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State of Ohio Athletic Training Laws and Rules Examination 
 
 
 

Instructions
 

This examination is open book and you will need to download the Ohio Athletic Training Laws and Rules 
before beginning this examination. 
 
Independently answer the following questions with a single response on the answer sheet.  Each question 
only has one correct response. 
 

You must score a minimum of ninety (90) percent to pass the exam.  Should you fail, you will be required 
to retake the exam.   
 
Once you have completed the examination, please return only the answer sheet to the Board at: 

 
Athletic Trainers Section 
Ohio OT PT AT Board 
77 South High Street, 16th Floor 
Columbus, Ohio  43215-6108 
Fax (614) 995-0816  

 
You will be notified of your pass/fail status by email approximately 2-4 business days after the answer 
sheet is received by the Board. 
 
NOTE: To use the exam for continuing education credit as part of your renewal, your answer sheet must 
be received by the Board no later than August 15 of your renewal year. 
 

614-466-3774 (phone) ● 614-995-0816 (fax) ● board@otptat.ohio.gov ● http://www.otptat.ohio.gov 



1. Athletic trainers in Ohio:   

a. Should report to the Board any conduct they consider unethical or illegal 
b. Should publicly discredit or lower the dignity of members of the profession  
c. Should not provide care based on the needs of the individual athlete  
d. Should practice outside of their scope of practice 
 

2. Which of the following statements is true?  

a. A licensed athletic trainer may only treat athletes injured during a sporting event  
b. A licensed athletic trainer must maintain BOC certification to legally practice in 

Ohio  
c. An individual may not claim to be an athletic trainer without holding an Ohio 

athletic training license  
d. An applicant for an athletic training license is not required to meet minimally 

established educational standards 
 

3. John Doe is an athletic training student at a local college. His supervision must include:   

a. Visual and audible contact by an Ohio licensed athletic trainer at the site where he 
provides services  

b. Daily verbal contact in person or through other means of communication such as 
phone, fax, computer, or pager  

c. Verbal and visual interaction with a physician at least every two weeks  
d. The level of supervision is determined by the supervising Ohio licensed athletic 

trainer 
 
4. An individual may practice as an athletic trainer in Ohio:   

a. Prior to obtaining an Ohio license as long as the individual submitted an 
application for licensure  

b. Once the individual is certified by the BOC  
c. Once the individual has obtained an Ohio athletic training license  
d. Upon the referral of a registered nurse 

 
5. Jane Doe must complete at least 5 hours of CE in which category?   

a. Postgraduate study  
b. Publication of original works  
c. Presentations of athletic training education programs, workshops and seminars  
d. Participation in professional workshops, seminars, and/or conferences   

 
6. Jane Doe is an athletic training student, therefore any documentation she writes must:  

a. Be signed by her  
b. Be reviewed and countersigned by her supervising athletic trainer  
c. Be followed by a title which indicates student status  
d. All the above 
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7. Unlicensed support personnel, as it pertains to athletic training, may include:   

a. High school student aides  
b. A coach  
c. Other healthcare personnel  
d. All of the above   

 
8. As an Ohio licensed athletic trainer, you must renew your license to practice:   

a. Every 2 years with the appropriate fee and proof of completion of CE  
b. Every year with the appropriate fee and proof of completion of CE  
c. Every 3 years with the appropriate fee and proof of completion of CE  
d. Every 4 years with the appropriate fee and proof of completion of CE   

 
9. According to the laws and rules governing the practice of athletic training, an athletic 

trainer has an ethical obligation to report which of the following to the Section:   

a. An athletic trainer who uses illegal drugs on a daily basis  
b. A person practicing athletic training with an expired license  
c. An athletic trainer engaging in a sexual relationship with a student athlete  
d. All of the above 

 
10. The Ohio Revised Code definition of an athletic injury does not include:  

a. Injuries that affects an individual’s participation in exercise 
b. Injuries that only occur to athletes in organized sports 
c. Injuries requiring restoration of agility 
d. Injuries involving return of strength 

 
11. According to the laws, an athletic trainer can 

a) practice while awaiting official licensure 
b) accept a medical prescription from any medical discipline 
c) report unethical conduct of another licensed athletic trainer 
d) none of the above 

 
12. An athletic trainer must complete at least how many contact hours of ethics continuing 

education per renewal cycle?   

a. 0 hours  
b. 2 hours  
c. 1 hour  
d. 4 hours 
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13. An Ohio licensed athletic trainer may release patient information:   

a. With verbal consent from the patient  
b. To unauthorized persons upon written request  
c. Upon written consent by the patient  
d. To unauthorized persons upon verbal request   

 
14. Since Jane Doe’s athletic training license expired, she can:   

a. Continue to practice athletic training while her reinstatement application is 
processed  

b. Obtain a 30 day grace period to continue to practice upon approval by the Athletic 
Trainers Section  

c. Not practice athletic training in Ohio or be employed as an athletic trainer  
d. Reinstate her athletic training license without completing CE    

 
15. An individual may provide athletic training services in Ohio without an Ohio athletic 

training license if:   

a. The individual is traveling with a visiting team and only providing athletic 
training services to the visiting team  

b. The individual is certified by the BOC and working at a facility in Ohio for a 
Kentucky-based clinic  

c. Both of the above  
d. None of the above 

 
16. If an athletic trainer obtains an initial license within twelve months of graduation from an 

accredited athletic training program, how many contact hours of continuing education are 
required at the time of first renewal? 

a. 0 hours  
b. 12 hours 
c. 25 hours 
d. 50 hours 

 
17. A licensee disciplined by the Board is required to pay which of the following?   

a. The actual cost of the court reporter  
b. Any witness fees for lodging and travel  
c. The actual cost of the hearing transcripts  
d. All of the above   

 
18. How many hours of continuing education (CE) must an Ohio licensed athletic trainer 

complete each renewal cycle to renew a license to practice in Ohio?   

a. 50 hours   
b. 25 hours   
c. 40 hours   
d. 80 hours   
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19. Which of the following statements is false? 
a. The athletic trainer is responsible for disclosing the risks of the recommended 

treatment plan 
b. The athletic trainer may provide information regarding an athlete’s status to 

his/her high school physical education teacher without the athlete’s consent 
c. The athletic trainer may communicate an athlete’s physical limitations to his/her 

coach without the athlete’s consent 
d. The athletic trainer may communicate an athlete’s condition to his/her teammates 

without the athlete’s consent 

20. As an Ohio licensed athletic trainer, John Doe may:  
a. Diagnose an athletic injury without a physician’s referral  
b. Practice physical therapy with a physician’s referral  
c. Treat athletic injuries with a physician’s referral  
d. Practice athletic training with a physician assistant’s referral 

 
21. An athletic trainer in Ohio may continue treatment of an athletic injury when:   

a. The athletic trainer has a prescription from a referral source  
b. When treatments no longer demonstrate continued improvement in patient 

function  
c. After a prescription has expired and continued treatments would benefit the 

patient  
d. If the team coach believes treatment would improve the athlete’s function   

 
22. As a licensed athletic trainer, Jane Doe may:   

a. Practice outside of her personal scope of athletic training and education  
b. Attempt techniques for which she has no training  
c. Administer topical drugs prescribed by a licensed health care practitioner 

authorized to prescribe drugs  
d. Administer injectable drugs prescribed by a licensed health care practitioner 

authorized to prescribe drugs 
 
23. Ohio law requires all licensed athletic trainers to notify the Section, in writing, within 30 

days when:   

a. There is a change of employment  
b. There is a change in home address  
c. There is a name change  
d. All of the above   

 
24. An Athletic Trainer can accept a referral from the following individuals except:   

a. Doctor of medicine 
b. Nurse practitioner 
c. Podiatrist 
d. Physical therapist 
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25. Which of the following is NOT an acceptable CE course?   

a. Attending a professional workshop  
b. Publishing an article in a professional journal  
c. Completing a self-study in word processing  
d. Presenting a program to health professionals directly related to the clinical 

practice of athletic training   
 
26. An Ohio licensed athletic trainer may delegate which of the following to unlicensed 

personnel?   

a. Performance of evaluative procedures  
b. Initiation or adjustment of treatment procedures or activities  
c. Responsibility for planning patient care  
d. None of the above   

 
27. John Doe was offered a position as an athletic trainer at a high school in Cleveland.  

Which of the following statements is correct?   

a. He may not start employment as an athletic trainer until obtaining an Ohio athletic 
training license  

b. He may start employment as an athletic trainer using the grace period as long as 
an application has been submitted to the Board office  

c. Athletic trainers working in primary and secondary education do not require an 
Ohio athletic training license  

d. He may start employment as an athletic trainer if BOC certified   
 
28. CE credit is NOT given for which of the following activities?   

a. Participation in an Athletic Trainers Section approved educational experience  
b. Attending an educational program sponsored by the NATA BOC  
c. Completing a basic first aid course  
d. Obtaining post-graduate college or university credit for a course that enhances a 

person's knowledge and/or skills in athletic training   
 
29. The maximum allowable hours of CE in the publication of original of work category is:   

a. 30 hours per renewal period  
b. 30 hours per year  
c. 20 hours per renewal period  
d. 10 hours per year   

 
30. The prevention, recognition, assessment, management, treatment, disposition, and 

reconditioning of acute athletic injuries upon the referral of a licensed practitioner is:   

a. Sports therapy  
b. Athletic training  
c. Personal training  
d. Strength and conditioning 
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ATHLETIC TRAINERS LAWS AND RULES EXAMINATION  
ANSWER SHEET 

 
 

I am taking the 
examination for my:  

 Initial 
Application 

 Reinstatement 
Application 

 Ethics CE Credit 

License # 

 
Instructions: 1. There is only one correct answer for each question. 

2. Circle the correct answer.   
3. If there are any changes, please erase clearly and mark your corrected answer. 

 
1.     A      B      C      D 11.    A      B      C      D 21.    A      B      C      D 

2.     A      B      C      D 12.    A      B      C      D 22.    A      B      C      D 

3.     A      B      C      D 13.    A      B      C      D 23.    A      B      C      D 

4.     A      B      C      D 14.    A      B      C      D 24.    A      B      C      D 

5.     A      B      C      D 15.    A      B      C      D 25.    A      B      C      D 

6.     A      B      C      D 16.    A      B      C      D 26.    A      B      C      D 

7.     A      B      C      D 17.    A      B      C      D 27.    A      B      C      D 

8.     A      B      C      D 18.    A      B      C      D 28.    A      B      C      D 

9.     A      B      C      D 19.    A      B      C      D 29.    A      B      C      D 

10.   A      B      C      D 20.    A      B      C      D 30.    A      B      C      D 

 
Affidavit of Applicant: 
 
I, _____________________________________________________, do hereby acknowledge that the passage of the 

State of Ohio Athletic Trainers Laws and Rules Examination does not constitute approval to practice as an athletic 

trainer in Ohio until the Section is in receipt of and has approved all the required application materials.  By signing my 

name below, I confirm that I have completed this examination independent of others.     

 

Signature of Applicant Date 

Name of Applicant (Please Print) Social Security Number 

E-mail Address Daytime Phone Number 

 
 
RETURN ONLY THE ANSWER SHEET TO: 
The Athletic Trainers Section - Ohio OTPTAT Board  
77 South High Street, 16th Floor / Columbus, Ohio 43215-6108 
Fax: (614) 995-0816 
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