public please complete the following: 

Subscribed and sworn to in my presence this __________ day of ____________________, Year_________________. 
     
Signature of Notary    Date Commission Expires 

Return This Document To: 
Ohio OT PT AT Board 
77 South High Street, 16th Floor 
Columbus, OH 43215‐6108 

 Notary Seal 

 
 



 

 

State of Ohio 
Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Athletic Trainers Board 
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Section I:  This portion must be completed by the applicant.  Please print or type. 
Name (First, Middle, Last):  Maiden Name: 

Complete Mailing Address 

Social Security Number or Alien Registration Number:  Date of Birth: (mm/dd/yyyy): 

     

Applicant’s Signature    Date 
 

Section II:  This Section must be completed by an official from the program where an occupational therapy degree was earned. If the institution 
does not use a school seal, the official signing the verification must sign this form in the presence of a Notary Public. The educational institution 
must mail the completed form directly to the OT PT AT Board at the address below. Documents received directly from the applicant will not be 
accepted.  Please print or type. 
 
I hereby certify that     completed the didactic and 

(Student’s Name and SSN) 

clinical education requirements of the  _______________________________   program on __________________________ 
                                                                       (Program Type :OT, OTA)  (mm/dd/yyyy) 

and is eligible for or has been granted the degree of  _______________________________________________________________     . 
(Degree: AAS, Certificate, BS, MOT, OTD etc.) 

Name of Institution: 

City, State, Zip Code: 

Phone Number w/ Area Code:   Is this entry level program ACOTE accredited?    Yes      No 
     

Print Name    Title  
     

Signature     Date  
If a Notary Public is used, please complete the following:

Subscribed and sworn to in my presence this __________ day of _____________, Year_________________. 
     
Signature of Notary    Date Commission Expires 

Return This Document To: 
Ohio OT PT AT Board 
77 South High Street, 16th Floor    
Columbus, OH 43215‐6108 

School or Notary Seal 

 



 

 

State of Ohio 
Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Athletic Trainers Board 
 
 

Verification of Licensure 

 

Verification of Licensure 
Revised March 2012 

This form must be completed by an official from each jurisdiction where the applicant currently holds or has ever held a 
license,  certification,  or  registration  to  practice  an  occupational  health  profession.  Jurisdiction means  any  state, U.S. 
territory, or  foreign country. You may copy  this  form and  forward  it as needed.   Please contact each state directly  to 
determine their license verification process. 
 
This section must be completed by the applicant.  Please print or type.
Name (First, Middle, Last):  Maiden Name: 

Name as it appears on this state’s license, certificate, registration, or permit: 

Type of License/Certificate/Registration/Permit: 
OT  OTA  PT  PTA         AT           Other ____________________  

Jurisdiction  License Number 

Social Security Number:  Date of Birth (mm/dd/yyyy): 
 

The Ohio OT PT AT Board requests that I submit evidence of my license/certification/registration/permit in your jurisdiction.  
You are hereby authorized to release any information in your possession pertaining to me directly to the Ohio OT PT AT Board, 
77 South High Street, 16th Floor, Columbus, Ohio, 43215‐6108. 
 
 

Applicant Signature    Date 
 

This section must be completed by an administrative officer of the regulatory agency.  Please print or type.
Licensure Jurisdiction:  License Number:  Original Issue Date:  Expiration Date: 

 

Current Licensure Status: 
Active  Inactive/Expired  Suspended/Revoked  Other (Explain) 

The license was issued on the basis of: 
Examination  Endorsement  NBCOT or BOC  Grandfather  Other (Explain) 

 

Has the applicant’s license to practice ever been restricted or disciplined in any way?  If yes, please explain and attach any 
relevant documentation. 

Does the applicant have any pending complaints or is the applicant currently under investigation?  If yes, please explain and 
attach any relevant documentation. 

 
 

   

Print Name    Title 
     

Signature    Date 

Return This Document To: 
Ohio OT PT AT Board 
77 South High Street, 16th Floor 
Columbus, OH 43215‐6108 

Board Seal 
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